2017 Melbourne Cup barrier draw

2016 Melbourne Cup winner Almandin (GER) PIC: (Alice Laidlaw/Racing Photos).

THE nation stops on the first Tuesday in November to watch the Group 1 Melbourne Cup (3200m) at Flemington – but owners, trainers and punters alike also stop on the Saturday night before the great race to witness the barrier draw for the $6.2 million race.

The barrier draw is of great importance as it determines where each horse will be positioned, at least in the early stages, of the gruelling two-mile event.

A suitable barrier can enhance a horse’s chances of finding an ideal spot and running a bold race, likewise, a poor draw can have disastrous consequences and destroy a runner’s chance before the gates have even opened.

Check out the best bonus bet offers available for the 2017 Group 1 Melbourne Cup.

Betfair Australia

Betfair sports betting exchange


$500 winnings boost

read review Bet Now

2017 Melbourne Cup barrier draw

No. Silks Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Odds
1 Hartnell Melbourne Cup 2017 Hartnell James Cummings Damian Lane 12 57.5kg $26
2 Almandin Melbourne Cup 2017 Almandin Robert Hickmott Frankie Dettori 14 56.5kg $7
3 Humidor Melbourne Cup 2017 Humidor Darren Weir Blake Shinn 13 56kg $9.50
4 Tiberian Melbourne Cup 2017 Tiberian Alain Couetil Oliver Peslier 23 55.5kg $31
5 Marmelo Melbourne Cup 2017 Marmelo Hughie Morrison Hugh Bowman 16 55kg $9
6 Red Cardinal Melbourne Cup 2017 Red Cardinal Andreas Wohler Kerrin McEvoy 24 55kg $15
7 Johannes Vermeer Melbourne Cup 2017 Johannes Vermeer Aiden O’Brien Ben Melham 3 54.5kg $10
8 Bondi Beach Melbourne Cup 2017 Bondi Beach Robert Hickmott Michael Walker 1 54kg $61
9 Max Dynamite Melbourne Cup 2017 Max Dynamite William Mullins Zac Purton 2 54kg $15
10 Ventura Storm Melbourne Cup 2017 Ventura Storm David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig Glen Boss 6 54kg $31
11 Who Shot Thebarman Melbourne Cup 2017 Who Shot Thebarman Chris Waller Tommy Berry 20 54kg $41
12 Wicklow Brave Melbourne Cup 2017 Wicklow Brave William Mullins Stephen Baster 8 54kg $51
13 Big Duke Melbourne Cup 2017 Big Duke Darren Weir Brenton Avdulla 5 53.5kg $19
14 US Army Ranger Melbourne Cup 2017 US Army Ranger Joseph O’Brien Jamie Spencer 22 53.5kg $61
15 Boom Time Melbourne Cup 2017 Boom Time David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig Cory Parish 9 53kg $26
16 Gallante Melbourne Cup 2017 Gallante Robert Hickmott Michael Dee 18 53kg $101
17 Libran Melbourne Cup 2017 Libran Chris Waller Dwayne Dunn 7 53kg $41
18 Nakeeta Melbourne Cup 2017 Nakeeta Iain Jardine Glyn Schofield 19 53kg $31
19 Single Gaze Melbourne Cup 2017 Single Gaze Nick Olive Kathy O’Hara 11 53kg $41
20 Wall of Fire Melbourne Cup 2017 Wall Of Fire Hugo Palmer Craig Williams 15 53kg $13
21 Thomas Hobson Melbourne Cup 2017 Thomas Hobson William Mullins Joao Moreira 21 52kg $14
22 Rekindling Melbourne Cup 2017 Rekindling Joseph O’Brien Corey Brown 4 51.5kg $16
23 Amelie's Star Melbourne Cup 2017 Amelie’s Star Darren Weir Dean Yendall 10 51kg $23
24 Cismonntane Melbourne Cup 2017 Cismontane Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Beau Mertens 17 50kg $41

Melbourne Cup barrier draw statistics

The start of the Melbourne Cup is relatively fair – there is over one kilometre from the barriers to the start of the first turn which gives jockeys plenty of time to try and find a position.

However, with 24 horses and a mix of frontrunners, backmarkers and mid-pack runners, there is also a lot of competition for the optimum positions which can make or break a horse’s chances.

The most successful barrier is number five which has seen eight winners since the introduction of starting gates in 1924. The last winner of the Melbourne Cup to win from barrier five was Americain which won the 150th edition of the race in 2010 for French trainer Alain De Royer-Dupre and jockey Gerald Mosse.

Barrier five also has a good record, supplying seven winners including Gai Waterhouse’s Fiorente back in 2013. Barriers 10 and 14 and locked on six wins a piece, with Efficient and three-time Cup winner Makybe Diva exiting those gates respectively in 2007 and 2005.

The worst barrier is 18 – incredibly it has never produced a winner. Many also believe barrier 13 to be unlucky – even though champions Phar Lap, Baghdad Note, Ethereal and Dunaden all came from it to claim Australian racing’s premier race.

Betting odds for the 2017 Group 1 Melbourne Cup

Almandin remains the $7 favourite with Sportsbet to go back to back in the Group 1  Melbourne Cup after drawing favourably in barrier 14 for the race that stops the nation.

The Robert Hickmott-trained gelding won from barrier 17 when ridden by Kerrin McEvoy in 2016 and will be guided in this year’s race by Frankie Dettori after the jockey originally booked for the ride, Damian Oliver, was suspended for improper riding in the Cox Plate.

Marmelo, which put in an eye-catching run in the Caulfield Cup won by Boom Time, is the $9 second elect after coming up with barrier 16.

The only other horse under double figures is Humidor which went excruciatingly close to spoiling Winx’s party in last Saturday’s Cox Plate. He has drawn well in barrier 13 and has been installed a $9.50 shot.

He will become the first horse since Master O’Reilly back in 2008 to compete in the three majors of the Spring Carnival – the Caulfield Cup, the Cox Plate and The Melbourne Cup – when he lines up on Tuesday for trainer Darren Weir.

Caulfield Cup winner Boom Time will start from gate nine and is a $26 shot, whilst Who Shot Thebarman, which will be lining up for his fourth crack at the Melbourne Cup, will jump from barrier 20 and is a $41 chance.

Gallante, which took out the 2017 Sydney Cup over two miles, will have to create history to win, having drawn barrier 18 – the only gate not to have provided a winner in the race’s long history. He is currently a $101 shot for Robert Hickmott and rider Michael Dee.

Comments are closed.