Randwick Guineas

Randwick Guineas

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, March 09, 2019
Location: Royal Randwick
Prize Money: $1 Million
Distance: 1,600m

The Randwick Guineas is a popular race over a mile run under set weight conditions at Randwick race course in Sydney, Australia.

The 1600m race has prize money of $1 million dollars, and was formerly known as the Canterbury Guineas from 1935 to 2005. The change of name came when the venue of Randwick was set in stone following four different race-day hosts since the event’s inception.

The Randwick Guineas and the Rosehill Guineas are regarded as the two major lead-up races to the Group 1 Australian Derby. In fact victory in this race guarantees entry into both the Australian Derby and the Doncaster Mile, making the $1,000,000 on offer even more enticing.

2019 Randwick Guineas betting odds

The Autumn Sun wins the 2018 Golden Rose. Source: Bradley Photos.

The Autumn Sun is the $1.60 favourite at online bookmaker Sportsbet to win the 2019 Randwick Guineas.

The in form Nakeeta Jane ($6) is on the second line of betting while Vegadaze ($9.50) is the only other runner in single figures.

Randwick Guineas form guide

The Randwick Guineas has been won by some classy three year olds including 2015 winner Hallowed Crown and Weekend Hussler, who took it out in 2008.

Because the race is run on the same day as the Australian Guineas at Flemington, it is generally a race for New South Wales horses to conquer, with very few interstate raiders making the journey.

It will also more than likely be a colt or gelding that conquers this race, with the only mare to have won since it became the Randwick Guineas (in 2006) being Mosheen in 2012.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2019 Randwick Guineas result

1stThe Autumn Sun ($2.35)
2ndFundamentalist ($2.70)
3rdNaketta Jane ($1.40)

Recent Randwick Guineas Winners

  • Chris Waller-trained The Autumn Sun delivered for favourite backers in sensational fashion in the 2019 Randwick Guineas but not in the way most expected. Settling towards the back of the field it looked like Kerrin McEvoy was hard at work on the champ coming to the turn as Fundamentalist took
  • It was a popular Randwick Guineas for favourite backers in 2018 after Kementari cruised to victory. After settling towards middle of the pack Glyn Schofied waited patiently with the galloper until it was time to go and that’s exactly what he did. Smoothly taking the front at the 150m mark before dashing away to record the one anf a half length win.
  • Tommy Berry and Inference combined for a memorable win in the 2017 Randwick Guineas[/caption] Three-year-old colt Inference made the best of the wet conditions at Randwick to score an impressive victory. The Hawkes-trained son of So You Think finished off right down the outside rail in a close tussle with Invincible Gem, which looked to have a winning break halfway down the straight. With Tommy Berry in the saddle, Inference was able to use the best part of the ground to score the big win. Read full report.
  • It was meant to be Press Statement who won the 2016 Randwick Guineas but it ended up being a Kris Lees-trained roughy called Le Romain who took the chocolates. After stealing a break on the pre-race favourite, Le Romain held on for a dramatic victory with Lees’ reaction being broadcast around the country. It was a nice ride from Christian Reith who got the three year old to settle, while Hugh Bowman battled with Press Statement. Gold Ambition ran on well to claim third. Read full report.
  • Hallowed Crown
    Hallowed Crown was a star for the Cummings stable. Picture: Bradley Photos.
    Hallowed Crown continued a brilliant three-year-old season to win his sixth race from seven runs for trainer James Cummings. It was another group 1 victory for champion jockey Hugh Bowman, who got the sit behind Shooting To Win, the pre-race favourite at $2.50, but it took serious guts to hang on with the Caulfield Guineas winner seemingly in good fettle. Hallowed Crown ($2.90) eventually drew level with Sweynesse ($3.90), with Shooting To Win failing to kick in the final 100m, to fall to third by a head. It was Hallowed Crown’s fifth win in six races.
  • It was a Jim Cassidy masterclass that got Dissident home this year. The $11 chance upset the Kiwi favourite El Roca ($3.20) in a bruising race highlighted by El Roca rough housing Dissident on the straight, but under Cassidy’s guidance it was able to find something in the straight and get home. The margin was a short head and another notch on the belt for leading trainer Peter Moody who had opted for Cassidy in the saddle after wanting a jockey who would stay with the horse. Eurozone, an $8 chance, was further back in third.
  • James McDonald
    James McDonald combined with compatriot It’s A Dundeel to secure the Randwick Guineas.
    It’s A Dundeel, ridden by James McDonald, was super-impressive in stamping himself among the best three year olds in the country. The Kiwi raider began making ground at the top of the turn, and without any burst of withering pace, managed to hold off Proisir to win by half a length. Trained by Murray Baker, It’s A Dundeel, was the beaten favourite in the Victoria Derby, but showed greater maturity to win the Guineas. It’s A Dundeel was a $6.50 chance with Sportsbet.
  • Mosheen, trained by Robert Smerdon and ridden by Danny Nikolic, proved too strong at the $4.20 mark. The Fastnet Rock filly had finished second in the Golden Slipper the year previously, but proved it was better than that with a great win over some strong geldings, Said Com and Laser Hawk, who made up the placings. With a poor barrier (12) a hindrance, Nikolic dropped Mosheen back in the field and relied on her devastating turn of foot to secure the win.

Past Randwick Guineas winners

Randwick Guineas Past Winners
Year Randiwck Guineas Past Winner
2019 The Autumn Sun
2018 Kementari
2017 Inference
2016 Le Romain
2015 Hallowed Crown
2014 Dissident
2013 It’s A Dundeel
2012 Mosheen
2011 Ilovethiscity
2010 Shoot Out
2009 Metal Bender
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Mentality
2006 Hotel Grand
2005 Jymcarew
2004 Niello
2003 Fine Society
2002 Carnegie Express
2001 Universal Prince
2000 Fairway
1999 Arena
1998 Tycoon Lil
1997 Intergaze
1996 Octagonal
1995 Sharscay
1994 Western Red
1993 Kingston Bay
1992 Veandercross
1991 St. Jude
1990 Interstellar
1989 Riverina Charm
1988 High Regard
1987 Tidal Light
1986 Dolcezza
1985 Spirit Of Kingston
1984 Beechcraft
1983 Mr. Mcginty
1982 Rare Form
1981 Ring The Bell
1980 Rocky Top
1979 Red Nose
1978 Race Not Held
1977 Belmura Lad
1976 Chasta Bellota
1975 Rosie Heir
1974 Sydney Cove
1973 Imagele
1972 Lord Ben
1971 Egyptian
1970 Royal Show
1969 Bogan Hero
1968 Broker’s Tip
1967 Honeyland
1966 Garcon
1965 Fair Summer
1964 Strauss
1963 Summer Fiesta
1962 Summer Prince
1961 Kilshery
1960 Persian Lyric
1959 Martello Towers
1958 Prince Kerdieil
1957 Todman
1956 Movie Boy
1955 Aboukir
1954 Pride Of Egypt
1953 Prince Morvi
1952 Prince Dakhil
1951 Forest Beau
1950 French Cavalier
1949 Delta
1948 Riptide
1947 The Groom
1946 Decorate
1945 Monmouth
1944 Accession
1943 Moorland
1942 San Sebastian
1941 Chatham’s Choice
1940 Ensign
1939 Bonny Loch
1938 Respirator
1937 Bristol
1936 Billy Boy
1935 Hadrian

Comments are closed.