Doncaster Mile

Doncaster Mile

The Championships Day 1 – Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, April 6, 2019
Location: Royal Randwick, Sydney
Prize Money: $3 Million
Distance: 1,600m

THE Doncaster Mile is a Group 1 race held at Royal Randwick in Sydney for three-year-old horses and older held over the 1600m distance.

Held on day one of The Championships in Sydney, the total prize pool for the race is $3 million.

A handicap race, the time-honoured Doncaster Mile routinely draws the best horses from around the world to compete for Group 1 glory.

Sunline, Pharaoh and Super Impose are all notable winners of the race.

TJ Smith has won the most Doncaster Mile races as a trainer after claiming seven with champion Kiwi Chris Waller just behind Smith with seven as of 2018.

2019 Doncaster Mile betting odds

Alizee is the favourite ahead of the Doncaster Mile. Source: Bradley Photos.

After winning the Ranvet Stakes in dominating fashion, Godolphin champion Alizee is at the top of the market ($6 at online bookmaker Ladbrokes) to win the 2019 Doncaster Mile.

Brutal and Fifty Stars are locked together on the second line of betting at the $7 quote. Hartnell ($8) is the only other runner in single figures.

No other runner is in single figures.

Best Doncaster Mile bookmakers

The Doncaster Mile is one of the feature events of the Championships in Sydney and the centerpiece race of the opening day.

The Mile – which is steeped in over 150 years of history – has markets that go up well in advance of the race.

Click on any of the banners below to wager on the Doncaster Mile.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Betting guide for the Doncaster Mile

Sydney-based trainer Chris Waller has dominated the Doncaster Mile since 2013.

Betting on the Doncaster Mile has been a Waller whitewash in recent times.

Punters who have followed the Waller runners into the Doncaster Mile from 2017 to 2013 have tasted success four of five times.

The George Ryder Stakes is typically a great indicator of how a horse will go in the Doncaster, and three horses in recent times – Racing To Win (2006), Haradasun (2007) and Vision And Power in 2009 – have gone on to complete the George Ryder/Doncaster double.

Doncaster Mile 2019 result

1stBrutal ($5)
2ndDreamforce ($21 SP)
3rdHartnell ($26 SP)

Recent Doncaster Mile winners

  • He’s the king of the Doncaster Mile and Glen Boss again took the throne after guiding Brutal to a terrific win. From the wide gate Bossy took Brutal to the front and slowed the tempo down, which delivered the Kiwi easy sectionals, which proved the difference at the end of the race.
  • Dubbed the “People’s Horse” heading into a wide-open Doncaster Mile, Happy Clapper came into the race as a top elect after a strong run behind Winx in the George Ryder Stakes. Under a patient ride from Blake Shinn, Happy Clapper hit the front at the latter stages and never looked in danger.
  • An extremely even betting field was presented in 2017 with Le Romain the starting favourite at $6, but it was It’s Somewhat that prevailed at massive odds of over $40. That John O’Shea-trained stayer used the front-runners bias to its advantage and it never looked like being beaten in the straight. Happy Clapper closed late, but the damage had been done mid-race when It’s Somewhat got away with a slow tempo.
  • Winx delivered an absolute masterclass to hand Chris Waller his fourth straight Doncaster Mile. As a $1.80 favourite the mare encountered slight traffic coming into the straight but Bowman was good enough to take the inside passage to hand the horse its ninth straight win.
  • Chris Waller was looking to secure his third straight Doncaster Mile win, but not many were predicting the run $8 chance Kermadec would put together in the group one race. Under a peach of a ride from Glen Boss, the dual group one winning horse surged from the middle of the pack to hit the front and run away with the race in the final 200m to record an impressive victory.
  • After winning the race as a $19 outsider the year before, few were giving Sacred Falls the chance of going back-to-back in the Doncaster Mile. After being unsighted for much of the race Zac Purton produced the gun at the right time to topple Royal Descent, which looked like the winner at the 300m mark.
  • The first of Chris Waller’s four consecutive Doncaster Mile titles came from an unexpected source as Sacred Falls saluted as a $19 chance. After settling down mid-field Sacred Falls was presented at the ideal time by Tommy Berry and they drew alongside superstar sprinter Pierro in the latter stages of the race. Sacred Falls ultimately got the better of the Waterhouse runner in stylish fashion.

Full list of Doncaster Mile winners

Doncastor Mile Past Winners
Year Doncaster Mile Past Winner
2019 Brutal
2018 Happy Clapper
2017 It’s Somewhat
2016 Winx
2015 Kermadec
2014 Sacred Falls
2013 Sacred Falls
2012 More Joyous
2011 Sacred Choice
2010 Rangirangdoo
2009 Vision and Power
2008 Triple Honour
2007 Haradasun
2006 Racing To Win
2005 Patezza
2004 Private Steer
2003 Grand Armee
2002 Sunline
2001 Assertive Lad
2000 Over
1999 Sunline
1998 Catalan Opening
1997 Secret Savings
1996 Sprint By
1995 Pharaoh
1994 Pharaoh
1993 Skating
1992 Soho Square
1991 Super Impose
1990 Super Impose
1989 Merimbula Bay
1988 Lygon Arms
1987 Magic Flute
1986 Hula Chief
1985 Row Of Waves
1984 Vite Cheval
1983 Emancipation
1982 My Gold Hope
1981 Lawman
1980 Iko
1979 Belmura Lad
1978 Maybe Mahal
1977 Just Ideal
1976 Authentic Heir
1975 Dalrello
1974 Tontonan
1973 Analie
1972 Gunsynd
1971 Rajah Sahib
1970 Broker’s Tip
1969 Bye Bye
1968 Unpainted
1967 Tobin Bronze
1966 Citius
1965 Time And Tide
1964 Persian Puzzle
1963 Fine And Dandy
1962 Te Poi
1961 Fine And Dandy
1960 Tudor Hill
1959 Tudor Hill
1958 Grenoble
1957 Slogan II
1956 Slogan II
1955 Fire Dust
1954 Karendi
1953 Triclinium
1952 Prelate
1951 Oversight
1950 Grey Boots
1949 Bernbrook
1948 The Diver
1947 Blue Legend
1946 Blue Legend
1945 Abbeville
1944 Goose Boy
1943 Kingsdale
1942 Tuhitarata
1941 Mildura
1940 Mildura
1939 Gold Rod
1938 Hamurah
1937 Sarcherie
1936 Cuddle
1935 Hall Mark
1934 Chatham
1933 Winooka
1932 Jacko
1931 Sir Chrystopher
1930 Venetian Lady
1929 Karuma
1928 Simeon’s Fort
1927 Don Moon
1926 Valicare
1925 Fujisan
1924 Whittier
1923 The Epicure
1922 Julia Grey
1921 Speciality
1920 Sydney Damsel
1919 Hem
1918 Dame Acre
1917 Wedding Day
1916 Eurobin
1915 Garlin
1914 First Principle
1913 Jolly Beggar
1912 Lochano
1911 Broadsword
1910 Storey
1909 Hyman
1908 Togo
1907 Istria
1906 Little Toy
1905 Famous
1904 Chere Amie
1903 Rose Petal
1902 Sir Foote
1901 Wakeful
1900 Parapet
1899 Vigorous
1898 Syerla
1897 Superb
1896 Courallie
1895 Delaware
1894 Donizetti
1893 Cremorne
1892 Marvel
1891 Paris
1890 Sir William
1889 Russley
1888 Ben Bolt
1887 Abner
1886 Crossfire
1885 St. Lawrence
1884 Rataplan
1883 Sardonyx
1882 Stella
1881 Rapid Bay
1880 Queensland
1879 The Hook
1878 Laertes
1877 Speculation
1876 Briseis
1875 Priam
1874 Myrtle
1873 Wanderer
1872 Vixen
1871 Sir William / Lottery
1870 Barbelle
1869 Tippler
1868 Casino
1867 Sir Solomon
1866 Dundee

Comments are closed.