Robert Sangster Stakes

Robert Sangster Stakes

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, May 1, 2021
Location: Morphettville Racecourse
Prize Money: $502,250
Distance: 1,200m

THE Robert Sangster Stakes – also registered as the Classic – is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for fillies and mares aged three years and older at South Australian racetrack Morphettville.

One of the showpiece events of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival, the Robert Sangster Stakes is over the 1200m distance and the total prize money for the race is a tick over $500,000.

In 2006, the Robert Sangster Stakes became the only Group 1 race for fillies and mares over the 1200m distance.

The winner of the race pockets $400,000.

2021 Robert Sangster Stakes odds

Bella Vella
Who will follow in the footpaths of Bella Vella who took out the 2020 Robert Sangster Stakes?

Markets for the Robert Sangster Stakes are usually released the week of the race, and once they are released Horse Betting will bring you up to date betting information for the Group 1 event.

Betting on the Robert Sangster Stakes

The Robert Sangster Stakes routinely draws the best three-year-old and upwards from around Australia and even aboard.

The best mares and fillies in the world have competed for the crown, including Black Caviar and Alinghi.

It is interesting to note that the last four winners have drawn outside of barrier ten.

Since 2010 the average winning price of the Robert Sangster Stakes is approximately $13, suggesting looking for one at odds is the smart play.

Best Robert Sangster Stakes bookmakers

The Robert Sangster Stakes is a race that attracts the best and brightest of the female breed to Adelaide for Group 1 glory.

Plenty of focus is on the Australasian Oaks, which is run on the same day, but the Robert Sangster Stakes generates a lot of hype.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2020 Robert Sangster Stakes result

1stBella Vella ($46)
2nd ($3.30)
3rdBam’s On Fire ($4.20)

Recent Robert Sangster Stakes winners

  • Despite goign around as a $41 chance in the Robert Sangster Stakes, Bella Vella never really looked like getting beaten. On the back of a perfectly rated ride from Todd Pannell, the Will Clarken mare was under a stranglehold from Pannell until the 200m mark and provided a kick on her way to Group 1 glory. Despite Lyre absolutely flying home and just missing out on her second Group 1 victory, it was Bella Vella who floored favourite punters.
  • It took a perfectly timed ride from star jockey Damien Oliver to help land Spright her sole Group 1 success. Having finished a close second in the William Stakes to Sunlight earlier in the preperation, it was no surprise to see Spright go around as a well back runner in the Robert Sangster Stakes. Spright only had one runner behind him when entering the home straight but absolutely stormed down the middle of the track to take out the Robert Sangster Stakes in fine fashion.
  • Despite having three Group 1 victories to her name, Freedman filly Shoals was a double figure outsider coming into the 2018 Robert Sangster. When the race entered the latter stages however the three-year-old presented on the outside and stormed away to win the prize ahead of last year’s winner Secret Agenda and $91 outsider Mia Lil.
  • Secret Agenda scored an all-the-way win in 2017. The Mick Price-trained runner scored the turf early from barrier 16 with Damien Oliver in the saddle and it never looked like being beaten. The four-year-old kicked away on the turn to beat off the likes of Sheidel which was left chasing around the home turn. The win continued the good form of the mare after winning well two back.
  • In 2016 Precious Gem emerged from midfield in the latter stages of the race to tip out Shiedel. In a race that saw a riderless horse towards the front of the field, Precious Gem was taken to the outside and delivered a withering burst to salute at $21.
  • Running in what would be her final-ever race, Miracles Of Life jumped as a $4.50 shot, but was shuffled back in the field as the race went on. Looking like it was a mile off the pace, the little champion battled towards the lead and got the bob of the head when it mattered to finish its racing career in style.
  • Prior to an attempt at a 10,000 crown, Driefontein went to Morphettville harbouring ambitions of group glory in the Robert Sangster Stakes as a $6.50 elect. The horse broke through for its first major racing crown, but sadly never won again.
  • After the short-priced salute of Black Caviar the year prior, few knew exactly how to truly rate the 2013 Robert Sangster Stakes, but most would have thought Platelet was not much of a chance as $12 outsider after it jumped well but landed four wide. The gun horse battled on stoutly though and surged to the lead at the 200m and was never troubled.
  • Chasing a historic 20th straight win, Black Caviar started as the shortest price favourite in the race’s history, and the gun runner did not let anyone down. Settling just off the speed the mighty mare strode confidently around the horses on the outside at the turn and shot clear to record a sensational four length win.

Robert Sangster Stakes previous winners

Robert Sangster Stakes Past Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2020 Bella Vella Todd Pannell Will Clarken
2019 Spright Damien Oliver Garry Frazer
2018 Shoals Tim Clark Anthony Freedman
2017 Secret Agenda Damien Oliver Mick Price
2016 Precious Gem Henry Dwyer
2015 Mircales Of Life Hugh Bowman Peter & Paul Snowden
2014 Driefontein Gai Waterhouse
2013 Platelet Darren Weir
2012 Black Caviar Luke Nolen
2011 Response Dwayne Dunn Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra
2010 Rostova Steven King Steve Richards
2009 Bel Mer Craig Newitt Mick Price
2008 Juste Momente Stephen Arnold Danny O’Brien
2007 Universal Queen Corey Brown Lee Freedman
2006 Ellicorsam Lee Freedman
2005 Alinghi Damien Oliver Lee Freedman
2004 French Bid Steven Baster Mick Price
2003 Our Egyptian Raine Catherine Treymane Grahame Begg
2002 Suzy Grey Paul Gatt Alan Bailey
2001 Umaline Shane Cahill John Hall
2000 Rain Dance Lady Fabian Alesci David Hall

Robert Sangster Stakes Past Winners Pre 2000

Robert Sangster Stakes Past Winners Pre 2000
Year Horse
1999 Dantelah
1998 Spirit Of Love
1997 Apple Danish
1996 Mad Shavril
1995 Viminaria
1994 Tarare
1993 True Spirit
1992 Western Chorus
1991 With Me
1990 Leica Western
1989 Tree Of Renown
1988 Even True
1987 Wicked Smile
1986 Lost Art
1985 Showport
1984 Vatican Lass
1983 Ranee’s Palace

Comments are closed.