Australasian Oaks

Australasian Oaks

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, May 1, 2021
Location: Morphettville Racecourse
Prize Money: $502,250
Distance: 2,000m

THE Australasian Oaks – also known as the Schweppes Oaks – is a group one race held at Morphettville for three-year-old fillies at set weights over the distance of 2000m.

Held in late April or early May, $400,000 goes to the winner of the Australasian Oaks, which is run on the same day as fellow Group 1 race the Robert Sangster Stakes.

The race is not an event international runners target, given the prize money is not enormous and the specific nature of the conditions, but the best local and interstate fillies battle it out for Group 1 glory.

2021 Australasian Oaks odds

Toffee Tongue
Who will follow in the footsteps of Toffee Tongue, by taking out the 2021 Australasian Oaks?

Odds for the 2021 Australasian Oaks are currently unavailable, but as soon as markets do open the team here at Horsebetting will bring them to you as they become available.

Betting on the Australasian Oaks

The Australasian Oaks brings out the best three-year-old fillies from South Australia and the rest of the county, but form lines are imperative when picking a winner here.

The Port Adelaide Guineas has been a great indicator of form leading into the Australasian Oaks for the local horses held four weeks prior to the Australasian Oaks, but punters need to take into account the preparations of the interstate raiders.

Another strong frmm race to follow into the Australasian Oaks is the Group 3 Schweppervescence Stakes held a fortnight earlier over 1800m and has provided four of the past seven winners of this race.

In the period between 1983 and 2020, just six Australasian Oaks winners have saluted at a double figure price, highlighting just how well the market can predict this race.

Best Australasian Oaks bookmakers

The Australasian Oaks is a group one race which has an entire day in South Australia dedicated to it, so as you would expect the bookmakers come nice and early to the party for this one.

The runners that will nominate for the race are usually pretty cut and dry given the criteria for entry, so bookmakers are able to get their prices in pretty quickly for all-in markets.

Tote prices and other Fixed Odds markets tend to open when the race is two to three days away.

The bookies we trust the most are listed below and we recommend anyone interested in investing on the Australasian Oaks to visit any of these sites:

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2020 Australasian Oaks result

1stToffee Tongue ($4.80)
2ndMoonlight Maid ($3.30)
3rdAffair To Remember ($2.35)

Recent Australasian Oaks winners

  • On the back of a peach of a ride from Damien Thornton, Toffee Tongue broke through for her maiden success in the Group 1 Australasian Oaks of 2021. Having gotten away nicely from barrier three the Chris Waller-trained filly had seemingly found a nice spot on the rails. However with plenty of speed drawn to her outside she was quickly shuffled back to the second half of the field in a tricky spot along the rails. As her rivals made their moves prior to the home turn, Thornton opted to not go around any runners and take a rails run which proved to be the winning move and it handed Thornton his maiden Group 1 success. The win would have been even sweeter, considering Thornton had to do two weeks of quarantine prior to the ride due to the Covid-19 pandemic.
  • On the back of consecutive victories in Melbourne, David Brideoake sent Princess Jenni to Adelaide for the Australasian Oaks, where she was sent around as a well backed $3.30 favourite. Thanks to a well timed ride by Damien Oliver the High Chaparral filly showed her class to pull aways from her rivals and claimed her maiden Group 1 success at only her fourth start.
  • Fan favourite Harry Coffey teamed up with Sopressa heading into the Australasian Oaks, and when the Weir runner loomed up to stablemate Think Bleue in the final 200m a victory looked assured. The horse withstood a late charge from Sheezdashing and Miss Admiration to win both the horse’s and Coffey’s maiden G1.
  • The 2017 Australasian Oaks was set up to be a math race between the Darren Weir-trained Kenedna and the Chris Waller-trained Egg Tart. It was Egg Tart who proved victoroius on the back of a patient steer from Kerrin McEvoy. Having been near last along the rails when entering the home straight McEvoy had to thread the needles in a few gaps throughout the straight whilst Kenedna stuck to the rails. With 50m to go it looked to be Keneda’s Oaks, but Egg Tart launched late to claim victory on the line in dramatic fashion.
  • Abbey Marie was a $7 shot in the betting heading into the 2016 incarnation of the race, but was not completely discounted in the market. Abbey Marie settled midfield and was produced into the straight, and the filly did the rest.
  • Delicacy is a name that a lot of Western Australian punters would have recognised heading into the 2015 running of the Australasian Oaks, but unless you are a hardcore form-follower, you might not have known the gun filly. The display it put on to come from midfield and win by more than a length hard held showed what was to come for the West Aussie product.
  • May’s Dream came into the Oaks as a short $3.20 favourite, and the exciting filly justified the odds, but not in the fashion most were expecting. The She’s Archie product found a gap very late in the piece and hit the front in the final stages of the race to just hold on by less than a head.
  • They say it does not matter how you get there, it just matters that you are first past the post, which is an apt way to describe Maybe Discreet’s win in the Australasian Oaks. In what was the slowest running of the race in almost 20 years, the filly led the field at the turn and quickly gapped its rivals to win as a $6.50 shot.

Australasian Oaks past winners

Australasian Oaks Past Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2020 Toffee Tongue Damien Thornton Chris Waller
2019 Princess Jenni Damien Oliver David Brideoake
2018 Sopressa Harry Coffey Darren Weir
2017 Egg Tart Kerrin McEvoy Chris Waller
2016 Abbey Marie Luke Nolen Michael Kent
2015 Delicacy Peter Hall Grant Williams
2014 May’s Dream Brad Rawiller Darren Weir
2013 Maybe Discreet Dom Tourneur Phillip Stokes
2012 Invest Peter Mertens Clarry Conners
2011 Lights Of Heaven Luke Nolen Peter Moody
2010 Small Minds Dean Holland John Thompson
2009 Gallica Craig Newitt Mick Price
2008 Zarita Greg Childs Pat Hyland
2007 Anamato Michael Rodd David Hayes
2006 Marju Snip Steven Arnold Phillip Stokes
2005 Irish Darling Paul Harvey Tony Vasil
2004 Rinky Dink Greg Childs Rick Hore-Lacy
2003 Sound Action Wayne Hokai Roberta MacLeod
2002 Tully Thunder Damien Oliver Ross McDonald
2001 Tempest Morn Jim Cassidy Gai Waterhouse
2000 Grand Echezeaux Craig Williams Lee Freedman

Australasian Oaks Past Winners Pre 2000

Australasian Oaks Past Winners Pre 2000
Year Horse
1999 Episode
1998 La Volta
1997 Minegold
1996 Leica Smile
1995 Yelgun Dawn
1994 Tristalove
1993 Our Tristalight
1992 Gatherneaux
1991 Mannerism
1990 Belle Chanson
1989 Stapleton Lass
1988 Imposera
1987 Send Me An Angel
1986 Miss Clipper
1985 Centaurea
1984 Use The Space
1983 Royal Regatta
1982 Rose Of Kingston

Comments are closed.