William Reid Stakes

William Reid Stakes
THE William Reid Stakes has been won by Australia’s best sprinters and is seen as one of the major sprint races on the Australian calendar.

The prize money of $500,000 and the group one status makes it an appealing race for both connections and punters who want to see the best thoroughbreds in action.

With past winners including the great Black Caviar, Apache Cat and Miss Andretti – it’s a race worth investing on and due to the race being run on a Friday night, the atmosphere is always electric at Moonee Valley.

Black Caviar won the William Reid Stakes twice in 2011 and 2014, but the all-time record belongs to the great Manikato which won in five consecutive years from 1979-1983.

Best William Reid Stakes bookmakers

#1 $500 winnings boost
  • BPAY deposit
  • Neteller deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
$500 winnings boost

2017 William Reid Stakes result

1st – Silent Sedition ($7.40)
2nd – Hellbent ($2.50)
3rd – Star Turn ($1.80)

Quinella – $31.60
Trifecta – $200
First Four – $3207.30

Recent William Reid Stakes winners

2017: Silent Sedition scored a tough win in 2017 after holding out the Darren Weir-trained Hellbent. The two stars battled down the Moonee Valley straight, but it was four-year-old Silent Sedition which gave trainer Andrew Noblet and jockey Katelyn Mallyon their first group one success. Read report here.

2016: Flamberge was another upset winner in 2016 when winning at odds of $12. The then Peter Moody-trained gelding didn’t have everything go its way after stumbling at the start, but the class runner picked itself up and came along the rails to down Holler on the line. The field was full of quality runners which included Japonisme, Gregers and The Quarterback.

2015: A wide open betting field was presented in 2015 and it was Lucky Hussler which came away with the prize. The Darren Weir-trained five-year-old asserted its class over the concluding stages with a 1.8-length win and it kicked off what was a stellar year for the son of Husson. Vain Queen ran well as the second favourite, with the likes of Earthquake and Rebel Dane unable to find their best in the straight.

2014: In one of the most exciting finishes in the races history, Queenslander Spirit Of Boom got the better of its rivals in a driving three-horse finish. The Tony Gollan-trained six-year-old tracked the leaders into the race before moving wide around the Moonee Valley home turn. It hit the front over the concluding stages and it held off the fast finishing Fontelina and Unpretentious in a thrilling finish. Spirit Of Boom was well-supported at $5.50 in the betting.

2013: The amazing Black Caviar dominated the 2013 edition at skinny odds of $1.05. The Moody-trained champion mare was expected to dominate the race and it didn’t disappoint. The six-year-old sat outside the leader throughout before hitting second gear and cruising to victory. The win won’t be considered one of its best due to the average field it defeated, which included staying types Fawkner, Luckygray and Linton, but that’s to be expected when Black Caviar is lining up.

2012: All the talk in the lead-up was for $1.50 favourite Hay List, but punters forgot about talented three-year-old Foxwedge. The future stallion showed good fight in winning at odds of $12 over the well-fancied Hay List which had to settle for another placing in a big race. Foxwedge was an expensive $925,000 purchase and this win was one of its highlights in a limited career.

William Red Stakes past winners list

2017 – Silent Sedition
2016 – Flamberge
2015 – Lucky Hussler
2014 – Spirit Of Boom
2013 – Black Caviar
2012 – Foxwedge
2011 – Black Caviar
2010 – Turffontein
2009 – Apache Cat
2008 – Apache Cat
2007 – Miss Andretti
2006 – Virage De Fortune
2005 – Cape of Good Hope
2004 – Regimental Gal
2003 – Yell
2002 – Toledo
2001 – Bomber Bill
2000 – Miss Pennymoney
1999 – Grand Archway
1998 – Stella Cadente
1997 – Spartacus
1996 – Strategic
1995 – Hareeba
1994 – Lady Jakeo
1993 – Spanish Mix
1992 – Wrap Around
1991 – Redelva
1990 – Lightning Bend
1989 – Zedative
1988 – Vo Rogue
1987 – Canny Lass
1986 – Campaign King
1985 – River Rough
1984 – Qubeau
1983 – Manikato
1982 – Manikato
1981 – Manikato
1980 – Manikato
1979 – Manikato

Comments are closed.