Manfred Stakes

It all started for the Manfred Stakes in 1969 when Anvil saluted at Caulfield.

Since then, the Manfred Stakes has developed into a popular group 3 race over 1200m for three-year-olds run in February, at the same course it all began at.

It is run under set weight and penalty conditions and has a purse of AUD $150,000, making it a race trainers and jockeys are desperate to compete in.

How to bet on the Manfred Stakes

All Australian online bookmakers featuring horse racing will have Caulfield races available to bet on. This means the Manfred Stakes can be wagered upon as soon as acceptances are in. Like most group 3 races the Manfred Stakes does not have an all-in or futures market weeks out from the race.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Manfred Stakes result

1stCliff’s Edge ($6.60)
2ndOvershare ($3.40)
3rdMuraaqeb ($2.10)

Recent runnings of the Manfred Stakes:

  • 2017
    Legless Veuve wasn’t fancied by punters leading into the race, but the only filly of the field gave the boys a lesson. The Stuart Webb-trained daughter of Pins sat outside the speed which was set by Into Orbit before pulling away in the straight. It defeated the likes of Hey Doc, Morton’s Fork and the well-backed Derryn. The three-year-old paid $17.30 for the win, despite winning some good form races last preparation.
  • 2016
    Mornington trainer Jason Warren’s three year old Puritan marked itself as a horse of the future, defeating a field of promising colts and geldings. Paying $21, Puritan defeated pre-race favourite Golden Spin ($2.60) and Read For Victory, which paid $9. Nick Hall rode the victorious horse.
  • 2015
    It was the Freedman family taking the chocolates this year, with champion hoop Damien Oliver steering Java to the title. It was the Freedman’s first big win since teaming up under the same banner. Java had previously won three successive races in a lower grade and his fitness showed, beating home Sandown Guineas winner Petrology with Affirmation third.
  • 2014
    Bull Point was too good for Gai Waterhouse and jockey Damien Oliver over the 1200m journey. After jumping perfectly and settling into a nice position, Bull Point drew level with the leader Worth A Ransom at the 200m metre mark, before kicking away to win by just over a length. Worth A Ransom and The Quarterback filled out the minor placings.
  • 2013
    Mirage, or Royal Haunt as the horse was racing as in 2013, proved too strong despite an atrocious record of getting out of the barriers cleanly. Jockey Luke Nolen rode it superbly as he worked through the field before easing to a four length victory. The Hard Spun gelding was trained by Peter Moody and was to go on and race in Hong Kong. Greg Eurell-trained pair Force Command and Hosting finished second and third.
  • 2012
    Favourite and top weight Mosheen proved too strong with almost a two length victory for jockey Danny Nikolic and trainer Robert Smerdon. It was Mosheen’s first race since wining the Crown Oaks with the 1200m victory in the return to the track coming as somewhat of a surprise given the horse is better over the mile. That’s The One and Highly Recommended rounded out the placings.

Manfred Stakes past winners

Year Winner
2018 Cliff’s Edge
2017 Legless Veuve
2016 Puritan
2015 Java
2014 Bull Point
2013 Mirage
2012 Mosheen
2011 Enjin Number Nine
2010 Denman
2009 Nicconi
2008 Turffontein
2007 Haradasun
2006 Thin And Crispy
2005 Niconero
2004 Keep The Faith
2003 Conspectus
2002 Don Eduardo
2001 Academy Dancer
2000 Freemason
1999 Market Price
1998 Prince Standaan
1997 Catainer
1996 Eureka Jewel
1995 Danasinga
1994 Tristalove
1993 Restitution
1992 Dark Ksar
1991 Beachside
1990 Academian
1989 Painted Ocean
1988 Century Judge
1987 Groucho
1986 Khamacruz
1985 Noble Peer
1984 Pride Of Kellina
1983 To The Wind
1982 Getting Closer
1981 Real Force
1980 Polo Player
1979 Fralo
1978 Taskwin
1977 Super Scope
1976 Zintoba/Silver Shaft
1975 Kenmark
1974 Bush Win
1973 Flying Gem / Gala Supreme
1972 Andros / Downland
1971 Pilgarlic
1970 Long Brandy
1969 Gay Bachelor
1968 Anvil

Comments are closed.