South Australian Derby

South Australian Derby

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, May 11, 2019
Location: Morphettville
Prize Money: $600,000
Distance: 2,500m

Open to three year olds and raced under set weight conditions the South Australian Derby will has a purse of $600,000.

Often the horses with the best breeding will head the market for the South Australian Derby, because it is hard to get a solid gauge on three-year-old’s form.

Some great horses from both South Australia and the rest of Australia and New Zealand contest the South Australian Derby.

Some of the biggest names to have won the South Australian Derby include Mummify (2003), Sub Zero (1992), Bullwinkle (1994) and Our Pompeii (1993).

2019 South Australian Derby betting odds

Mr Quickie ridden by John Allen wins the Steller Guineas at Mornington Racecourse on March 23, 2019 in Mornington, Australia. (Natasha Morello/Racing Photos)

Mr Quickie is the $3.30 favourite with online bookmaker Neds to win the 2019 South Australian Derby.

Declarationofheart is on the second line of betting at $5 while Grinzinger Star is next best at $7.50.

Chapada ($8) is the only other runner in single figures.

Best bookmakers for the SA Derby

The South Australian Derby is a massive race on the Australian racing calendar, with many great horses competing for the prize every year.

This means there is some heavy betting action on it, with all Aussie bookies boasting futures markets on it. This means it is well worth your while to check your horse’s odds at a few different bookies.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 South Australian Derby result

1stLeicester ($4)
2ndRezealient ($21 SP)
3rdRunaway ($13 SP)

Recent runnings of the SA Derby

  • In his maiden Group 1 performance, Darren Weir-trained Leicester delivered a win for the punters. Camped just off the speed by Damien Lane, Leicester looked like he was struggling at the 300m but under a strong ride the gelding hit the front and won by just under a length and a half. The three-year-old won ahead of double figure outsiders Rezealient and Runaway.
  • Darren Weir and John Allen made it back-to-back South Australian Derby wins with Volatile Mix. The three-year-old was strong to the line and it defeated a quality type in Ruthven. The $16 chance wasn’t picked up by punters, but it scored the biggest victory of its short career. Read the report here.
  • The son of Redoute’s Choice Howard Be Thy Name was too strong for the in-from Darren Weir stable. Ridden by Irish jockey John Allen, who recorded his first elite level win in Australia, Howard Be Thy Name added the group 1 race to his wins in the Adelaide Guineas and the Chairman’s Stakes. With Tarquin and Etymology out of the gates well, Howard Be Thy Name sat just off the pace and timed a run on the straight perfect to hit the lead at the 200m mark. Howard Be Thy Name ($5) beat home Etymology ($16) and Cool Chap ($7).
  • Delicacy, a mare based out of Perth, defeated 15 colts and geldings to win the SA Derby. Trained by Al Maher, Delicacy hit the front with about 100m to go, her withering burst proving too much for second-placed Werther, which was to go on and become a superstar in Hong Kong. Allergic battled on to take third. The final time for the victory was 2 min 37.91 sec.
  • Richard Jolly-trained Kushadasi, paying $4.60, won his hometown Derby in a thrilling finish. Steve Arnold expertly guided Kushadasi down the centre of the track, with the finishing burst helping it beat home Scratchy Bottom ($5.50), the official margin being a nose. Anthony Cummings-trained Best Case ($12) was a half length away in third. It was a rare victory for a South Australian trainer in a group 1 race in Adelaide.
  • Victorian trainer Matt Laurie became a group 1 winner with Escado outstaying some likely types. The gelding was backed from $21 into $14 and Ben Melham knew he was on a good thing when he got a dream run on the inside. With second favourite Hvasstan ($5) spending too many tickets in the middle stages of its trip, it was down to favourite Shoreham ($4), Hioctdane ($5.50) and Escado. The gutsy ride down the inside proved the decisive factor, with Escado eventually winning by almost two lengths, from Hioctdane and Shoreham.
  • Race favourite Zabeelionaire beat home Sabrage and Westsouthwest. Ridden by Damien Oliver, Zabeelionaire sat midfield for the bulk of the trip with Oliver holding him back, before producing an inside run to win a fourth race from 11 starts for Leon Corstens.

South Australian Derby Past Winners

South Australian Derby
Year South Australian Derby Past Winner
2018 Leicester
2017 Volatile Mix
2016 Howard Be Thy Name
2015 Delicacy
2014 Kushadasi
2013 Escado
2012 Zabeelionaire
2011 Shadows In The Sun
2010 Kidnapped
2009 Rebel Raider
2008 Zarita
2007 Lazer Sharp
2006 Testifiable
2005 Tails Of Triomphe
2004 Hard To Get
2003 Mummify
2002 Pantani
2001 Big Pat
2000 Blue Murder
1999 Showella
1998 Bulta
1997 Markham
1996 Cheviot
1995 Count Chivas
1994 Bullwinkle
1993 Our Pompeii
1992 Subzero
1991 Shiva’s Revenge
1990 Diego
1989 Sea Brigand
1988 Celtic Spirit
1987 Shark’s Fin
1986 French Cotton
1985 Sir Zephyr
1984 Mapperley Heights
1983 Race Not Held
1982 English Wonder
1981 Brewery Boy
1980 Tasman
1979 Top Ware
1978 Regal Jester
1977 Stormy Rex
1976 Vacuum
1975 Prince Of All
1974 Exalt’s Pride
1973 Sir Gerald
1972 Dayana
1971 Near Boy
1970 Clear Prince
1969 Paradigm
1968 Dale Lace
1967 Kembla
1966 Peculator
1965 Mission
1964 Ziema
1963 Hunting Horn
1962 Royal Ziet
1961 Gatum Gatum
1960 Royal Chat
1959 Crusty Bottle
1958 Stormy Passage
1957 Galloway
1956 Auteuil
1955 Ralkon
1954 Pandie Star
1953 Jovial Scot
1952 Winemaker
1951 Beau Cavalier
1950 Toastmaster
1949 Glenvue
1948 Idle Banter
1947 Basama
1946 Conservator
1945 Dauntless
1944 Bluenor
1943-42 Race Not Held
1941 Ladmond
1940 Waxwings
1939 Lusson
1938 Tempest
1937 Golden Hill
1936 Brave Lad
1935 Beamish Boy
1934 Alinura
1933 Yultewirra
1932 Traverse
1931 Opera King
1930 Induna
1929 Hot Spring
1928 Mount Of Olives
1927 Marco Polo
1926 Pindenda
1925 Ethelton
1924 Wycherley
1923 King Of Mirth
1922 Burnished
1921 Leon
1920 Pogonatos
1919 Lord Setay
1918 Stagegirl
1917 Cosmos
1916 Nevka
1915 Perambulate
1914 Fidelio
1913 Kildalton
1912 Puringa
1911 Sanskrit
1910 Sergius
1909 The Greek
1908 Tiercel
1907 Palotta
1906 Kismet II
1905 Torah
1904 Ganymedes
1903 F.J.A.
1902 Rienzi
1901 Ritualist
1900 Miltiades
1899 Gunga Din
1898 Hainault
1897 Goodwill
1896 Thunder Queen
1895 Auraria
1894 Monastery
1893 Salient
1892 Vakeel
1891 Lady Rose
1890 Cheddar
1989-85 Race Not Held
1884 Gratitude
1883 Dirk Hatteraick
1882 Guesswork
1881 Topaz
1880 The Assyrian
1879 Pawnbroker
1878 Viceroy
1877 Irish Queen
1876 Pride Of The Hills
1875-69 Race Not Held
1868 Centurion
1867 Regalia
1866 Crusader
1865 Tim Whiffler
1864 Queen Of Barossa/Lubra
1863 Lord Of Isles
1862 Riddle
1861 Typo
1860 Midnight

Comments are closed.