The Goodwood

The Goodwood

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, May 16, 2020
Location: Morphettville
Prize Money: $1 Million
Distance: 1,200m

The Goodwood is worth is one of the showpiece events of Adelaide’s Autumn Carnival and the undisputed sprinting title that all the trainers want.

A decision was made more than a decade ago by South Australian Racing officials to change the race from the traditional handicap to a set weights and penalties event, in an effort to bring some of Australia’s better sprinters to Morphettville.

The move paid immediate dividends in 2009 after superstar sprinter Takeover Target made the move to Morphettville, while Black Caviar was sent over to decimate her rivals just two years later.

2020 Goodwood betting odds

Spright is the Goodwood favourite. PIC: Bradley Photos.

Gytrash is the $3.70 favourite with the top Australian bookmakers for the 2020 crown, with Santa Ana Lane and trekking shortening into $7 and $7.50 respectively in the week of the race.

Goodwood Handicap betting is available at all Australian betting sites, while there are also plenty of decent bookie promotions surrounding this Morphettville Group 1 race.

Best Goodwood bookmakers

The Goodwood is a Group 1 race in one of the key sprint fixtures on the Australian calendar, which means any bookmaker that takes themselves seriously open markets on the Goodwood nice and early.

Ladbrokes and Sportsbet usually open Goodwood all-in markets weeks in advance of the race, and other bookmakers we trust typically follow suit not long after.

Tote prices and other Fixed Odds markets tend to open when the race is two to three days away.

The bookies we trust the most are listed below and we recommend anyone interested in investing on the Goodwood to visit any of these sites:

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Betting on The Goodwood

The Goodwood brings out the best sprinters from around the country to duke it out for a huge prize packet, but the form lines do not always hold up heading into the race.

Just three horses in the period between 2016 and 2006 have won the Goodwood, but given one of those winners was the almighty Black Caviar, one win was always in the bag.

In the time-frame between 1983 and 2016, over half the winners in the Goodwood have won at double figure odds.

18 winners in the 33 races have won at odds averaging $22, and six of the last 10 winners have won at double figure odds.

It has also been a female’s race in recent times.

In between years 2010 and 2016, three mares and one filly have taken out the Goodwood.

2018 The Goodwood result

1stSanta Ana Lane ($26)
2ndMissrock ($4.50)
3rdI’ll Have A Bit ($10.50)

Recent Goodwood winners:

  • The 2019 edition of the Goodwood was won by $21 roughie Despatch, which was ridden by Todd Pannell and trained by Tony McEvoy. Despatch managed to hold off a fast-finishing Bohemoth and pre-race favourite Spright, who also finished strongly.
  • It seems unfathomable given Santa Ana Lane’s record in Group 1 races, but the champion sprinter was a huge outsider coming into the 2018 Goodwood. As the race panned out too he looked like an also-run, cornering towards the back of the field as the leaders entered the straight. In a piece of masterful riding however by Ben Melham, the gelding pierced his way through a wall of horses and hit the front in the final 50m to deliver a powerful win.
  • Vega Magic came into the 2017 Goodwood as the second favourite just behind the previous year’s winner Black Hart Bart, and the front runner seemed to have it all his own way coming to the turn. Missrock loomed up on his outside and looked to have the race won upon straightening but the Lindsay Park sprinter fought back like the champ he is and secured his first Group 1 victory.
  • Black Heart Bart had a spectacular run of form leading into the Goodwood and was the justified $2.80 favourite. The West Australian native had a fantastic run in transit and delivered a withering burst of speed to put away its rivals.
  • Peter Moody trained Flamberge was not expected to be a factor in the 2015 incarnation after poor last start finish, but connections would have been buoyed after a good jump put the gelding just off the speed. The multiple time group winner powered to the front at the 100m mark and saluted to return a massive $21.
  • After spending most of the trip wide in the running, old favourite Smokin’ Joey was expected to wilt given it went in as a $41 chance. The gelding found an extra gear in the straight however and powerfully put away its rivals to be the longest priced winner in the last 20 years.
  • After taking out the Robert Sangster Stakes two weeks prior, Platelet went in at similar odds to back up that hard fought win. The then filly looked like it would peter out badly considering how far back it was but it stormed home late to record one of the most eye-catching wins in the race’s history.

The Goodwood past winners

Year Goodwood Past Winner
2018 Santa Ana Lane
2017 Vega Magic
2016 Black Heart Bart
2015 Flamberge
2014 Smokin’ Joey
2013 Platelet
2012 Black Caviar
2011 Lone Rock
2010 Velocitea
2009 Takeover Target
2008 Shadoways
2007 Let Go Thommo
2006 Perfectly Ready
2005 Glamour Puss
2004 Super Elegant
2003 Bomber Bill
2002 Zip Zip Aray
2001 Keeper
2000 Marstic
1999 French Clock
1998 Spectrum
1997 Bellzevir
1996 Sword
1995 Centisle
1994 Ambala
1993 Jolly Old Mac
1992 Euclase
1991 Crush
1990 Beau George
1989 Boardwalk Angel
1988 Cameronic
1987 Daring Jon
1986 Lord Galaxy
1985 Mighty Avenger
1984 Leica Plant
1983 Bold Jet
1982 Heavenly Time
1981 Young Man
1980 Marjoleo
1979 Comaida Boy
1978 Quiet Snort
1977 Romantic Dream
1976 Puncheon
1975 Kenmark
1974 Samist
1973 Wise Virgin
1972 Tango Miss
1971 Romantic Son
1970 Crown Lad
1969 Grey John
1968 Makadola
1967 Picargo
1966 High Income
1965 Sunny Coronation
1964 Kiltrice
1963 Queen Dassie
1962 Conrapt
1961 Mikadis
1960 Scenic Star
1959 Bofresher
1958 Sleep Tight
1957 Hunter’s Sight
1956 Matrice
1955 Copper Year
1954 Gerant
1953 First Scout
1952 Jamboree
1951 St. Comedy
1950 Power’s Hope
1949 Cellarman
1948 Denhoti
1947 Galway Pipe
1946 Royal Gem
1945 Univari
1944 Warworn
1943-42 Race Not Held
1941 Unishak
1940 Aurie’s Star
1939 Panka
1938 Hegemonic
1937 Night Gang
1936 Agargil
1935 Isosceles
1934 Sister Florence
1933 Opera Bag
1932 Valaisanne
1931 St. Bernadette
1930 Doradus
1929 Glenanton
1928 Second Dale
1927 Triangle
1926 Ben Lomond
1925 Bright Poppy
1924 St. Roseate
1923 Denacre
1922 St. Speed
1921 Peace Day
1920 Mareca
1919 Trillion
1918 Pistolarie
1917 Bourlang
1916 Blague
1915 Golden Wire
1914 Kosai
1913 Widgiewa
1912 Musket Belle
1911 Musket Belle
1910 Lord Derby
1909 True Scot
1908 Lord Carlyon
1907 The Amazon
1906 Step – Out
1905 First Fleece
1904 Latch Key
1903 Trochon
1902 Footbolt
1901 Finland
1900 Ranfurly
1899 Forest
1898 Australian
1897 Orient
1896 Tinstream
1895 Mostyn
1894 Mostyn
1893 Britisher
1892 Fulham
1891 The Despised
1890 Goldstream
1889 Chetwynd
1988-86 Race Not Held
1885 Lantern
1884 Ironmaster
1883 Colstoun
1882 Result
1881 D.O.D.

Comments are closed.