Bobbie Lewis Quality

THE Bobbie Lewis Quality is a group 2 handicap run at Flemington on the same day as the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes, Group 2 Danehill Stakes and the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes.

Run over 1200m for a purse of $200,000, the Bobbie Lewis Quality is a ‘straight six’ race down the Flemington straight and it has been won by some of Australia’s best straight running thoroughbreds.

One of the most popular wins came in 2014 when world sprinting star Chautauqua ran a slick time of 1:08.1 when it won by 2.5 lengths over Temple Of Boom.

It’s a good horses race which usually has an impact on the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes later in September and punters have had great success when betting on the Bobbie Lewis Quality in the past.

Best Bobbie Lewis Quality bookmakers

Much like other group races in September, bookmakers will open the betting markets in the week leading up to the race.

The following bookmakers will all have markets open for not only win and place betting, but they will also offer all-in markets for punters which like to secure the early value. Bookmaker bonuses will also be available from those listed below.

United States Featured casinos

Featured casinos

2018 Bobby Lewis Quality result

1stDothraki ($14)
2ndFirst Among Equals ($2.30)
3rdKomono ($3)

Recent Bobbie Lewis Quality winners

  • 2018:
    Dothraki was one of the least favoured runners heading into the 2018 Bobby Lewis but the Peter and Paul Snowden galloper duly delivered in a tight finish. Racing up towards the speed for the majority of the race, the leaders eventually wilted but Dothraki fought on, gripping on to win in a tight finish ahead of the fast-finishing First Among Equals.
  • 2017:
    Coming into a big race fresh paid dividends for Redkirk Warrior, who has made a habit of racing well first-up. Following the speed early doors, Redkirk Warrior took the front at the 400m and was never troubled, skipping out to a huge margin just after the 200m and nothing got near him.
  • 2016:
    Faatinah scored a popular victory for punters when winning by 1.75 lengths. The Hayes/Dabernig-trained gelding was heavily backed into $4.30 late in the market and it never looked like being beaten as it took over mid-way down the Flemington straight. It ran a quick time of 1:09.13 over 1200m on a soft-rated track which is low-flying and it defeated a quality field which included Tivaci, Under The Louvre, Kinglike and Xtravagant. Read the race report here.
  • 2015:
    Churchill Dancer have New Zealand jockey Michael Dee his biggest career win in 2015. The Hayes/Dabernig-trained gelding was an each way chance in the betting at $8 and took advantage of a field which had no standout favourite. The favourite was Rich Enuff at $4.50 which finished sixth, but there was very good value on offer for the likes of Under The Louvre, Gregers and Lucky Hussler. It was one of the strongest and most-even Bobbie Lewis Quality fields ever assembled.
  • 2014:
    Chautauqua wasn’t as well-performed back in 2014, which is why punters were able to get $5.50 for the Bobbie Lewis. That’s an incredible price and it showed them why it should never be disrespected in the market. The Hawkes-trained sprinter put 2.5 lengths on the field which included the group one-performed Temple Of Boom and Speediness. The weight of only 54kg helped the star sprinter and the win spring-boarded what was a stellar career.
  • 2013:
    Speediness was an upset winner in 2013 when winning at odds of $21. The Colin Scott-trained gelding picked a path through the field and went clear in the run to the line to give Temple Of Boom another second placing. The $18,000 sales purchase was a great buy for the owners and it relished not having to go around a turn down the Flemington straight. Among the beaten runners included the Peter Snowden-trained Albrecht and class horse Rebel Dane.
  • 2012:
    A Queensland trainer suffered another defeat in the Bobbie Lewis when We’re Gonna Rock pipped Spirit Of Boom near the line. Trained by Mark Kavanagh, We’re Gonna Rock was a $6.50 chance in the betting and it was able to tuck in behind runners down the straight before finding a gap and sprinting late. The big field of 19 runners included the likes of Mosheen, Smokin’ Joey and 2013 winner Speediness so there was plenty of quality in behind the son of Fastnet Rock.
  • 2011:
    Lone Rock gave sire Fastnet Rock another win in the Bobbie Lewis in 2011. The Robert Smerdon-trained mare flashed home to down $3.75 favourite Bel Sprinter on the line and it paid a very handy $21 with bookmakers. Danzylum finished third despite paying an incredible $151 for the win. The field also included Yosei, Happy Trails and Temple Of Boom which later recorded back-to-back placings in the Bobbie Lewis.

Bobbie Lewis Quality spring carnival guide

The Bobbie Lewis is often used as a preparation for sprinting races later in the spring carnival. Speediness finished second in 2013 before running second in the Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley and also third in the Group 1 Emirates Stakes during the Melbourne Cup carnival.

Spirit Of Boom was a big-race placegetter and following its second placing in 2012, it then went on to run third in the Gilgai Stakes and then third in the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes in Perth.

More group one form came with Gold Salute which finished second in the 2009 running of the Bobbie Lewis. Gold Salute then went on to place in the Group 1 Toorak Handicap at Caulfield and the Group 1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington.

The Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke was won by Toorak Toff in 2011 after it finished fifth in the Bobbie Lewis Quality. Under The Louvre finished second in the Bobbie Lewis before running second again in the Sir Rupert Clarke later that month.

The sprinting distance of the Bobbie Lewis helps the mile-type runners strengthen towards the end of the spring carnival and punters should also note the Group 1 Manikato Stakes as a potential ‘next race’ for horses that lined up in the Bobbie Lewis Quality.

Bobbie Lewis Quality past winners list

Year Winner
2018 Dothraki
2017 Redkirk Warrior
2016 Faatinah
2015 Churchill Dancer
2014 Chautauqua
2013 Speediness
2012 We’re Gonna Rock
2011 Lone Rock
2010 Doubtful Jack
2009 Swift Alliance
2008 Bon Hoffa
2007 Bon Hoffa
2006 Bel Danoro
2005 Wildly
2004 Face Value
2003 Titanic Jack
2002 Chong Tong
2001 Scenic Peak
2000 Ruthless Tycoon
1999 Le Zagaletta
1998 El Mirada
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments