Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes betting

Raced over 1400 metres at Caulfield, the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is a Group 1 feature with total prize money of $400,000.

It is named after long-time Victorian Amateur Turf Club chairman Sir Rupert Clarke, who was also an esteemed businessman and had a distinguished career in the military.

The race, held in late September, was first raced as the Invitation Cup in 1951 and has had various name changes in its close to 70 year history.

As it is a group 1 race there is huge betting interest in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, with the next edition to be held on October 1, 2017.

2017 Sir Rupert Clarke result

1st – Santa Ana Lane
2nd – Mr Sneaky
3rd – So Si Bon

Betting on the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

Like all group 1 races in Australia, bookmakers will have odds out weeks in advance for the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. These will be ‘all-in’ fixed markets, meaning if you know a horse is targeting this race you should be able to secure some juicy odds.

In the last eight years, the winner of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has had its final lead-up in the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality four times, which is held around a month before.

Other races’ winners who have then gone on to win the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes include the Group 2 Lets Elope Stakes and the Memsie Stakes, which have both provided two winners.

The race has traditionally suited four year olds and up, with only Exceed and Excel in 2003 and Testa Rossa in 1999 winning it as a three year old.

Another important factor to consider when wagering on the Rupert Clarke Stakes is what barrier the horse is in. History tells us that if a horse is drawn wide it will need luck over the first 250m.

With the race a handicap it almost guarantees a cracking tempo and gives the back markers a chance, but it has never been a race for favourites with just two winners in the last 13 years being the punters’ elect.

Every Australian bookmaker will feature horse racing prominently, but some are better than others. swears by the following six:

William Hill

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes history

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has an exceptionally rich history and has had some champion horses, trainers and jockeys win the race.

Lee Freedman has been a strong supporter of the race having saddled up 30 runners, for four winners, a second and a third. Other successful trainers with multiple wins in the race include Rick Hore-Lacy, Darren Weir and Ray Lawson.

The first running of the race was taken out by Jovial Lad over seven Furlongs, with the distance being changed to 1400m in 1972. It became a group 1 race in 1979.

Often the race is still referred to as the Invitation Stakes, but over the years it has been known as the Marlboro Cup, Victoria Health Cup and the Eat Will Live Well Cup.

Jockeys with multiple wins

6 wins Damien Oliver

5 wins: Craig Willams

4 wins: Mick Goreham, Steve King, Brian York

Trainers with multiple wins

4 wins: Lee Freedman

2 wins: Rick Hore-Lacy, Darren Weir, Ray Lawson.

Past winners of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes

2017 – Santa Ana Lane
2016 – Bon Aurum
2015 – Stratum Star
2014 – Trust In A Gust
2013 – Rebel Dane
2012 – Moment Of Change
2011 – Toorak Toff
2010 – Response
2009 – Turffontein
2008 – Orange County
2007 – Bon Hoffa
2006 – Rewaaya
2005 – Barely A Moment
2004 – Regal Roller
2003 – Exceed And Excel
2002 – Pernod
2001 – Mr. Murphy
2000 – Testa Rossa
1999 – Testa Rossa
1998 – Lord Luskin
1997 – Cut Up Rough
1996 – Encosta De Lago
1995 – Our Maizcay
1994 – Poetic King
1993 – Black Rouge
1992 – Mannerism
1991 – St. Jude
1990 – Submariner
1989 – Potrero
1988 – Rancho Ruler
1987 – Western Pago
1986 – Canny Lass
1985 – Trichelle
1984 – King Phoenix
1983 – Ranger’s Son
1982 – Magari
1981 – Soldier Of Fortune
1980 – Torbek
1979 – Private Talk
1978 – Manikato
1977 – Raffindale
1976 – Private Talk
1975 – Cap D’Antibes
1974 – Ptery’s Son
1973 – Millefleurs
1972 – Proud Toff
1971 – Tauto
1970 – Tauto
1969 – Heralding
1968 – Joking
1967 – Snub
1966 – Maritana
1965 – Nicopolis
1964 – Ripa
1963 – Samson
1962 – Anonyme
1961 – Anonyme
1960 – My Peak
1959 – St. Joel
1958 – Gay Saba
1957 – Luire
1956 – St. Joel
1955 – Matrice
1954 – Rio Janeiro
1953 – St. Joel
1952 – Fetlar
1951 – Jovial Lad

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes – recent runnings

2016: Bon Aurum helped trainer Ciaron Maher to his seventh group 1 win, with an outstanding ride from Kerrin McEvoy. McEvoy was incredibly patient and expertly guided Bon Aurum into the wall of horses challenging, before unleashing on the straight. Voodoo Lad ($6( flashed home for second, while Fast ‘n’ Rocking ($21) overcame a difficult run to finish third. Favourite Counterattack finished sixth. Read the full report.

2015 – Stratum Star came from the clouds to win this edition. With Disposition and Under the Louvre looking the chances, Stratum Star burst through two runners to score a breakthrough victory. Stratum Star was trained by Darren Weir, with champion jockey Craig Williams in the saddle.

2014: Trust in a Gust gave jockey Damian Lane his first group 1 victory. Trained by Darren Weir, Trust in a Gust won an intriguing race from Dissident who looked a likely winner at one point, but Lane’s horse’s head was in front when it counted.

2013: Rebel Dane, with Glen Boss aboard, proved too strong to win by a half head from Fontelina and Solzhenitsyn. Trained by Gary Portelli, Rebel Dane got a monkey of its back of sorts, after finally winning a group 1 after almost beating Pierro the season before.