Sires’ Produce Stakes (ATC)

Sires’ Produce Stakes (ATC)

The Championships Day 1 – Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, April 6, 2019
Location: Royal Randwick, Sydney
Prize Money: $1 Million
Distance: 1,400m

The Group 1 Sires’ Produce Stakes is a set weight race for two-year-olds, held at Randwick Racecourse.

The 1400m feature has a prize pool of $1,000,000 and is the second leg of the Sydney two-year-old Triple Crown – following the Golden Slipper and the final leg, the Champagne Stakes.

The last horse to have won the triple crown was Pierro in 2012, when the champion two year old became just the fourth colt in history to manage the feat.

With many horses and trainers fancying their chances of winning all three of the two year old races, often the Sires Produce Stakes field has a distinct Golden Slipper taste to it.

2019 Sires’ Produce Stakes betting odds

Loving Gaby ridden by Damian Lane wins the Ladbrokes Chairman’s Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse on February 02, 2019 in Caulfield, Australia. (Pat Scala/Racing Photos)

Loving Gaby is the $6 favourite with online bookmaker Neds ahead of a hotly contested Sires’ Produce Stakes.

Castelvecchio ($6.50) is on the second line of betting while Bellevue Hill and Microphone ($7) are the only other runners in single figures.

Best bookmakers for Sires’ Produce Stakes

It’s not hard to find a good bookie to punt on the Championships with many of the best having promotions – cash back offers, odds boosts and more – on offer for punters from all states.

Click on any of the banners below to read our bookmaker reviews.

United States Sires' Produce Stakes Bookmakers

Sires' Produce Stakes Bookmakers

2019 Sires’ Produce Stakes result

1stMicrophone ($4.80)
2ndLoving Gaby ($1.70)
3rdKiamichi ($2.50)

Recent runnings of the Sires’ Produce

  • After finishing inside the placings in the Golden Slipper behind stablemate Kiamichi, Microphone was heavily favoured in the Sires’ market, and backers were rewarded for their persistence. The Slipper winner again made the pace to lead early and looked good in the straight but it was Microphone that steamrolled up its inside to claim the win ahead of the fast finishing Loving Gaby, which got held up earlier in the straight.
  • It was meant to be the coming out party for maiden runner Oohood, which had placed previously in the Blue Diamond Stakes and Golden Slipper, but El Dorado Dreaming again relegated the Tony McEvoy runner to a Group 1 placing. Storming home from the back of the field, the despised outsider launched down the middle of the track to upset Oohood, which found clear air a little too late. Read the race report.
  • Invader caused a minor upset at odds of $8 to win the 2017 Sires Produce Stakes. The Peter and Paul Snowden-trained juvenile defied a track bias by coming centre track after most winners earlier in the day were camped on the rail. The decision to miss the Golden Slipper proved the right decision for Invader’s connections. Read the race report.
  • Yankee Rose gave trainer David Vandyke his first group 1 victory. Ridden by Zac Purton, who settled the horse around midfield, went wide on the straight before joining the leaders at the 300m mark. It then hit the lead at the 200m mark to pay homage to its favourites price of $3.80. Telperion ($4) and Faraway Town ($51) rounded out the minor placings.
  • Pride Of Dubai missed the Golden Slipper, before claiming the Sires Produce. Having previously won the Blue Diamond Stakes, Pride of Dubai had form on its side and a great jockey with Hugh Bowman producing a masterful display. With five horses still in the mix at the 200m mark, Pride Of Dubai eventually beat home Odyssey Moon and Rageese.
  • Gerald Ryan’s Peggy Jean didn’t compete in the Golden Slipper, and was primed for the Sires’ Produce. Peggy Jean beat home Scratch Me Lucky and Cornrow to claim the million dollar purse. Peggy Jean was ridden by Nash Rawiller. Ryan, who had three other runners in the race, also had the favourite Believe Yourself but it struggled in the heavy conditions and finished well back.
  • Guelph upset pre-race favourite Overreach, who had won the Golden Slipper the week before. But on-course money, which had seen Guelph backed from $12 into $9.50 proved to be correct. Guelph, which finished fourth in the Slipper, clearly enjoyed the extra distance of the Sires Produce.
  • Pierro won the second leg of the Sydney Triple Crown in convincing style, before going on to complete it in the Champagne Stakes. It was another huge victory for Gai Waterhouse in the race, remarkably she has won it seven times since the year 2000. Nash Rawiller guided Pierro to the win over Black Caviar’s half brother All Too Hard and Limes.

Past winners of the Sires’ Produce Stakes

Sires' Produce Stakes Past Winners
Year Sires’ Produce Stakes Past Winner
2019 Microphone
2018 El Dorado Dreaming
2017 Invader
2016 Yankee Rose
2015 Pride Of Dubai
2014 Peggy Jean
2013 Guelphd
2012 Pierro
2011 Helmet
2010 Yosei
2009 Pompeii Ruler
2008 Sarrera
2007 Desert War
2006 Eremein
2005 Grand Armee
2004 Grand Armee
2003 Lonhro
2002 Defier
2001 Shogun Lodge
2000 Georgie Boy
1999 Intergaze
1998 Might And Power
1997 Intergaze
1996 Doriemus
1995 Jeune
1994 Durbridge
1993 Veandercross
1992 Rough Habit
1991 Stylish Century
1990 Sydeston
1989 Our Poetic Prince
1988 Authaal
1987 Dinky Flyer
1986 Tristarc
1985 Rising Prince
1984 Chiamare
1983 Fountaincourt
1982 Prince Majestic
1981 My Blue Denim
1980 Iko
1979 Shivaree
1978 Ming Dynasty
1977 Ngawyni
1976 Taras Bulba
1975 Jandell
1974 Battle Heights
1973 Apollo Eleven
1972 Tails
1971 Gay Icarus
1970 Panvale
1969 Lowland
1968 General Command
1967 Garcon
1966 Prince Grant
1965 Fair Patton
1964 Summer Regent
1963 Burgos
1962 Nilarco
1961 Tulloch
1960 Tulloch
1959 Caesar
1958 Tulloch
1957 Empire Link
1956 Beaupa
1955 Prince Cortauld
1954 Lancaster
1953 Jan
1952 Aristocrat
1951 Playboy
1950 Hurry Up
1949 Carbon Copy
1948 Russia
1947 Russia
1946 Flight
1945 Craigie
1944 Katanga
1943 Race Not Held
1942 Race Not Held
1941 Beau Vite
1940 Mosaic
1939 Defaulter
1938 Old Rowley
1937 Allunga
1936 Silver Ring
1935 Master Brierly
1934 Rogilla
1933 Peter Pan
1932 Veilmond
1931 The Dimmer
1930 Phar Lap
1929 Strephon
1928 Limerick
1927 Limerick
1926 Windbag
1925 Windbag
1924 Rapine
1923 David
1922 David
1921 David
1920 Poitrel
1919 Poitrel
1918 Lanius
1917 Kandos
1916 Greencap
1915 Ulva’s Isle
1914 Cagou
1913 Harpist
1912 Trafalgar
1911 Trafalgar
1910 Prince Foote
1909 Trafalgar
1908 Poseidon
1907 Dividend
1906 Tartan
1905 Emir
1904 Lord Cardigan
1903 The Victory
1902 Wakeful
1901 La Carabine
1900 La Carabine
1899 Merloolas
1898 Amberite
1897 Newhaven
1896 The Harvester
1895 Havoc
1894 Light Artillery
1893 The Admiral
1892 La Tosca
1891 Carbine
1890 Carbine
1889 Carbine
1888 Abercorn
1887 Trident
1886 Matchlock
1885 Reginald
1884 Legrand
1883 Plunger
1882 The Drummer
1881 Progress
1880 Caspian
1879 Chester
1878 Chester
1877 Robinson Crusoe
1876 Robin Hood
1875 Lurline
1974 Dagworth
1873 Dagworth
1872 Hamlet
1871 Tim Whiffler
1870 Tim Whiffler
1869 The Barb
1868 Tim Whiffler
1867 Fishhook
1866 Cossack
1865 Canobie
1864 Tarragon
1863 Tarragon
1862 Archer
1861 Talleyrand
1860 Gratis
1859 Strop
1858 Zoe
1857 Veno
1856 Cooramin
1855 Vanguard
1854 Sportsman
1853 Sportsman
1852 Cossack
1851 Cossack

Comments are closed.