The Q22

Group Two Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, June 11, 2022
Location: Eagle Farm Racecourse
Prize Money: $1,200,000
Distance: 2200m

The Q22 is Queensland’s second richest race worth $1.2 million under Weight-for-Age conditions at Group 2 level over 2200m at Eagle Farm.

Initially work shopped by Racing Queensland in 2019, the Q22 is a new race that’s part of a rejuvenated Brisbane winter carnival, one that was fully on again in 2021 following Covid-19 lockdowns in 2020.

In an attempt to get three-year-olds to race into The Q22, Racing Queensland will offer $100,000 in cash or $250,000 QTISx vouchers to any horse that runs first or second in the Group 1 Queensland Derby or Queensland Oaks and then back it up to run top-three in The Q22.

To ensure the quality of runners in the race, Racing Queensland announced there are six “win and you’re in” races offering a ballot exemption to the Q22. These races are the Queensland Guineas, Doomben Cup, Queensland Derby, Lord Mayor’s Cup, Queensland Sapphire Stakes and the Queensland Oaks.

The inaugural running of The Q22 was won by the Annabel Neasham-trained Zaaki, with James McDonald on board in 2022.

2022 The Q22 betting odds

Zaaki wins The Q22 at Eagle Farm
Zaaki took out the inaugural Q22 in 2021, who will join him on the honour roll in 2022?

2022 The Q22 odds as of June 11 look like this:

  • Huetor – $3.30
  • Maximal – $5.50
  • Hopeful – $8.50
  • Great House – $9.50
  • The Chosen One – $11.00
  • Numerian – $13.00
  • Le Don De Vie – $19.00
  • Kolding – $21.00

Complete Q22 odds available at Bet365.

Best bookmakers for The Q22

Considering The Q22 is on the same day as the Stradbroke Handicap and the J.J.Atkins, a majority of bookmakers will have markets out for The Q22 a couple of months out from when the barriers open at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

Betting on The Q22 is only going to grow in popularity over the years and considering the prizemoney on offer, bookies will be keen to have market open early in the lead-up to the 2200m event.

You can bet on these markets via both computer, telephone and even via online betting apps, which are the most common way Aussies bet in 2022.

These bookmakers offer markets on the The Q22 horse race:

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Latest The Q22 News

Numerian wins The Q22
For a second year in a row, Annabel Neasham has trained the winner of The Q22, this time Numerian has ...
Read More
Today's horse racing tips & best bets | June 11, 2022
12 horse racing meetings are scheduled around Australia today. See the top tips, best odds and quaddie selections for free ...
Read More
The Fearless One
Leading jockey Craig Grylls has been collecting plenty of frequent-flyer points over the last few weeks, and he will return ...
Read More
Eagle Farm racing tips
HorseBetting's Queensland racing analyst brings you his race-by-race preview for Stradbroke Handicap Day at Eagle Farm, including best bets, quaddie ...
Read More
Q22 racing preview, top odds & best bets | June 11, 2022
First run in 2021, the $1.2 million Q22 has attracted a field of 16 for this year's edition. The rich ...
Read More
2018 Magyar St Leger
Following a 2.85-length defeat in the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2100m) on May 28, Matthew Smith is hoping that his ...
Read More

The Q22 Final Field 2022

No. Silks Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 The Chosen One Andrew Forsman Opie Bosson 9 59kg
2 Kolding Chris Waller William Pike 11 59kg
3 Huetor Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 10 59kg
4 Numerian Annabel Neasham Tommy Berry 5 59kg
5 Yonkers Chris Waller Craig Williams 13 59kg
6 Great House Chris Waller James McDonald 15 59kg
7 Kukeracha Chris Waller James Orman 4 59kg
8 Le Don De Vie Ciaron Maher & David Eustace John Allen 12 59kg
9 Maximal John O’Shea Nash Rawiller 14 59kg
10 Ballistic Boy Chris Anderson Brad Stewart 16 59kg
11 Hopeful Annabel Neasham Rachel King 6 59kg
12 Criaderas James Cummings Sam Clipperton 4 59kg
13 London Banker Kelly Schweida Jamie Kah 8 59kg
14 Esti Feny Matthew Smith Jason Collett 1 59kg
15 Polly Grey Chris Waller Tim Clark 2 57kg
16 Coventina Bay Robbie Patterson Craig Grylls 3 57kg

Previous The Q22 Fields

As the race grows in stature, the field will attract even more superstars as the years go on. Here is what the inaugural field for the Q22 looked like.

  • No. Silks Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
    1 Zaaki Annabel Neasham James McDonald 9 59kg
    2 Homesman Anthony & Sam Freedman Jye McNeil 11 59kg
    3 Mirage Dancer Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Glen Boss 1 59kg
    4 Spirit Ridge Mark Newnham Joshua Parr 2 59kg
    5 Quick Thinker Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Opie Bosson 12 59kg
    6 Warning Anthony & Sam Freedman Jim Byrne 6 59kg
    7 Brandenburg John Sargent Rachel King 10 59kg
    8 Le Don De Vie Anthony & Sam Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 8 59kg
    9 Reloaded Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 5 59kg
    10 Hang Man Michael Moroney Ben Thompson 3 59kg
    11 Paths Of Glory Richard & Michael Freedman Craig Williams 13 59kg
    12 The Candy Man Barry Baldwin Brad Stewart 16 59kg
    13 Nettoyer Wendy Roche Tommy Berry 7 57kg
    14 Toffee Tongue Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 15 57kg
    15 Vanna Girl Toby & Trent Edmonds Brad Stewart 4 57kg
    16 Cellarmaid Kelly Schweida James Orman 14 57kg

2021 The Q22 result

1stZaaki ($1.26)
2ndHomesman ($3.60)
3rdPaths Of Glory ($5.50)

Recent The Q22 results

  • Having won the Hollindale Stakes and then the Doomben Cup, the Annabel Neasham-trained Zaaki was always going to take some beating in the first running of The Q22. Having won the Doomben Cup by seven-lengths, Zaaki managed to put a more conservative 1.5 lengths on his rivals to claim the majority of the $1.2 million on offer in the Q22. Zaaki settled on the back of race leader Reloaded and when asked to go, Zaaki responded under James McDonald and simply never looked like getting beaten.

Q22 past winners list

The Q22 Past Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2021 Zaaki James McDonald Annabel Neasham
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments