Doomben Cup

Doomben Cup

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, May 22, 2021
Location: Doomben Racecourse
Prize Money: $700,000
Distance: 2000m

The Doomben Cup is a group 1 weight-for-age race that will be run over a distance of 2000m at Doomben Racecourse.

Boasting a purse $700,000 The Doomben Cup features a number Australia’s best race horses, who venture north for the Queensland Winter Carnival.

It was first run as the BATC Doomben Cup from 1933-1982, then as the XXXX Cup between 1983-1987 then as the Channel 9 Cup in 1988, before reverting back to XXXX Cup until 1991.

Having won the race in 1991, Rough Habit won it again in 1992, the same year it was renamed the Doomben Cup, the name it still goes by today.

The 2020 Doomben Cup was cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

2021 Doomben Cup betting odds

Kenedna was an impressive back in 2019, who will join the mare on the honour roll with a win in 2021?

Sir Dragonet and Mugatoo will renew their rivalry in the 2021 Doomben Cup and the star performers in the 2020/21 racing season share the top line of betting in all-in markets with $5 available with online bookmakers.

The experienced duo of Avilius and Melody Belle are on the second line of betting with $8 on offer, whilst Zaaki is the only other run in single figures for the Doomben Cup

Betting on the Doomben Cup

The Doomben Cup as a Group 1 race has a huge following from punters around the country. This means bookies pay a lot of attention to it for weeks leading up to the event.

Take a look at at the bookmakers below so you can make an informed decision.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Betting on the Doomben Cup

Two weeks before the Doomben Cup, the Hollindale Stakes run over 1800m at the Gold Coast, is held. This race has proven to be a strong indicator of who will contend in the Doomben Cup.

Five horses have won the Hollindale Stakes-Doomben Cup double since 2002, with ten horses in total having run at the Gold Coast lead-up before winning the feature at Doomben.

The five to have completed the double are Streama, Metal Bender, Above Deck, Bush Padre and Mr Bureaucrat.

Other races which have indicated the winner of the Doomben Cup include the The Queen of the South, the Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Prime Minister’s Cup.

The most successful trainers in the Doomben Cup are New Zealand’s John Wheeler, who trained Rough Habit to his hatrick of victories, and Chris Waller who has had a stranglehold on the race since 2010.

2019 Doomben Cup result

1stKenedna ($10.00)
2ndLife Less Ordinary ($2.60)
3rdSixties Groove ($6.00)

Recent runnings of The Doomben Cup

  • It took an inch perfect ride from jockey John Allen to help claim Keneda’s second Group 1 of her autumn/winter campaign. Following her win in the Coolmore Legacy five weeks earlier the Maher & Eustace-trained mare saluted as a $10 chance in the Doomben Cup. When entering the home straight, Allen opted to dart Kenedna back to the fence with clear running, and the move proved to be successful as she went on to hold out the fast finishing Life Less Ordinary and Sixties Groove.
  • After a bitterly disappointing run in the Group 2 Hollidale Stakes on the Gold Coast, Chris Waller-trained Comin’ Through was a $9 outsider coming into the race. It was the four-year-old and stablemate Egg Tart that came away in the latter stages to fight out the finish however, with Comin’ Through living up to his name in strong fashion.
  • Sense Of Occasion relished conditions best at Doomben and punters got some juicy odds. The Kris Lees-trained stayer capped off some good form in the Doncaster and Queen Elizabeth by winning the Doomben Cup at odds of $9.20. Read the race report.
  • Our Ivanhowe ($16) saluted for the Freedman stable with Kerrin McEvoy in the saddle. The barnstorming late run helped the Freedman’s to their fifth win in the race and their second group 1 since the brothers combined their training talents. The victory came over the top Godolphin pair Hauraki ($3.20) and It’s Somewhat ($5.50). Read a full report.
  • Import Pornichet, trained by Gai Waterhouse, trounced the local horses to win the Doomben Cup. At the turn, jockey Blake Shinn, requested the four year old move forward and the bay didn’t disappoint with a blistering run on the straight to easily win. Chris Waller’s Weary and I’m Imposing rounded out the placings.
  • Blake Shinn rode the Guy Walter-trained Streama to her fourth group 1 victory. Ridden to perfection by Shinn, Streama got the perfect sit behind Leebaz and powered away in the straight to win by three quarters of a length. Leebaz and Junoob filled out the minor placings.
  • Chris Waller’s Beaten Up made a successful switch to Australian soil after beginning his career in Britain. Beaten Up, paying $9, was ridden by Leith Innes with another Waller import, Foreteller, finishing second with Secret Admirer back in third.

List of Doomben Cup winners

Doomben Cup Past Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2020 Race Not Held
2019 Kenedna John Allen Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
2018 Comin’ Through Michael Walker Chris Waller
2017 Sense Of Occasion Corey Brown Kris Lees
2016 Our Ivanhowe Kerrin McEvoy Lee & Anthony Freedman
2015 Pornichet Blake Shinn Gai Waterhouse
2014 Streama Blake Shinn Guy Walter
2013 Beaten Up Leith Innes Chris Waller
2012 Mawingo Nash Rawiller Anthony Freedman
2011 Scenic Shot Shane Scriven Daniel Morton
2010 Metal Bender Kerrin McEvoy Chris Waller
2009 Scenic Shot Shane Scriven Daniel Morton
2008 Sarrera Damien Oliver Michael Moroney
2007 Cinque Cento Steven Arnold Peter Moody
2006 Above Deck Mark Zahra Jim Conlan
2005 Perlin Danny Nikolic Graeme Rogerson
2004 Defier Hugh Bowman Guy Walter
2003 Bush Padre Michael Rodd Lee Freedman
2002 Mr. Bureaucrat Adrian Robinson Warwick Hailes
2001 King Keitel Brian York Paul Jenkins
2000 Akhenation Glen Boss Bill Mitchell

Doomben Cup Past Winners Pre 2000

Doomben Cup Past Winners Pre 2000
Year Horse
1999 Intergaze
1998 Might and Power
1997 Sapio
1996 Juggler
1995 Danewin
1994 Durbridge
1993 Rough Habit
1992 Rough Habit
1991 Rough Habit
1990 Eye Of The Sky
1989 Abstraction
1988 Lord Hybrow
1987 Dandy Andy
1986 Les’ Choice
1985 Mr. Trick
1984 Hussar’s Command
1983 Lord Seaman
1982 Double You Em
1981 Pelican Point
1980 Golden Rhapsody
1979 Waitangirua
1978 Marceau
1977 Grey Affair
1976 Cheyne Walk
1975 Golden Khan
1974 Lord Ben
1973 Lord Nelson
1972 Knee High
1971 Tails
1970 Divide And Rule
1969 Dual Control
1968 Sandy’s Hope
1967 Bore Head
1966 Winfreux
1965 River Seine
1964 Striking Force
1963 Maspero
1962 Samson
1961 High Society
1960 Earlwood
1959 Earlwood
1958 Book Link
1957 Prince Delville
1956 Fair Chance
1955 Persian Link
1954 Euphrates
1953 French Echo
1952 Tossing
1951 Gay Felt
1950 Dream
1949 Rio Fe
1948 Forge
1947 Dark Marne
1946 Bernborough
1945 Repshot
1944 Bahtheon
1943 Qualeta
1942 Wiseland
1941 Lord Valentine
1940 Beaulivre
1939 Cooranga
1938 Brown Lance
1937 First Buzzard
1936 Verdun
1935 Serlodi
1934 Whittingham
1933 Pentheus
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments