Queen Of The Turf Stakes

Queen Of The Turf Stakes

The Championships Day 2 – Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, April 13, 2019
Location: Royal Randwick, Sydney
Prize Money: $1 Million
Distance: 1,600m

The Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes, also known as The Coolmore Legacy Stakes, is a weight-for-age for fillies and mares held at Randwick Racecourse.

Prior to becoming part of The Championships in 2014 the race was held at Rosehill, over 1500m, before being switched to a mile at Randwick.

The other big change in the race’s recent history was in 2005 when the race conditions were switched from handicap to weight-for-age.

Some of the more well-known victors in the Queen Of The Turn Stakes are More Joyous (2011 & 2012), Typhoon Tracy (2010), Forensics (2008) and Divine Madonna (2007).

2019 Queen Of The Turf odds

Alizee wins the Christmas Stakes at Randwick on December 29, 2018. Source: Bradley Photos.

The market is having a hard time finding an outright favourite for the 2019 Queen Of The Turf Stakes.

Goldophin star Alizee ($5) is at the head of affairs at the online bookmaker BetEasy with Nakeeta Jane ($7) and Amphitrite ($8) sitting on the second and third line of betting.

Dixie Blossoms is at $9.50 and is the only other runner in single figures.

Best bookmakers for the Queen Of The Turf

All bookies boasting horse racing will have betting on The Championships, and with the Queen Of The Turf Stakes one of the bigger races over the two day carnival, it is a given that you will find extensive markets on this race.

Here are our top bookmaker picks for betting on the Queen Of The Turf Stakes. Click the links below to read our comprehensive bookmaker reviews or head straight to the bookies.

United States Queen Of The Turf Bookmakers

Queen Of The Turf Bookmakers

2019 Queen Of The Turf Stakes result

1stKenedna ($26)
2ndDixie Blossoms ($2.60)
3rdUnforgotten ($3.10)

Recent runnings of the Queen Of The Turf Stakes

  • In a wide-open Queen Of The Turf Stakes it was the Mahar and Eustace Kenedna that delivered in the final Group 1 of The Championships. As the race entered the final stages there were up to 10 winning chances but it was one of the outsiders that produced a withering burst to defeat the sentimental favourite Dixie Blossoms.
  • She wasn’t heavily favoured in the market but astute judges believed the filly could make an impact in the race. After getting well back on the turn the star came to the outside and quickly put the field to the sword to record a powerful win.
  • Foxplay was given the title of Queen of the Turf after winning the newly-named Coolmore Legacy in 2017. The Chris Waller-trained filly sustained a long sprint down the outside of runners to overhaul the early leaders Silent Sedition and First Seal which went out too hard in front. The filly was well-backed throughout the week, but was drifting late. Read the full report.
  • Damien Oliver had not enjoyed the best run of form during the Sydney Autumn, but that all changed with Azkadellia, who got a dream run down the rail. The $1.75 chance beat home Heavens Above by two lengths, with Noble Protector further back in third position.
  • Amanpour, trained by Gai Waterhouse and ridden by Kerrin McEvoy, produced a brilliant exhibition to salute by almost two lengths from Catkins, with Noble Protector, who would also finish third the following year, rounding out the minor placings. Amanpour had trouble when being loaded into the barriers and had to be backed out and vetted, but once the gates opened, she made the running and never looked back. It was another near miss for Catkins in a group 1 race.
  • Diamond Drille ($41) did it for an emotional Tommy Berry, who was still mourning the passing of his brother Nathan in a fall. Trained by Gai Waterhoue, Diamond Drille held off the John O’Shea-trained Gypsy Diamond by a short neck. Red Tracer, who produce a stunning run, failed to stay the 2000m and faded for third position. Favourite Catkins finished a disappointing sixth.
  • Appearance ($9) was too good for Red Tracer, who would go on to finish third the following year in the same race, while Streama was further back in third. Kerrin McEvoy pulled Appearance wide as they rounded the bend, before producing a strong finish to hit the lead and hold off Red Tracer who finished full of running. Appearance was trained by the late Guy Walter.
  • More Joyous did it again, after also winning the 2011 running of the race. Nash Rawiller pushed More Joyous forward from a wide draw, to sit outside the leader Red Tracer, before getting a nice run behind King’s Rose in the middle parts of the race. More Joyous then went three wide at the top of the straight. It hit the front at the 200m mark before charging away for an easy victory. Miss Keepsafe run on well to finish second, while King’s Rose finished third.

Past Queen Of The Turf Winners

Year Queen Of The Turf Past Winner
2019 Kenedna
2018 Alizee
2017 Foxplay
2016 Azkadellia
2015 Amanpour
2014 Diamond Drille
2013 Appearance
2012 More Joyous
2011 More Joyous
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2009 Neroli
2008 Forensics
2007 Divine Madonna
2006 Mnemosyne
2005 Ike’s Dream
2004 In A Bound
2003 Hosannah
2002 Ugachaka
2001 Sorrento
2000 Danglissa
1999 Camino Rose
1998 Arletty
1997 Kenbelle
1996 Shame
1995 Light Up The World
1994 The Perfume Garden
1993 Excited Angel
1992 Romanee Conti
1991 Ricochet Rosie
1990 Memphis Blues
1989 Special Finish
1988 Chez Paree
1987 Shinakima
1986 Harbor Flo
1985 Casual
1984 Tempestuous
1983 More Rain
1982 C’est Si Bon
1981 Ducatoon
1980 Scomeld
1979 Never Despair
1978 Lady Archon
1977 Piemelon Bay
1976 Visit
1975 Just Topic
1974 Favoured
1973 Millefleurs
1972 Refulgence

Comments are closed.