McEvoy wins again on Zipping Classic day

Jockey Kerrin McEvoy has continued his love affair with the Zipping Classic meeting by notching a winning treble at Sandown.

McEvoy has been a perennial winner at the annual late-spring meeting in the past decade and added to his haul with wins on Long Leaf, Yulong Xingsheng and Long Time Ago on Saturday’s 10-race program.

The star jockey has now ridden 18 winners at Zipping Classic meetings since 2007.

The Sydney-based jockey says he enjoys riding at Sandown but unfortunately doesn’t get the opportunities during the year.

“I love riding here and I actually miss riding here, so it’s always pleasing to come back here,” McEvoy said.

“It’s a good day’s racing and I enjoy it.

“I’ve had a bit of luck at this meeting over the years.

“It’s a nice big track which allows you to be patient.

“While positioning is still important you have a long run home which can offset any wide barriers.”

Long Leaf started McEvoy’s day with victory in the Listed Merson Cooper Stakes and the jockey said there was a lot to like about the colt who has won his only two starts.

McEvoy followed up aboard Yulong Xingsheng in the Group Three Twilight Glow Stakes in the second race.

The Kris Lees-trained runner scored a three-quarter length victory over So Far Sokool.

“She’s always shown a lot and it looked a nice race for her,” McEvoy said.

McEvoy had to wait for the final race to land his treble on the Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott-trained Long Time Ago who was first-up in the Summoned Stakes (1500m) and finished strongly to win by a neck.

“It was a fair effort by Gai and Adrian to have her there first-up,” McEvoy said.

“She’s always shown a bit and she’s strengthened and grown this preparation and she’s still improving.

“She’ll get out further in trip and who knows where she could end up.”


2017: Three winners – Long Leaf (Merson Cooper), Yulong Xingsheng (Twilight Glow), Long Time Ago (Summoned Stakes)

2016: One winner – Qewy (Sandown Cup)

2015: Three winners – Solicit (Summoned Stakes), Famous Seamus (Kevin Heffernan Stakes), Jackson (Merson Cooper Stakes)

2014: Two winners – Au Revoir (Zipping Classic), Zabisco (Eclipse Stakes)

2013 : One winner – Paximadia (Sandown Guineas). Meeting run at Caulfield.

2012: Two winners – Tatra (Sandown Guineas), Meidung (Twilight Glow Stakes)

2011: No winners

2010: No winners

2009: Two winners – Kidnapped (Sandown Guineas), Secession (Merson Cooper)

2008: Three winners – Caymans (Sandown Guineas), Bernicia (Summoned Stakes), Yesterday (Twilight Glow)

2007: One winner – Zip Baby Zip (Summoned Stakes).

Related Posts

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments