Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes

THE Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes is named in honour of the Mayalasian owner who has had great success in Australian racing, most notably partnering with Bart Cummings to win back-to-back Melbourne Cups with Think Big and also with Viewed in 2008.

This race was formerly known as the John Feehan Stakes, but was changed in 2005 to honour Dato Tan Chin Nam. It’s a 1600m weight-for-age race held at Moonee Valley in September and it’s a prominent lead-up race for the bigger spring carnival features such as the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

Some of Australia’s best thoroughbreds have won the race and punters love betting on a champion. It’s one of the most important spring races on the calendar so sign up to a bookmaker and get involved.

2019 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes betting odds

There are no markets yet available for the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes.

Horse Betting will update this page as soon as markets open.

Best Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes bookmakers

Betting doesn’t open for the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes until nominations are received in late August, but punters will get to bet into “all in” markets in early September.

All of our recommended bookmakers will frame markets for the race and punters will get the best value if they bet early in the month. Bookmaker specials will be available on the Dato Tan Chin Nam so check our bookmaker bonuses page during the week of the race.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes result

1stMagic Consul ($19)
2ndHomesman ($3.70)
3rdNight’s Watch ($1.60)

Recent runnings of the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes

  • Most anticipated the 2018 edition of the Dato Tan would be Night’s Watch’s coming out party, but it was Magic Consol that caused the upset. In a surging finish Magic Consol emerged from the pack late to topple US import Homesman and the Weir trained favourite.
  • 2017 New Zealand Horse of the Year Bonneval showed why it has that title when winning in 2017. The Baker/Forsman-trained runner opened in the markets at $9, but it has slammed into $4.80 at post time and it was far too strong for them. It sat near the rear of the field before swinging wide around the home turn and quickly ranging up to race-favourite He’s Our Rokki. Abbey Marie chased hard from off its heels, but multiple Oaks winner Bonneval had too much class.
  • Awesome Rock earned a ticket into the Cox Plate with a victory over a quality field at long odds. Ridden by Stephen Baster, who copped a 13-day suspension for blocking the run of another horse in the race, Awesome rock proved too strong for Real Love ($41) and Set Square ($8). Awesome Rock was trained by Troy and Leon Corstens. Read a full report.
  • The Cleaner made it back-to-back wins in this race by destroying a good field in 2015. Then trained by Mick Burles, the ‘people’s favourite’ went straight to the front and the tight-turning Moonee Valley track played right into its hands. Jockey Noel Callow kicked it two lengths clear at the 200m and it finished off nicely to win by 1.8 lengths over the Chris Waller-trained Bagman and Dibayani who was in third. The beaten brigade included Contributer, Mourinho and Foreteller so the race was strong.
  • The first of its two wins in this race, The Cleaner used the same tactics both years running. This time with Steven Arnold in the saddle, it kicked clear during the middle stages of the race and it held off a fast-finishing Mourinho who was trained by Peter Gelagotis (who now trains The Cleaner).
  • Fiorente showed that the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes can be a great guide for the Melbourne Cup. The Gai Waterhouse-trained horse won this race by a long head before winning the 2013 Melbourne Cup later that year. It may have only narrowly edged out Spacecraft on this occasion, but it was a key stepping stone for races later in the spring and punters should look for those potential staying types.
  • Happy Trails won in 2012 and later competed well in the big group one races during the spring. The Paul Beshara-trained gelding was well-favoured with punters throughout its career and it narrowly held off Green Moon which again showed the strength of this race as a lead-up to the Melbourne Cup. Green Moon later won the 2012 Melbourne Cup so punters need to overlook the distance and back the improving staying types.
  • Rekindled Interest was a four-year-old winner in 2011 and it denied Whobegotyou (third) three consecutive wins in the race. The well-bred son of Redoute’s Choice settled near the back of the field and improved around the turn before sprinting late to win by a length. It wasn’t the strongest field in its history, but a career highlight for the winner.

Dato Tan Chin Nam betting tips

Being scheduled in early spring, it allows a wide range of thoroughbreds to take their place. Punters will automatically look for the sprinter-miler types which have already had a run or two during the spring, but they should also look out of the stayers which will be competing in the Caulfield and Melbourne Cup.

We’ve seen the likes of Fiorente and Green Moon have success in this race before winning the Melbourne Cup two months later and resuming stayers can often run a slick 1600m race.

The Moonee Valley track often suits front running types like The Cleaner which won back-to-back in 2014/2015 and also Sunline which won from in front in 2000 before later winning the Cox Plate. Back markers have also had success, however, so it all depends on how the track is playing that day.

The rule of thumb when betting the Dato Tan Chin Nam is to back the good horses. With a past winners list that includes Naturalism, Sunline, Northerly, Whobegotyou and Fiorente – it pays to follow the champion horses which find a way to win.

Three-time Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva was also twice-placed in the Dato Tan Chin Nam.

Past Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes winners

Year Winner
2018 Magic Consol
2017 Bonneval
2016 Awesome Rock
2015 The Cleaner
2014 The Cleaner
2013 Fiorente
2012 Happy Trails
2011 Rekindled Interest
2010 Whobegotyou
2009 Whobegotyou
2008 Guillotine
2007 El Segundo
2006 Lad Of The Manor
2005 Lad Of The Manor
2004 Delzao
2003 Natural Blitz
2002 Fields Of Omagh
2001 Northerly
2000 Sunline
1999 Inaflury
1998 Aerosmith
1997 Arctic Scent
1996 Toil
1995 Beaux Art
1994 Tristalove
1993 Palace Reign
1992 Naturalism
1991 Mannerism
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments