Bow Mistress Trophy

The Bow Mistress Trophy is a group 3 race for fillies and mares aged 3-year-old and over, held at Tattersalls Park, Glenorchy, in Tasmania.

Raced under weight for age conditions on the turf, the Bow Mistress Trophy is named after the great Tasmania horse Bow Mistress.

The prize money for the race is $150,000 with it raced over 1200m around the left-handed track.

The next running of the Bow Mistress Trophy will be on February 3rd, 2017, while the 2016 race was taken out by Nautical.

Bow Mistress Trophy – Race history

This race is one of the best in Tasmania and one of only four group 3 races in the Apple Isle, the others being the Hobart Cup, Launceston Cup and the Vamos Stakes.

The fields have steadily improved over the years for the Bow Mistress as the prize money grew, especially since the race was given group 3 status in 2012. It is regarded as the best race for fillies and mares in the state.

Generally the winner and place getters in the race will go on to the Vamos Stakes. Several horses have won the Bow Mistress-Vamos Stakes double including Lady Lynette in 2011.

2019 Bow Mistress Trophy betting odds

Miss Norway ridden by Luke Currie wins the The Mary Bell at Caulfield Racecourse on January 26, 2019 in Caulfield, Australia. (Ross Holburt/Racing Photos)

Miss Norway is the $2.70 favourite with online bookmaker BetEasy to win the 2019 Bow Mistress.

The Scott Brunton-trained Life On The Wire is at the $6 quote while Gee Gee Double Dee is at the $14 mark.

Best bookmakers for Bow Mistress Trophy betting

Australians can wager on all metropolitan and country meetings at respected online bookmakers, licensed and regulated by bodies like the Northern Territory.

The Bow Mistress Trophy will generally have odds out for it about a week in advance at most bookies but you will struggle to find futures available.

It pays to use services like odds comparison to find the best odds on the Bow Mistress Trophy.

The following betting sites are our favoured options to bet on Australian horse racing.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Bow Mistress Trophy result

1stLife On The Wire ($3.60)
2ndSpeedonova ($3.60)
3rdTwitchy Frank ($2)

Recent Bow Mistress runnings

  • 2019:
    After jumping away sharply from the outside it was only a matter of how far for Life On The Wire. The star galloper raced just outside the speed early on before streaking away at the top of the straight to record a strong win ahead of the fast finishing Speedonova and Twitchy Frank.
  • 2018:
    Gogo Grace was one of the favoured runners heading into the 2018 Bow Mistress and mare didn’t let the backers down. Settling in the middle half of the field for the majority of the race, Dean Yendall unleashed the mare not long after the 400m and Gogo Grace steamed away, recording a 4.5 length victory.
  • 2017:
    Ocean Embers was heavily-backed in the lead-up to the 2017 Bow Mistress and it proved to be the right move from punters. Jockey Jason Bendow settled the quality runner at the tail of the field before he pulled it wide and launched with a big run to down race-favourite and Darren Weir-trained runner Lyuba near the line. The win saw a return to form for Ocean Embers which showed great promise in Victoria last year. We talked to winning trainer Shea Eden before the race.
  • 2016:
    Trainer Nikki Burke saluted with Nautical in the latest Bow Mistress, despite going off her food in the day’s prior to the race, since arrive in Hobart from Melbourne. Brad Rawiller steered Nautical with a perfectly timed run, beating home the previous year’s winner I Love It by a nose, with Erin’s Element $11, finishing strongly to claim third.
  • 2015:
    I Love It saluted for Caulfield trainer John Salanitri, defeating a quality 14 horse field. I Love It was the $5 punters’ elect and Stephen Baster made many happy with a great ride. I Love It, by the finish line, had put almost four lengths between her and second-placed local hope Miss Middleton ($8.20) and Lady Lakshmi ($7.70)
  • 2014:
    Isibaeva was too strong in the 2014 running, winning easily over a strong field.
  • 2013:
    In its final year as a listed race, before becoming a group 3, Leon Wells-trained Rebel Bride won her second successive Bow Mistress. The five year old, ridden by Stephen Maskiell, defeated Tariana by a half length, while Rose Pattern was further back in third.

Bow Mistress Stakes past winners

Year Winner
2019 Life On The Wire
2018 Gogo Grace
2017 Ocean Embers
2016 Nautical
2015 I Love It
2014 Isibaeva
2013 Rebel Bride
2012 Rebel Bride
2011 Lady Lynette
2010 Dollops
2009 Flying Ruby
2008 Diamond Cove
2007 Oceano
2006 Con’s Amy

Comments are closed.