Victoria Derby

Victoria Derby

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, November 02, 2019
Location: Flemington Racecourse
Prize Money: $2 Million
Distance: 2,500m

The Victoria Derby kicks off the four day Flemington leg of the Melbourne Spring Carnival. The Derby headlines the day which also includes The Coolmore, Mackinnon Stakes and The Classic.

From 1855 to 1971, the race was a 2400 metre chase, but the extra 100 metres was added in 1973. The pretty-named Rose of May was the first winner of the race, 160 years ago.

One of the toughest races to win, only won horse has saluted more than once, with Fireworks storming home in 1867 and 1868.

The Derby is one of the most popular days of the Melbourne spring racing carnival.

You will routinely find 100,000 punters or more packing the stands at Flemington for the event, as 16 runners attempt to claim the derby.

Pointers to this race include the group two AAMI Vase, with last year’s winner Tarzino (2015), Efficient (2006), Plastered (2004), Helenus (2002), Blevic (1994) and Raveneaux (1986) all coming through the Moonee Valley race.

Efficient nabbed both races in 2006 and went on to win the the year after.

2019 Victoria Derby Odds

There are no odds currently available for the 2019 Victoria Derby.

Check back closer to the race date for detailed markets.

Best Victoria Derby bookmakers

The Victoria Derby is one of the most popular races on the Australian thoroughbred racing calendar and there’s no shortage of action on the group 1 event.

The team at Horse Betting has compiled comprehensive reviews of our trusted online bookmakers which all offer markets on the Victoria Derby.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Most successful trainers and jockeys in the Victoria Derby

Damien Oliver
Champion jockey Damien Oliver is no stranger to success in the Derby.

Legendary trainer James Scobie claimed a remarkable eight Victoria Derby’s, the first in 1900 and the last 37 years later in 1937.

The great Bobbie Lewis had plenty to thank Scobie for, piloting five of his winners home in a glittering career.
Damien Oliver has won the race five times.

Cups king Bart Cummings has trained the winner of the Victoria Derby seven times, with the last of his wins coming in 1987 with Omnicorp.

In modern times Lee Freedman is the pick of the trainers, having won it three times since 1983, with Benicio (2005), Portland Player (1996) and Mahogany (1993).

has also been a prominent trainer in the great race, with Kings High (1988) and Kibbutz (2007) giving him two victories.

Here are the leading trainers and jockeys in the Victoria Derby with stats accurate from 1983 onwards.

2018 Victoria Derby result

1stExtra Brut ($12)
2nd ($3.50)
3rdChapada ($4.30)

Victoria Derby – Recent runnings

  • In a brutally run Victoria Derby, Darren Weir and John Allen combined to get Extra Brut home. The leaders went very hard early doors and Extra Brut was content to let those at the front run themselves into the ground. As they wilted at the top of the straight Extra Brut pounced, claiming the lead at the 200m before fighting off all comers to record a famous win.
  • Ace High showed why the Sydney form was so well respected in the lead-up to the 2017 Victoria Derby. The David Payne-trained three-year-old was positioned out three wide by jockey Tye Angland, but its class prevailed as it powered away for an easy victory. Sully battled on well for second after sitting just off the pace set by Weather with You and Astoria finished off well to continue the strong Sydney form.
  • James Cummings continued the strong tradition of Victoria Derby winners when he lined up Prized Icon to victory at Flemington. The three-year-old had been consistent throughout its career which included a placing behind Yankee Rose in the and it continued to excellent form by Sydney-trained horses at the Melbourne spring carnival.
  • What a run it was from the favourite. Piloted home by top hoop Craig Newitt, Tarzino stormed to victory over Etymology and Kia Ora. On the home straight, he came down the outside and streaked away from the field to salute.
  • Another D. Oliver special, Preferment, an $8.50 chance, gave the gun jockey his fifth Victoria Derby, fighting off a superb challenge from Bondeiger ($11) and ($41). The son of the all time great Zabeel, Preferment knocked over the $2.45 favourite Hampton Court, who did not fire a shot.
  • A three year old bay colt that cost just $4000 came home to win the 2013 incarnation of the race. A feel good story, Polanski never looked like losing on the way home, fending off Complacent by three lengths, with Thunder Fantasy third.
  • Favourite Its A was rolled by a Fiveandahalfstar effort from a $25 outsider. The Anthony Cummings trained Fiveandahalfstar beat out Cool and Rawnaq to give Oliver yet another win in the big race.

Previous Victoria Derby winners

Victoria Derby past winners
Year Victoria Derby Past Winner
2018 Extra Brut
2017 Ace High
2016 Prized Icon
2015 Tarzino
2014 Preferment
2013 Polanski
2012 Fiveandahalfstar
2011 Sangster
2010 Lion Tamer
2009 Monaco Consul
2008 Rebel Raider
2007 Kibbutz
2006 Efficient
2005 Benicio
2004 Plastered
2003 Elvstroem
2002 Helenus
2001 Amalfi
2000 Hit The Roof
1999 Blackfriars
1998 Arena
1997 Second Coming
1996 Portland Player
1995 Nothin’ Leica Dane
1994 Blevic
1993 Mahogany
1992 Redding
1991 Star Of The Realm
1990 Fire Oak
1989 Stylish Century
1988 King’s High
1987 Omnicorp
1986 Raveneaux
1985 Handy Proverb
1984 Red Anchor
1983 Bounty Hawk
1982 Grosvenor
1981 Brewery Boy
1980 Sovereign Red
1979 Big Print
1978 Dulcify
1977 Stormy Rex
1976 Unaware
1975 Galena Boy
1974 Haymaker
1973 Taj Rossi
1972 Dayana
1971 Classic Mission
1970 Silver Sharpe
1969 Daryl’s Joy
1968 Always There
1967 Savoy
1966 Khalif
1965 Tobin Bronze
1964 Royal Sovereign
1963 Craftsman
1962 Coppelius
1961 New Statesman
1960 Sky High
1959 Travel Boy
1958 Sir Blink
1956 Monte Carlo
1955 Sailor’s Guide
1954 Pride Of Egypt
1953 Prince Morvi
1952 Advocate
1951 Hydrogen
1950 Alister
1949 Delta
1948 Comic Court
1947 Beau Gem
1946 Prince Standard
1945 Magnificent
1944 San Martin
1943 Precept
1942 Great
1941 Skipton
1940 Lucrative
1939 Reading
1938 Nuffield
1937 Hua
1936 Talking
1935 Feldspar
1934 Theo
1933 Hall Mark
1932 Liberal
1931 Johnnie Jason
1930 Balloon King
1928 Strephon
1927 Trivalve
1926 Rampion
1925 Manfred
1924 Spearfelt
1923 Frances Tressady
1922 Whittier
1921 Furious
1920 Salitros
1919 Richmond Main
1918 Eusebius
1917 Biplane
1916 Wolaroi
1915 Patrobas
1914 Carlita
1913 Beragoon
1912 Wolawa
1911 Wilari
1910 Beverage
1909 Prince Foote
1908 Alawa
1907 Mountain King
1906 Poseidon
1905 Lady Wallace
1904 Sylvanite
1903 F.J.A
1902 Abundance
1901 Hautvilliers
1900 Maltster
1899 Merriwee
1898 Cocos
1897 Amberite
1896 Newhaven
1895 Wallace
1894 The Harvester
1893 Carnage
1892 Carmoola
1891 Strathmore
1890 The Admiral
1889 Dreadnaught
1888 Ensign
1887 The Australian Peer
1886 Trident
1885 Nordenfeldt
1884 Rufus
1883 Martini Henry
1882 Darebin
1881 Grand Flaneur
1880 Suwarrow
1879 Wellington
1878 Chester
1877 Briseis
1876 Robin Hood
1875 Melbourne
1874 Lapidist
1873 Loup Garou
1872 Miss Jessie
1871 Florence
1870 Charon
1869 My Dream
1868 Fireworks
1867 Fireworks
1866 Sea Gull
1865 Angler
1864 Lantern
1863 Oriflamme
1862 Barwon
1861 Camden
1860 Flying Colours
1859 Buzzard
1858 Brownlock
1857 Tricolor
1856 Flying Doe
1855 Rose Of May
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments