Nathan Berry Medal

Named after the late Nathan Berry, the Nathan Berry Medal is awarded to the most successful jockey over the two days of The Championships held at Royal Randwick in early April each year.

Berry, who tragically passed away in April 2014 was a popular jockey in the NSW locker room and with twin brother Tommy Berry deemed one of the best jockey’s in the country, the Berry legacy is further etched into Australian Racing folklore with the Nathan Berry Medal.

Hugh Bowman has managed to claim the Nathan Berry Medal on four occasions

The Nathan Berry Medal is awarded to the most jockey who records the most points over the two days of The Championships.

The point score is determined on a 3-2-1 basis across the eagerly anticipated 12 Group races which includes the Finals of the Country and Provincial Championships, with the winner announced at the completion of Day 2 of The Championships.

Three points are awarded to the jockey winning the race, with second and third places picking up two points and one point respectively.

Nathan Berry Medal news

Zougotcha narrowly got the better of stable companion Atishu in the shadows of the post to claim the Group 1 ...
Think It Over
A winning double on Day 2 of The Championships for Nash Rawiller was enough for the champion hoop to win ...
Top jockeys set to battle it out for Nathan Berry Medal
Australia's top riders will be competing for the Nathan Berry Medal during The Championships, which kick off on Saturday, April ...

Betting on the Nathan Berry Medal

All the major Australian-licensed bookies will have wagering on all races eligible engaged in the point-scoring process for the Nathan Berry Medal.

The following online bookmakers are our favourites to bet on Australian racing, you can follow the links to read comprehensive reviews of each.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Who is Nathan Berry?

Nathan BerryNathan Berry was a jockey based in NSW who managed to ride 351 winners during his time in the saddle.

Berry’s biggest win came when partnering Unencumbered to victory in the 2014 Magic Millions 2YO Classic.

Nathan had also won Group Three races on Malavio (Tramway Stakes), Va Pensiero (Run to the Rose) and Unencumbered (McLachlan Stakes).

Berry tragically passed away at 23 following a battle with illness in April 2014, having been based in Singapore in the lead-up to his passing.

Nathan Berry Medal History

The Nathan Berry Medal is unique as it features his initials ‘NJB’ on the medal in the same font Nathan had on his racing jodhpurs, and is adorned by a dark & light blue ribbon – the colours he carried on Unencumbered in the Magic Millions 2YO Classic.

Fittingly, Nathan’s twin brother Tommy Berry took out the inaugural Nathan Berry Medal when finishing in a tie with James McDonald in 2014.

Hugh Bowman has been the one to follow when it comes to winning the medal, with the legendary hoop taking home the prized award on four seperate occasions.

James McDonald is the only other jockey to have won the Nathan Berry Medal multiple times, with the jockey claiming in 2014 & 2021.

Nathan Berry Medal Eligible Races

There are 12 races eligible for jockey’s to gain points in the 3-2-1 scoring system for the Nathan Berry Medal:

Past Winners of the Nathan Berry Medal

Nathan Berry Medal Past Winners
Year Horse
2022 Nash Rawiller
2021 James McDonald
2020 Glen Boss
2019 Hugh Bowman
2018 Blake Shinn
2017 Hugh Bowman
2016 Hugh Bowman
2015 Hugh Bowman
2014 Tommy Berry / James McDonald

Comments are closed.