Memsie Stakes

Memsie Stakes

Group One Betting Guide
Date: August 31, 2019
Location: Caulfield Racecourse
Prize Money: $1 Million
Distance: 1,400m

The Group 1 Memsie Stakes is the first Group 1 of the Victorian racing season and is one of the premiere sprint races in country.

The 1400m weight-for-age event has a purse of $1 million and is a major lead-in race to the spring carnival features which include the Cox Plate at Moonee Valley in October.

Gaining Group 1 status in 2013 after the victory of Sincero a year prior, the Memsie Stakes features a long list of champion winners and it provided them with a good starting point for the new season.

Markets typically open mid-year for the Memsie Stakes, once bookmakers get a better feel of which horses will be competing in the Melbourne spring carnival. With the Memsie Stakes being a major form race for the likes of the Cox Plate, bookmakers will offer plenty of betting options and Memsie Stakes promotions leading into the race.

2019 Memsie Stakes betting

There are no odds available for the 2019 Memsie Stakes.

Horse Betting will update this page as soon as markets open for the middle distance event.

Betting on the Memsie Stakes

The Memsie Stakes is loved by punters as the favourites have performed well in the past. Six of the last 10 favourites have won with an average price of $3.29 and only one of 10 have failed to fill a placing.

Only three winners since 1983 have paid double figures which included Dissident in 2014. The worst finish by a favourite was Poetic King (11th) and champion Octagonal which finished a disappointing seventh as the $1.80 favourite.

Betting on the Memsie Stakes is made easy when using our recommended bookmakers and punters can bet early when the market is released. Below are our top bookmakers which will all offer Memsie Stakes fixed odds betting.

Best Memsie Stakes bookmakers

Given the Memsie Stakes is the first Group 1 cab off the rank in Victoria, it’s understandable that the punters make plenty of moves in this race.

All our trusted bookmakers offer markets on the sprint race well in advance of the race date. You can find our comprehensive reviews below.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Memsie Stakes result

1stHumidor ($21)
2ndKementari ($1.70)
3rdKings Will Dream ($3.20)

Recent Memsie Stakes results

  • In a field filled with Group 1 talent everywhere you look it was the Darren Weir-trained Humidor that registered the first major title of the 2018/19 Melbourne spring. Short-priced favourite Vega Magic looked to have the race sewn up at the 200m mark but a charge of horses came, including Weir’s Australian Cup winner. Humidor surged up the inside and recorded a brilliant win at huge odds.
  • Lindsay Park sprinter Vega Magic was considered one of Australia’s best sprinters, but many put him at the top of the list after a dominant Memsie win. After jumping well Vega Magic took to the front of the field and was never headed. The champ railed beautifully and kicked away at the 300m mark to win from Black Heart Bart and Tosen Stardom.
  • Darren Weir had a four-horse charge in 2016 and it was Black Heart Bart which prevailed. A strong pace was set up front by Charmed Harmony which allowed the multiple group-one winner to charge late. Cups aspirant Rising Romance battled on well for second and Mahuta put in a seasons-best effort for third. Black Heart Bart was the clear $2 favourite in the market.
  • South African jockey Glyn Schofield provided an absolute gem of a ride aboard Boban to score the win in 2015. Boban had been well-favoured in the betting at $4.50, but it looked beaten during the run as it was cramped for room along the inside. Schofield didn’t panic, however, and produced a great rails-run ride to give five-time group one winner Boban the victory.
  • The Peter Moody-trained Dissident came into the Memsie Stakes as a $10 chance with bookmakers, but no-one told the horse that. Dissident stalked the pace before pulling three wide around the Caulfield home bend and produced a scintillating sprint to score the easy win. That kick-started what was an Australian Horse of the Year-winning season for Dissident which added another four group 1s to its list. The $10 price was the longest odds in the last 10 years.
  • Atlantic Jewel won three group ones in a career cut short by injury. The mare won nine of 10 starts which featured the 2013 Memsie Stakes and what a race that was. Coming back from a 16-month break, Atlantic Jewel was the red-hot favourite to win, but not many believed it would trounce the field with distinct ease. The champion mare breezed up to its rivals on the turn and jockey Michael Rodd didn’t even move a muscle. It won by two lengths easing down and could have won by 10. It was one of the best modern-day performances we have ever seen and one that deserves more attention.
  • Sincero came into the Group 2 2012 Memsie Stakes as a former group one winner and its run for fourth in the Doncaster Handicap earlier that year gave punters confidence to make it the $2.50 favourite. Sincero was a fan favourite, coming from the provincials to win some of Australia’s biggest races and the Memsie Stakes was the last race Sincero ever won. Sadly it was never the same horse again, but what a way to bring up its last win.
  • Peter Moody scores another Memsie Stakes with King’s Rose which fought off numerous challengers down the Caulfield straight. Bookmakers closed it at $6.50 in the betting as the Memsie Stakes field was very even that year. The talented type proved too tough over Heart Of Dreams which was a more than capable type in its own right.

Previous Memsie Stakes winners

Memsie Stakes past winners
Year Memsie Stakes Past Winner
2018 Humidor
2017 Vega Magic
2016 Black Heart Bart
2015 Boban
2014 Dissident
2013 Atlantic Jewel
2012 Sincero
2011 King’s Rose
2010 So You Think
2009 Mic Mac
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Miss Finland
2006 El Segundo
2005 Makybe Diva
2004 Regal Roller
2003 Le Zagaletta
2002 Magical Miss
2001 Sunline
2000 Sunline
1999 Sir Boom
1998 Dane Ripper
1997 Tarnpir Lane
1996 Sir Boom
1995 Island Morn
1994 Bundy Lad
1993 Palace Reign
1992 Naturalism
1991 Redelva
1990 The Phantom
1989 Almurtajaz
1988 Rancho Ruler
1987 Rubiton
1986 Dazzling Duke
1985 Delightful Belle
1984 King Delamere
1983 Red Tempo
1982 Manikato
1981 Silver Bounty
1980 Tolhurst
1979 Arbre Chene
1978 Crepellox
1977 Wave King
1976 Plush
1975 Battle Sign
1974 Nandalie Lass
1973 Zambari
1972 Longfella
1971 Cyron
1970 Ahjay
1969 Fileur
1968 Galilee
1967 Grey Spirit
1966 Yangtze
1965 Yangtze
1964 Future
1963 Coppelius
1962 Webster
1961 Lord
1960 Lord
1959 Lord
1958 Lord
1957 Syntax
1956 Rising Fast
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments