Lecomte Stakes

The Lecomte Stakes is a group 3 feature at the FG Fair Grounds Race Course, in New Orleans, Louisianna, USA.

The last running was held in January 2016 with the winner Mo Tom, pocketing USD $200,000 for connections.

It is raced on the dirt over 1 mile and 70 yards and is often used as a precursor to the Louisianna Derby, which is often used to as a guide to the prestigious Kentucky Derby.

It has been held every year since 1970, barring 2006, when the infamous Hurricane Katrina forced the cancellation of the event.

2019 Lecomte Stakes betting odds

War Of Will is the Lecomte Stakes favourtite in a competitive market.

Online bookmaker Bet 365 has War Of Will as the +350 favourite in an even market.

Mr Money is on the second line of betting at +400 while Plus Que Parfait is at the +700 quote. Tackett and Roiland are locked together at +750 and are the only other runners in single figures.

How to bet on the Lecomte Stakes

Australian bookmakers will have markets on the Lecomte Stakes out in the days leading up to the event.

Other bookmakers around the globe, if they have horse racing, will follow suit as the race draws near.

If you are based in the USA, Bovada is a great option to punt on the thoroughbreds, while other countries will be well served by bookies like Bet365 which has a great global presence.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

History of the Lecomte Stakes

The race is named after great American horse Boston’s son, Lecomte.

Lecomte came out of Reel and is also a half brother to the well-known Lexington, who the history books suggest he had a fierce rivalry with.

He was regarded as one of the fastest horses of the 1850s and was owned and trained by Jefferson Wells.

Wells raced Lecomte successfully throughout the 1850s before selling him for $10,000 to the UK, where he died suddenly of colic.

Notable winners of the race include Oxbow Ron the Greek and Hard Spun.

Past winners of Lecomte Stakes

Year Winner
2019 War Of Will
2018 Instilled Regard
2017 Guest Suite
2016 Mo Tom
2015 International Star
2014 Vicar’s In Trouble
2013 Oxbow
2012 Mr Bowling
2011 Wilkinson
2010 Ron The Greek
2009 Friesan Fire
2008 Z Fortune
2007 Hard Spun
2006 No race held
2005 Storm Surge
2004 Fire Slam
2003 Saintly Look
2002 Easyfromthegetitgo
2001 Sam Lord’s Castle
2000 Noble Ruler
1999 Some Actor
1998 Western City
1997 Cash Deposit
1996 Boomerang
1995 Moonlight Dancer
1994 Fly Cry
1993 Dixieland Heat
1992 Line in the Sand
1991 Big Courage
1990 Martha’s Buck
1989 Majesty’s Imp
1988 Pastourelles
1987 One Tough Cat
1986 Timely Albert
1985 Encolure
1984 Silent King
1983 Eplosion Wagon
1982 Linkage
1981 Law Me
1980 Withholding
1979 Fuego Seguro
1978 Dragon Tamer
1977 Clev Er Tell
1976 Tudor Tambourine
1975 Colonial Power
1974 Crimson Ruler
1973 Vodika
1972 No Le Hace
1971 Hello Rise
1970 Action Getter

Comments are closed.