Hong Kong Vase

Hong Kong Vase

Group One Betting Guide
Date: December 8, 2019
Location: Sha Tin Racecourse, Hong Kong
Distance: 2,400m

THE Hong Kong Vase is a Group one race held during the International Meeting at Sha Tin in December.

The 2400m feature is one of four Hong Kong International Races and it usually attracts a world-class field of staying thoroughbreds.

The Europeans have dominated the Hong Kong Vase over its 22-year history as staying racing in Hong Kong is non-existent, but that doesn’t detract punters from unloading in what is a true test of stamina on the international stage.

2019 Hong Kong Vase betting odds

There are no odds available for the 2019 Hong Kong Vase.

Horse Betting will keep you updated as soon as markets open.

Best Hong Kong Vase bookmakers

Futures and fixed odds betting for the Hong Kong Vase is available throughout the year. Due to its popularity on the world stage, bookmakers take the Hong Kong Vase very seriously which means punters often get great odds.

The following bookmakers offer markets for all Hong Kong feature races:

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Hong Kong Vase field

No. Silks Horse/Bred Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Odds
1 Waldgeist A Fabre P-C Boudot 4 57 $4.70
2 Pakistan Star T Cruz W Buick 2 57 $11
3 Salouen S Kirk O Murphy 5 57 $11
4 Exultant T Cruz Z Purton 10 57 $7
5 Mirage Dancer Sir M Stoute R Moore 13 57 $7.50
6 Eagle Way J Moore S de Sousa 9 57 $7.50
7 Red Verdon E Dunlop J Doyle 3 57 $13
8 Prince Of Arran C Fellows M Walker 14 57 $13
9 Ruthven F Lor H Bowman 7 57 $67
10 Lys Gracieux Y Yahagi J Moreira 12 55.5 $10
11 Crocosmia K Nishiura Y Iwata 1 55.5 $12
12 Eziyra D Weld C Lemaire 8 55 $21
13 Latrobe J O’Brien J McDonald 6 55 $8
14 Rostropovich A O’Brien W Lordan 11 55 $21

Previous Hong Kong Vase Fields

  • No. Silks Horse/Bred Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Odds
    1 Highland Reel betting Highland Reel  A O’Brien Ryan Moore 8  57 $3.80
    2 Highland Reel betting Talismanic M Guyon M Guyon 1 57 $6.50
    3 Highland Reel betting Tiberian A Couetil O Peslier 9 57 $7
    4 Highland Reel betting Chemical Charge R Beckett O Murphy 4  57 $7.50
    5 Highland Reel betting Danehill Kodiac  R Hannon S M Levy 10 57 $8
    6 Highland Reel betting Eagle Way  J Moore Tommy Berry 5  57 $8.50
    7 Highland Reel betting Max Dynamite W Mullins G Schofield 2  57 $12
    8 Highland Reel betting Tosen Basil H Fujiwara J Moreira 7  57 $13
    9 Highland Reel betting Gold Mount A S Cruz Z Purton 12  57 $26
    10 Highland Reel betting Helene Charisma J Moore S Clipperton 6 57 $26
    11 Highland Reel betting Smart Call Sir M Stoute J Crowley 11  55.5 $34
    12 Highland Reel betting Kiseki  Katsuhiko Sumii M Demuro 3  55 $34

2018 Hong Kong Vase result

Place Horse Price
1st Exultant $5.50
2nd Lys Gracieux $2.25
3rd Eziyra $8.80

Recent Hong Kong Vase winners

  • Exultant was one of the more favoured runners in the 2018 Hong Kong Vase and the money was justified after the Hong Kong-trained runner gripped on for a famous victory. Taken the front early, it always felt like Exultant could be a sitting duck coming into the latter stages after sitting outside the speed but when it looked like Lys Gracieux was going to stroll straight past Exultant dug deep to deliver a memorable win.
  • What a farewell it was for Irish superstar Highland Reel. In what was the stud’s final ever competitive race, the gun galloper delivered yet another G1 win in a foreign jurisdiction. Under a sensational ride from one of the world’s best in Ryan Moore, Highland Reel fought off the fast-finishing Talismatic and Tosen Basil, who would later go on to take up a career under Australian trainer Darren Weir.
  • The Japanese staying form proved too good on the world stage again as Satono Crown ran down race-favourite Highland Reel in the shadows of the post. The four-year-old colt was given a great ride from champion jockey Joao Moreira and when Highland Reel kicked at the top of the straight there was only one horse chasing. The pair put over six lengths on the third horse which was One Foot In Heaven, followed by Nuovo Record in fourth. Read the full report here.
  • Aidan O’Brien continued his assault on global racing when Highland Reel took out the Hong Kong Vase. The Irish runner was a $6 chance in the betting behind race-favourite and 2014 champion Flintshire and after settling forward during the run, it took over in the concluding stages for a stylish victory. It defeated the likes of 2013 winner Dominant and Turnbull Stakes winner Preferment.
  • Flintshire justified its $2.10 odds in 2014 when winning by a half-length at Sha Tin. The Andre Fabre-trained colt settled midfield before cruising to the front in the straight. It held off Willie Cazals which finished second and the field also included 2013 winner Dominant and the always-popular Red Cadeaux. It continued the fine run of Europeans which had won the last 13 of 14.
  • Dominant was an upset winner in the 2013 Hong Kong Vase when it defeated a strong field of Europeans which included The Fugue, Dunaden and Red Cadeaux. The five-year-old was a Irish-bred horse running for Hong Kong-based John Moore and it gave Australian jockey Zac Purton one of his career highlight wins.
  • Red Cadeaux was a true globe-trotter which won only seven races from 54 starts, but that included the 2012 Group 1 Hong Kong Vase. The three-time Melbourne Cup entrant was much-loved by racing fans and punters alike for its ability to run good races at the highest level. The Ed Dunlop-trained gelding would continue to race around the world before suffering a bone fracture in the 2015 Melbourne Cup.
  • Another international winner, Dunaden proved too strong for its rivals in 2011. The Mikel Delzangles-trained runner gave Australian jockey Craig Williams a famous win on Hong Kong soil. The win came prior to its 2012 Caulfield Cup win and it showed that Hong Kong Vase form stands up well on the world stage.

Hong Kong Vase winners list

Year Hong Kong Vase Winners List
2018 Exultant
2017 Highland Reel
2016 Satono Crown
2015 Highland Reel
2014 Flintshire
2013 Dominant
2012 Red Cadeaux
2011 Dunaden
2010 Mastery
2009 Daryakana
2008 Doctor Dino
2007 Doctor Dino
2006 Collier Hill
2005 Ouija Board
2004 Phoenix Reach
2003 Vallee Enchantee
2002 Ange Gabriel
2001 Stay Gold
2000 Daliapour
1999 Borgia
1998 Indigenous
1997 Luso
1996 Luso
1995 Partipral
1994 Red Bishop

Comments are closed.