Hong Kong Cup

hong kong international race day 2017
When December 9, 2018
Distance 2000m
Track Sha Tin Racecourse
Address Sha Tin District, Hong Kong
Group One Races Hong Kong Cup, Hong Kong Sprint, Hong Kong Mile, Hong Kong Vase

melbourne cup betting
melbourne cup odds comparison
melbourne cup history
melbourne cup tips best bet
melbourne cup best bookmaker neds odds
melbourne cup best sportsbet bookmaker
melbourne cup bookmaker crownbet
topbetta global tote melbourne cup bookmaker

THE Hong Kong Cup is the final feature race at the International Meeting at Sha Tin and it usually features an international field of quality runners.The 2000m Group one was first run in 1988 and since then it has attracted world-wide fame and a string of champion winners. Names such as Jim And Tonic, Fantastic Light, Designs On Rome and 2015 winner A Shin Hikari have graced the Cup in recent history and since 1990 it has become a race open to horses all over the world. Come 1992, horses from United States, Canada and Japan were allowed to run in the Hong Kong Cup and that has stood the test of time.

Hong Kong Cup betting

The Hong Kong Cup has been won by diverse and usually very talented horses with none more so than last year’s Japanese winner and champion Maurice. Because there are so many good horses in Hong Kong for the International Meeting it can often be raffle who wins the Cup.

A good indicate of the key chances in these races is the jockey onboard the horse. If Joao Moreira is onboard you can guarantee his mount is a chance because he generally is given the plumb rides. While many of Australia’s best like Hugh Bowman and James McDonald (pre-suspension) make the trek over for the race.

Hong Kong Cup Field 2017

No. Silks Horse/Bred Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Odds
1 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Deauville A O’Brien Ryan Moore 2 57 $12
2 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Neorealism Noriyuki Hori J Moreira 1 57 $6
3 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Poet’s Word Sir M Stoute A Atzeni 12 57 $7
4 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Werther J Moore Tommy Berry 3 57 $2.80
5 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Staphanos H Fujiwara J Bowman 8 57 $13
6 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Secret Weapon C H Yip N Rawiller 11 57 $19
7 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Robin Of Navan H J Dunlop S Clipperton 4 57 $41
8 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Garlingari C Barande-Barbe S Pasquier 6 57 $26
9 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Time Warp A S Cruz Z Purton 5 57 $6
10 Hong Kong Cup betting tips War Decree A O’Brien J A Heffernan 7 57 $21
11 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Blonde Me A Balding O Murphy 10 55.5 $21
12 Hong Kong Cup betting tips Smart Layer R Okubo Y Take 9 55.5 $11

Betfair Australia

Betfair sports betting exchange


$500 winnings boost

read review Bet Now

Recent Hong Kong Cup winners

Hong Kong Cup betting Australia
California Memory wins the Hong Kong Cup in 2016.

2016: Maurice was having its last start before heading off to stud and it made a great impact on its way out. The Japanese star didn’t jump well with Ryan Moore in the saddle and it was giving A Shin Hikari many lengths into the home straight, but the champion reeled it in quick smart before running away with the victory at the odds-on price of $1.70. Read report here.

2016 Hong Kong Cup result

Result Horse Price
1st Maurice $1.70
2nd Secret Weapon $2.70
3rd Staphanos $3.80

Exotic payouts

Type Payout
Quinella $11.80
Trifecta $110.40
First Four $1082

2015: A Shin Hikari burst onto the world scene when winning the Hong Kong Cup in 2015. The Japanese-trained runner was the fourth Japanese winner of the Hong Kong Cup and the first since Agnes Digital won in 2001. A Shin Hikari paid $26 for the win in what was considered a big upset. It set a strong pace in front and it held on to score by a length in a race record time.

2014: Designs Of Rome was a popular winner in 2014 for trainer John Moore and champion jockey Joao Moreira. The son of Holy Roman Emperor was a stylish winner over the likes of Military Attack and Australian runner Criterion. In its usual style, Designs On Rome settle at the rear of the field before producing a big finishing burst down the outside.

Hong Kong international races betting
Hong Kong international races betting

2013: Akeed Mofeed wasn’t one of the most popular Hong Kong Cup victors in recent history, but the Richard Gibson-trained runner was too good for its rivals in 2013 and it would later represent Hong Kong at the Dubai World Cup. It paid a short price on the tote with bookmakers when holding out Japanese entrant Tokei Halo and Cirrus des Aigles.

2012/2011: California Memory made it back-to-back victories in 2011 and 2012. The Tony Cruz-trained champion ran almost two seconds quicker when winning for the second time in 2012. It defeated the likes of Giofra and Australian-performed Alcopop which firmly put it into the record books. Matthew Chadwick rode it to victory on both occasions.

Hong Kong Cup records and statistics

The race record belongs to A Shin Hikari, which ran 2:00.60 when winning in 2015. It became the fourth Japanese-trained runner to win the Hong Kong Cup.

California Memory is the only horse to win more than one Hong Kong Cup when Matthew Chadwick was in the saddle, but Frankie Dettori has won three as a jockey.

The Italian champion won aboard Fantastic Light in 2000, Falbrav in 2003 and Ramonti in 2007.

Godolphin trainer Saeed Bin Suroor has won the race twice with Fantastic Light and Ramonti. Local trainer Tony Cruz has also had two victories in consecutive years with California Memory.

Past Hong Kong Cup champions

Year Horse Trainer Jockey Time
1988 Flying Dancer Brian Kan Ping-chee Bartie Leisher 1:48.60
1989 Colonial Chief / Grey Invader Ivan W. Allan / Alvin Clark Tony Cruz / Gary Stewart 1:49.30
1990 Kessem Brian Smith Kevin Moses 1:48.40
1991 River Verdon David Hill Gerald Mosse 1:49.80
1992 Romanee Conti Laurie Laxon Greg Childs 1:48.20
1993 Motivation John Moore John Marshall 1:49.20
1994 State Taj John L Riley Damien Oliver 1:48.40
1995 Fujiyama Kenzan Hideyuki Mori Masayoshi Ebina 1:47.00
1996 First Island Geoff Wragg Michael Hills 1:48.20
1997 Val’s Prince James E Picou Cash Asmussen 1:47.20
1998 Midnight Bet Hiroyuki Nagahama Hiroshi Kawachi 1:46.90
1999 Jim and Tonic Francois Doumen Gerald Mosse 2:01.40
2000 Fantastic Light Saeed bin Suroor Frankie Dettori 2:02.20
2001 Agnes Digital Toshiaki Shirai Hirofumi Shii 2:02.80
2002 Precision David Oughton Michael Kinane 2:07.10
2003 Flabrav Luca Cumani Frankie Dettori 2:00.90
2004 Alexander Goldrun Jim Bolger Kevin Manning 2:03.30
2005 Vengeance Of Rain David E Ferrais Anthony Delpech 2:04.50
2006 Pride Alain de Royer-Dupre Chrisophe Lemaire 2:02.80
2007 Ramonti Saeed Bin Suroor Frankie Dettori 2:00.92
2008 Eagle Mountain Mike de Kock Kevin Shea 2:01.86
2009 Vision d’Etat Eric Libaud Olivier Peslier 2:02.94
2010 Snow Fairy Ed Dunlop Ryan Moore 2:05.57
2011 California Memory Anthony S Cruz Mathew Chadwick 2:03.09
2012 California Memory Anthony S Cruz Mathew Chadwick 2:03.09
2013 Akeed Mofeed Richard Gibson Douglas Whyte 2:01.96
2014 Designs On Rome John Moore Joao Moreira 2:01.96
2015 A Shin Hikari Masanori Sakaguchi Yutaka Take 2:00.60
2016 Maurice Noriyuki Hori Ryan More 2:00.95

Hong Kong Cup betting sites in 2017

All of our recommended bookmakers offer betting on the Group 1 Hong Kong Cup for most of the year, which makes it a popular betting race. They also offer great bonus bet promotions for all four International Meeting Group one races, which will be available in the specials and promotions section.

Betfair Australia

Betfair sports betting exchange


$500 winnings boost

read review Bet Now

Comments are closed.