Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup

THE Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup is a Group one race held every January at Sha Tin.

The 1600m feature is the first leg of the Hong Kong Triple Crown, which also features the Hong Kong Gold Cup in February and the Hong Kong Champions & Chater Cup in May/June.

With a purse of HK$10 million, the Stewards’ Cup attracts all the big names in Hong Kong racing and the past winners list is full of champion thoroughbreds.

It’s an extremely popular betting race, both locally and in Australia, so check out our recommended bookmakers for the best deals and odds available.

Best Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup bookmakers

All of the bookmakers listed below offer markets for the Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup, but only a few of them offer early markets.

Bet365.com is a bookmaker which offers early international markets and punters can bet into the Stewards’ Cup market months in advance of the race.

The other bookmakers offer all-in and fixed odds market for the big race.

#1 $500 winnings boost
  • BPAY deposit
  • Neteller deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
$500 winnings boost

2017 Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup result

1st – Helene Paragon – $2.90
2nd – Joyful Trinity – $4.80
3rd – Able Friend – $1.80

Quinella – $32.90
Trifecta – $351.10

Recent Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup winners

2017: Helene Paragon was the well-backed favourite at $2.90 and the favourites’ tag was justified as it burst through the pack to win the 2017 Stewards’ Cup. With Australian jockey Tommy Berry in the saddle, the John Moore-trained runner was well-positioned in the run before launching down centre track in the straight. The win was Helene Paragon’s first group one win, which also gave Moore a race trifecta with Joyful Trinity in second and Able Friend in third. Read full report.

Giant Treasure wins the Stewards' Cup
Giant Treasure salutes in the 2016 Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup at Sha Tin. Picture: Hong Kong Jockey Club.

2016: Giant Treasure scored a dramatic win in 2016 when winning by a short head over Luger, with Contentment only a neck back in second. The Richard Gibson-trained gelding was a well-backed runner at odds of $3.80, but punters didn’t have it easy. The field was full of stars which included Beauty Only, Blazing Speed and Designs On Rome. Hong Kong-based Frenchman Christophe Soumillion rode Giant Treasure to victory for Gibson, who was formerly based in France.

2015: The punters cheered in 2015 when Able Friend defeated the field as the odds-on favourite. The John Moore-trained superstar was in stellar form prior to the race and it continued that rich vein of form with a 1.5-length win over Beauty Flame and Rewarding Hero. The five-year-old by Shamardal paid $1.20 for the win, the shortest priced winner in history and champion jockey Joao Moreira was in the saddle. Able Friend ran the quickest time (1:33.50) since Good Ba Ba in 2009.

2014: Blazing Speed came of age when winning in 2014 at long odds. The five-year-old by Dylan Thomas wasn’t a favoured runner considering the field featured Gold-Fun, 2013 winner Glorious Days and Military Attack, with it paying $18.20 with bookmakers. The Tony Cruz-trained outsider only narrowly scored the prize by a short head of Dan Excel which paid $6.60 for the place and Helene Spirit which returned $5.60 – setting up a big trifecta and first-four payout. Also included in the field was Pure Champion which would later be exported to New Zealand where it won at Group one level.

2013: Glorious Days was trained by Stephen and Trevor McKee in New Zealand before being transferred to the John Size stables in Hong Kong. The five-year-old was a highly-regarded import which scored another close Stewards’ Cup finish. The son of Hussonet won by a short head over Dan Excel, which would again finish second in 2014, and also California Memory in third. Glorious Days won paying $4 with Dan Excel almost creating the boil over at odds of $11.30 to place. Race favourite and 2012 winner Ambitious Dragon finished in fourth.

2012: Ambitious Dragon was a popular winner for punters in 2012. The Tony Millard-trained gelding won at odds of $2.30 and it never looked like getting beaten. The 1.25-length win gave Douglas Whyte the first of two consecutive Stewards’ Cup wins and although it wasn’t the strongest field in history, the win was still full of class. In second was Xtension and third was California Memory.

Hong Kong Stewards’ Cup winners list



2016 – Giant Treasure
2015 – Able Friend
2014 – Blazing Speed
2013 – Glorious Days
2012 – Ambitious Dragon
2011 – Beauty Flash
2010 – Felliwship
2009 – Good Ba Ba
2008 – Good Ba Ba
2007 – Armada
2006 – Russian Pearl
2005 – Bullish Luck
2004 – Super Kid
2003 – Electric Unicorn
2002 – Electric Unicorn
2001 – Fairy King Prawn
2000 – Resfa
1999 – Did not run
1998 – Billion Win
1997 – Smashing Pumpkin
1996 – Michael’s Choice
1995 – Mr Vitality
1994 – Right Way

Comments are closed.