Dubai World Cup

Dubai World Cup

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Sunday, March 31, 2019
Location: Meydan Racecourse, Dubai, UAE
Prize Money: USD $12 Million
Distance: 2,000m

To truly conquer the thoroughbred racing world, first you have to win in Dubai.

Conceived in 1996, the Dubai World Cup is a race for four-year-olds & up and for Southern Hemisphere Thoroughbred three-year-olds & up run over a distance of 2,000 metres and until the Pegasus World Cup came and trumped it, the DWC was the world’s richest race.

The race routinely draws the best from America and the Arabic nations to compete for the prize, with horses from Australia, the UK and New Zealand rarely contesting the DWC.

Held on a dirt surface, the Dubai World Cup was first held at the new Meydan Racecourse on March 27, on all-weather surface known as Tapeta. The race shifted back to a dirt surface back in 2015 to cater to the visiting Americans.

2019 Dubai World Cup betting odds

North America is the favourite ahead of the Dubai World Cup.

North America is the $4 favourite with online bookmaker Sportsbet.

Defending champion Thunder Snow is on the next line of betting at $5.50 while Yoshida is sitting at the $8 quote.

Best Dubai World Cup bookmakers

The Dubai World Cup is one of thoroughbred racing’s most popular events and the bookmakers act accordingly.

All of the online bookmakers that we trust offer markets on the Dubai World Cup and our comprehensive reviews on the bookies can be found below.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Dubai World Cup result

1stThunder Snow ($5.50)
2ndGronkowski ($6)
3rdGunnevera ($3.60)

Recent Dubai World Cup results

  • Thunder Snow was looking to create history in the Dubai World Cup in 2019 by becoming the first horse to go back-to-back in the event. After getting a charmed run in transit the Godolphin runner leveled off in the straight to contest the finish with US raider Gronkowski, with last year’s winner gaining the upper hand in the latter stages to secure the win.
  • Christophe Soumillon pinched the Dubai World Cup with a strong front running ride. Pushing hard to lead early, Thunder Snow took the rail and dictated terms from the front. Kicking away in the straight the short priced favourite West Coast had no answer as the Godolphin runner streamed away to secure the win.
  • Arrogate was the unbackable favourite going into the 2017 Dubai World Cup but after a tardy getaway favourite backers would have been nervous. Fellow American Gun Runner led for the majority of the race but entering the stretch Arrogate produced a blistering turn of foot to take to the head of affairs at the 200m and run away for the prize.
  • One of America’s favourite sons California Chrome returned to Dubai after the disappointment of last year, hoping to go one better. It looked like it would be an onerous task for the jump from a wide barrier but under a brilliant and strong ride from Victor Espinoza the champ took the lead at the 400m and booted away to win.
  • The pre-race betting was all about the invading California Chrome, but after a wide trip the energy was sapped heading into the latter stages. Prince Bishop was the one that toppled him despite getting off to a slow beginning. In a strong last-to-first finish Prince Bishop glided past California Chrome to deliver a brilliant performance in the Cup.

Dubai World Cup past winners list

Dubai World Cup past winners
Year Dubai World Cup Past Winner
2019 Thunder Snow
2018 Thunder Snow
2017 Arrogate
2016 California Chrome
2015 Prince Bishop
2014 African Story
2013 Animal Kingdom
2012 Monterosso
2011 Victoire Pisa
2010 Glória de Campeão
2009 Well Armed
2008 Curlin
2007 Invasor
2006 Electrocutionist
2005 Roses in May
2004 Pleasantly Perfect
2003 Moon Ballad
2002 Street Cry
2001 Captain Steve
2000 Dubai Millennium
1999 Almutawakel
1998 Silver Charm
1997 Singspiel
1996 Cigar

Comments are closed.