Breeders’ Cup facts and figures

The Breeders’ Cup meeting to be run at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California.

* Billed as the world championships of thoroughbred racing, the annual Breeders’ Cup meeting began in 1984 as a seven-race, one-day event with total prize money of $10 million.

* In 2007, the meeting was expanded to 15 races over two days. This year’s prize money will total $28 million from 13 grade one races. The feature race, the Breeders’ Cup Classic, is worth $6 million, making it the richest horse race in North America.

* The inaugural meeting was held at Hollywood Park, California but 12 different tracks have taken turns staging the event. Santa Anita Park will stage the Breeders’ Cup this year for a record ninth time.

* The only horse to win three Breeders’ Cup races is the French mare Goldikova. The only horse to win the Breeders’ Cup Classic twice was Tiznow, in 2000 and 2001.

* The most successful trainer is D. Wayne Lukas, with 20 winners.

* The most successful jockey is Mike Smith, with 22 winners.

* The United States has produced the most Breeders’ Cup winners (232), followed by Ireland (26), Britain (15), France (7), Canada (6), Argentina (5), Japan (1) and Germany (1).

Related Posts

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments