Blue Diamond Stakes

Blue Diamond Stakes
THE Blue Diamond Stakes is Victoria’s biggest race for juveniles with a purse of $1.5 million and Group one status.

The 1200m sprint at Caulfield is held every February and it’s a target race for every trainer with a two-year-old talented enough to make the field.

Some of Australia’s finest have taken out the Blue Diamond, which includes the likes of Redoute’s Choice, Alinghi, Manikato and in more recent times Sepoy and Extreme Choice.

It is considered a stallion-making race it is extremely popular with punters. Markets open months before the race so punters get a look at the early all-in markets and also the fixed odds market when the field is released.

Best Blue Diamond Stakes bookmakers

The bookmakers are vigilant at getting early Blue Diamond Stakes markets out. Most of our recommended bookmakers open Blue Diamond markets months in advance, which gives punters plenty of time to sort out their best bets.

The following bookmakers offer all-in and fixed odds markets for both the win and place.

Betfair Australia

Betfair sports betting exchange


$500 winnings boost

read review Bet Now

2017 Blue Diamond Stakes result

The 2017 Blue Diamond Stakes winner Catchy Photo:

1st: Catchy – $4.70
2nd: Pariah – $1.70
3rd: Formality – $3

Recent Blue Diamond Stakes winners

  • Craig Williams had a pick of many Blue Diamond rides and he chose the right filly in 2017. Catchy was brilliant in winning the Blue Diamond after settling back throughout the run and storming home to defeat favourite Pariah in the concluding stages. The win extended Catchy’s winning streak to four with Lindsay Park Racing training three of the first four runners home.
  • Extreme Choice justified its favouritism tag by scored an easy win over stablemate Flying Artie. The Mick Price-trained colt looked the goods heading into the race and after sitting wide on the pace early, it took over with 300 metres to go and kicked away for a 1.8-length victory. It would later run as one of the favourites for the Golden Slipper, but after missing the kick its chances were extinguished. The Not A Single colt paid $2.75 in the betting and Craig Newitt was the winning rider.
  • Pride Of Dubai scored its biggest career win when downing a $101 outsider in the last few strides. The Peter and Paul Snowden-trained colt settled midfield and received a checkered run in the straight, but it was able to balance up and sprint late to beat $101 chance Reemah on the line. The son of Street Cry would later run greenly in the Golden Slipper, costing itself the race, but it’s Blue Diamond win was a standout at odds of $6.
  • Peter Snowden trained the first of two consecutive winners with Earthquake in 2014. The Exceed And Excel filly was highly touted leading into the race and it didn’t let punters down. It won by 1.5 lengths after sitting just off the pace and kicking strongly to the line. The placings were filled by Jabali and Cornrow, which didn’t amount to anything, but Rubick and Malaguerra were among the beaten brigade. The next best filly in the race was Piacenza which finished well back in 11th.
  • Miracles Of Life was a feel good story in 2013. The Not A Single Doubt filly was given a great ride by Lauren Stojakovic who was given a big responsibility to ride the $3.25 favourite. It kicked clear around the Caulfield turn before putting three lengths on the field. Stojakovic kept kicking on the filly to ensure the memorable victory. It was one of the best Blue Diamond Stakes fields of all time with the likes of Fast ‘n’ Rocking, Gregers, Shamus Award and Horse of the Year winner Dissident.

Blue Diamond Stakes winners list

2017 Catchy
2016 Extreme Choice
2015 Pride Of Dubai
2014 Earthquake
2013 Miracles Of Life
2012 Samaready
2011 Sepoy
2010 Star Witness
2009 Reward For Effort
2008 Reaan
2007 Sleek Chassis
2006 Nadeem
2005 Undoubtedly
2004 Alinghi
2003 Kusi
2002 Bel Esprit
2001 True Jewels
2000 Road To Success
1999 Redoute’s Choice
1998 Danelagh
1997 Knowledge
1996 Paint
1995 Principality
1994 Hurricane Sky
1993 Lady Jakeo
1992 Riva Diva
1991 Canonise
1990 Mahaasin
1989 Courtza
1988 Zeditave
1987 Midnight Fever
1986 Bounding Away
1985 Let’s Get Physical
1984 Street Cafe
1983 Love A Show
1982 Rancher
1981 Black Shoes
1980 Aare
1979 Star Shower
1978 Manikato
1977 Blazing Saddles
1976 Out Of Danger
1975 Lord Dudley
1974 Forina
1973 New Gleam
1972 John’s Hope
1971 Tolerance

Latest Blue Diamond Stakes News

Comments are closed.