New Zealand 2000 Guineas

THE Group 1 New Zealand 2000 Guineas is one of the most important races on the New Zealand racing calendar.

Run over 1600m at Riccarton Park in November, the 2000 Guineas is held on the first day of New Zealand Cup Week – which features major thoroughbred, harness and greyhounds racing.

It’s a major race for punters and futures betting is extremely popular for the summer races. The 2000 Guineas has a rich history with attracting punters from all over the world and it’s not hard to see why.

The past winners list is a who’s who of New Zealand champion thoroughbreds and this year the talented three-year-old’s will be gunning to add their name to the list.

Best NZ 2000 Guineas bookmakers

#1 Deposit $400, Get $600 bonus
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $400, Get $600 bonus
#2 100% up to $501
  • Paypal deposit
  • POLi deposit
  • BPAY deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $501
#3 Deposit $50, get $150
  • Credit card deposit
  • bank transfer deposit
  • Visa deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $50, get $150
#4 100% up to $502
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
100% up to $502
#5 100% up to $200
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • Credit Card deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $200
#6 Deposit $50, get $150
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $50, get $150

All of our recommended bookmakers offer futures, fixed odds and tote betting for the New Zealand 2000 Guineas.

2017 NZ 2000 Guineas market

We will update the 2017 NZ Guineas odds when they become available.

Recent NZ 2000 Guineas results

2016: Ugo Foscolo had been in form for most of its preparation, but that form tapered off a touch leading into the 2000 Guineas. The Stephen Marsh-trained gelding turned that form around in smart fashion by recording a 1.25-length win. The zon of Zacinto sat on the speed and kicked strongly to see off the challenge from Savile Row and Heroic Valour. Included in the field was the quality Hall Of Fame and also Jon Snow, which subsequently went to Australia and performed at the highest level.

2015: Xtravagant was one of the most impressive group one winners in New Zealand racing history when it scored by over eight lengths in 2015. The highly-geared son of Pentire showed an incredible turn-of-foot around the home turn and quickly put multiple lengths on the field. The $4.20 chance showed all of its usual ability in destroying a field that didn’t have many household names, but the margin of victory was impressive all the same.

2014: Turn Me Loose was one of the best three-year-old’s to come out of New Zealand and perform in Australia, following its three lengths win in the 2000 Guineas. The Baker/Forsman-trained colt had the class factor coming into the race and the odds of $2.60 represented that. Opie Bosson had a relatively easy ride aboard the colt before it exploded away for the win. No other runners in the 2014 edition were considered good enough to travel overseas.

2013: Atlante was the first of consecutive winners for the Baker/Forsman team and it had to beat a handy field. The Fastnet Rock three-year-old was the firm $3.20 favourite heading into the race and many punters top pick, but it came up against the likes of New Zealand Derby winner Puccini, Sacred Park and the highly-touted Chambord. Atlante would later race in Australia and have moderate success in Melbourne.

2012: Sacred Falls scored one of the closest finishes in recent history when winning by a head over Oasis Rose, but it would later become one of NZ’s best exports. The Tony Pike-trained three-year-old was the short $1.60 favourite to win and given that it would later win two Group 1 Doncaster Handicaps in Australia, the money was spot on. The son of O’Reilly would carve out a great career and showed just how important winning the 2000 Guineas can be.

Notable NZ 2000 Guineas winners

There have been some great champions win the NZ 2000 Guineas, which includes New Zealand Derby winner Jimmy Choux, 1000 Guineas/2000 Guineas double winner Katie Lee and Darci Brahma.

The 2000 Guineas is a stallion-making race and the big stables and studs all target the race to improve their potential stallion price.

Veandercross was a popular winner in 1991 and Surfer’s Paradise was a big winner for trainer Dave O’Sullivan before it had success in Australia.

Uncle Remus won in 1977, but before that victory came the famous win of Balermino in 1975. Balmerino was one of New Zealand’s finest ever racehorses and its win helped pave the reputation the 2000 Guineas currently has.

Other popular winners include Rock’n’Pop, Tell A Tale and King’s Chapal – which were all raced by Te Akau Stud.

2000 Guineas past winners list

2016 – Ugo Foscolo
2015 – Xtravagant
2014 – Turn Me Loose
2013 – Atlante
2012 – Sacred Falls
2011 – Rock ‘n’ Pop
2010 – Jimmy Choux
2009 – Katie Lee
2008 – Tell A Tale
2007 – The Pooka
2006 – Magic Cape
2005 – Darci Brahma
2004 – Clean Sweep
2003 – King’s Chapel
2002 – Hustler
2001 – Master Belt
2000 – Tit For Taat
1999 – Buzz Lightyear
1998 – Danske
1997 – Foxwood
1996 – Hero
1995 – Be Boss
1994 – Avedon
1993 – Facing The Music
1992 – Hulastrike
1991 – Veandercross
1990 – Surfers Paradise
1989 – Finnegan Fox
1988 – Krona
1987 – Weston Lea
1986 – Steely Dan
1985 – Random Chance
1984 – Kingdom Bay
1983 – Gaffa
1982 – Clansman
1981 – Altitude
1980 – Sir Avon
1979 – Little Brown Jug
1978 – Teddy Doon
1977 – Uncle Remus
1976 – Vice Regal
1975 – Balmerino
1974 – Persuasian
1973 – Furys Order