Herbie Dyke Stakes

Herbie Dyke Stakes

Group One Betting Guide
Date: February 12, 2022
Location: Te Rapa Racecourse
Prize Money: NZ$400,000
Distance: 2000m

The Group 1 Herbie Dyke Stakes (2000m) is the richest weight-for-age race in New Zealand, offering up a prize pool of NZ$400,000.

Formerly known as the New Zealand International Stakes, the race is run on the same day as the Waikato Sprint, making it two weight-for-age Group 1 events at the one meeting.

With the likes of Cox Plate winner Bonecrusher (1986), Captain Cook (1992) and Sangster (2013) on the honour roll, the Herbie Dyke Stakes is quickly growing in popularity.

2022 Herbie Dyke Stakes betting odds

Royal Performer
Who will join Royal Performer on the Herbie Dyke Stakes honour roll with a win in the 2022 event? Photo: Trish Dunell

The 2022 Herbie Dyke Stakes odds as of February 12 look like this:

  • The Chosen One – $2.10
  • Coventina Bay – $4.00
  • Tiptronic – $5.50
  • Vernanme – $12.00
  • Sound – $13.00
  • Harlech – $18.00
  • Royal Performer – $20.00

Complete Herbie Dyke Stakes odds available at Sportsbet.

Top Herbie Dyke Stakes bookmakers

The Herbie Dyke Stakes generates betting interest from the likes of Australian, Japanese and Hong Kong punters, so bookmakers know how important framing an early market can be.

Popular races like the Herbie Dyke Stakes are attractive to futures punters who are hoping to lock in the big value on offer. Bookmakers will also offer fixed-odds win and place markets when the field is confirmed.

The online bookmakers listed below have markets available for the Herbie Dyke Stakes. If there are no odds listed, bookmakers can be contacted and odds on your desired runner will be given.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Herbie Dyke Stakes history

With the Herbie Dyke Stakes being used as a lead-up event to the Auckland Cup, only two horses have done the double since the turn of the century: Shez Sinsational (2012) and Sangster (2013).

Graeme Rogerson has three wins to his name in the Herbie Dyke, whilst Donna Logan, Murray Baker, Mike Moroney and Debbie Rogerson have tasted multiple successes in the race this century.

As with most New Zealand horse races, Michael Coleman (4) and Opie Bosson (3) have had the most success among jockeys in the Herbie Dyke Stakes.

The race record time of 1:58.80 was set by Captain Cook in 1992.

2021 Herbie Dyke Stakes results

1stRoyal Performer ($20.00)
2ndThe Chosen One ($2.00)
3rdOn The Rocks ($12.70)

Recent Herbie Dyke Stakes winners

  • All eyes were on the legendary Melody Belle, who was looking to bring up a remarkable 14 Group 1 wins. However, it was Royal Performer who caused a boilover when saluting at $20 in the Herbie Dyke Stakes. The former Hong Kong-based galloper managed to gain a perfect run in transit and whilst race favourite Melody Belle struck trouble, Jonathan Riddell managed to steal the race aboard Royal Performer. He managed to put a two-length margin on the ever consistent The Chosen One and in doing so handed Bob Vance his first Group 1 win as a trainer alongside his wife Jenny.
  • Having settled for a second-place finish in 2019, it was the Graham Richardson-trained Tiptronic who claimed a narrow victory in the Herbie Dyke Stakes. With South Island raider Camino Rocoso setting a breakneck speed in front, it was left to True Enough and Tiptronic to drag the field up to the tearaway who still led by six lengths approaching the home turn. The two then went stride for stride in the home straight and just as True Enough looked to have the race won, Tiptronic dug deep and broke his Group 1 maiden tag.
  • Michael Moroney & Pam Gerard caused somewhat of an upset when $15 chance On The Rocks handed jockey Jake Bayliss a second Group 1. The Australian-born Bayliss was enjoying his second stint in NZ and was given all the plaudit from co-trainer Pam Gerard. Having won the 2018 Railway Handicap aboard Volpe Veloce, it was another genuine Group 1 ride from Bayliss who had On The Rocks chasing the tearaway leaders a long way out from home. Having hit the front inside the final 300m mark, the entire had plenty left in reserve to hold off the likes of Tiptronic and Elusive Treasure.
  • Despite a poor showing in the Melbourne spring, the Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman-trained Lizzie L’amour has capped the return to NZ with a dominant win in the Herbie Dyke Stakes. The win capped a remarkable 24 hours for the legendary Murray Baker who had been inducted into the New Zealand Racing Hall of Fame the night before. The Zabeel mare raced close to the pace at Te Rapa before rider Matt Cameron allowed her to amble closer three wide across the top. They took control 250m from home and drew clear effortlessly to beat Windflower and the winner’s stablemate Nicoletta took third.
  • Donna Logan picked up consecutive Herbie Dyke Stakes wins when Volkstok’n’barrell managed to salute as a $3 race favourite. Having been trapped away worse than midfield on the fence, Vinnie Coglan just need a touch of luck in the home straight as he seemingly had a lapful of horse underneath him. He managed to find a gap inside the final 300m and when hitting the front with 100m to go, he had to stage off the fast finishing Saville Row and did so by just under a length.

Past Herbie Dyke Stakes winners

Herbie Dyke Stakes Past Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2021 Royal Performer Jonathan Riddell Jenny & Bob Vance
2020 Tiptronic Jason Waddell Graham Richardson
2019 On The Rocks Jake Bayliss Michael Moroney & Pam Gerard
2018 Lizzie L’amour Matt Cameron Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman
2017 Volkstok’n’barrell Vincent Colgan Donna Logan
2016 Valley Girl Lisa Allpress Donna Logan
2015 Soriano Rory Hutchings Graeme & Debbie Rogerson
2014 Costume Michael Coleman Graeme & Debbie Rogerson
2013 Sangster Opie Bosson Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young
2012 Shez Sinsational James McDonald Allan Sharrock
2011 Red Ruler Mark Du Plessis John Sargent
2010 Veloce Bella Michael Coleman Maryann Brosnan
2009 Maco’reilly Hayden Tinsley David Haworth
2008 Mission Critcial Michael Coleman Mike & Paul Moroney
2007 Sir Slick Opie Bosson Graeme Nicholson
2006 Snazzy Lisa Cropp Jeff Lynds
2005 The Jewel Leith Innes Hec & Steve Anderton
2004 Lashed Opie Bosson Graeme Rogerson & Stephen Autridge
2003 Greene Street Robert Hannam Noel Eales
2002 Emerald Dream Scott Seamer Murray Baker
2001 Giovana Peter Johnson Carol Marshall
2000 Bluebird The Word Michael Coleman Craig & Frank Ritchie

Herbie Dyke Stakes Past Winners Pre 2000

Herbie Dyke Stakes Past Winners Pre 2000
Year Horse
1999 Aerosmith
1998 Fayreform
1997 Great Command
1996 Lord Majestic
1995 All In Fun
1994 The Phantom
1993 The Phantom Chance
1992 Captain Cook
1991 Fun On The Run
1990 Race Not Held
1989 Regal City
1988 Sounds Like Fun
1987 Abit Leica
1986 Bonecrusher
1985 Commissionaire
1984 Commissionaire
1983 Commissionaire
1982 Bound To Honour
1981 Speculation
1980 Solo’s Dream
1979 Shivaree
1978 La Mer
1976 Oopik
1974 Battle Heights

Comments are closed.