Australian Guineas

THE Group 1 Australian Guineas is run at Flemington racecourse for three-year-olds, which is run at set weights, over the distance of 1600 metres.

The race is run at the beginning of March and draws some of the best horses in the nation to Melbourne for the $750,000 prize money.

The Australian Guineas has been hosted by two different tracks in its 31 year history. Racing at Flemington, the only time the Australian Guineas has been held anywhere else was in 1997 when Caulfield held the event due to course renovations.

The race gained group one status one year after its inception after starting its history as a group three event.

The Australian Guineas is typically dominated by the colts. Only two fillies in the history of the race have gone on to win it.

2019 Australian Guineas betting odds

Amphitrite after winning the Schweppes Thousand Guineas at Caulfield Racecourse on October 13, 2018 in Caulfield, Australia. (George Salpigtidis/Racing Photos)

Amphitrite ($4.20) is the favourite at online bookmaker Sportsbet to win the Australian Guineas.

The white-hot Mystic Journey is narrowly on the second line of betting at the $4.60 mark while Hawkshot ($7) is on the third line of betting.

Best Australian Guineas bookmakers

The bookmakers open all-in markets on the Australian Guineas weeks in advance. In the week leading up to the race however tote markets and fixed odds become readily available across the board.

Here are some of our favourite bookmakers to bet on the Guineas.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2019 Australian Guineas result

1stMystic Journey ($4.50)
2ndHawkshot ($3)
3rd – Amphitrite ($2)

Recent Australian Guineas winners

  • 2019:
    It was a Tasmanian Guineas in 2019 as Mystic Journey continued her brilliant run of form. Hawkshot speared out to an early lead in the race and lead the field for the majority of the contest but when the leader shifted out Mystic Journey took the inside run and speared away to record a dominant victory. Hawkshot stayed on strongly to finish second and subsequently booked a wildcard spot in the All-Star Mile.
  • 2018:
    Grunt claimed the first of two Group 1 titles in 2018 in the Australian Guineas in typical fighting fashion. Striking the front late in the piece, Grunt fought off a late challenge from the Darren Weir-trained Peaceful State to cling to a terrific win. The galloper would go on to claim the Group 1 Makybe Diva Stakes later in the year.
  • 2017:
    Hey Doc became Cox Plate-winning trainer Tony McEvoy’s first group 1 winner since 2004 with a convincing victory. Hey Doc took the early initiative and pushed forward, before jockey Luke Currie found a nice run to the line, firstly gaining a nice break, before holding on for dear life to defeat Prized Icon and Snitzson. Read a full report.
  • 2016:
    It was one of the strongest fields we have seen in an Australian Guineas and the race did not disappoint. Superstar Palentino came down the outside in a veritable who’s who of the three-year-old scene and just claimed the prize ahead of Tarzino and Jameka. Read a full report.
  • 2015:
    Gai Waterhouse-trained Wandjina put on a front-running display that will go down in Australian Guineas folklore. With the more favoured pair Stratum Star and Alpine Eagle hitting the line strongly Wandjina found a kick late to ensure the prize money would go back to Sydney.
  • 2014:
    Shamus Award found the front early and dictated terms from the front. The colt was one of the chief elects in the market, but the more fancied runners Hucklebuck and the Quarterback were expected to close, but never did. It was a brilliant front running display from a former Cox Plate champion.

Australian Guineas betting guide

The Australian Guineas is a male-dominated race.

Since its inception in 1986, just three fillies have saluted in the race, Mosheen back in 2012 and Shamrocker, which got the job done in 2011.

Mystic Journey is the third filly to salute in the big race.

In addition to that, the outside barriers have been a disastrous place to be in the Guineas. Mosheen became the first horse in 30 years to win from a double figure barrier.

Previous winners of the Australian Guineas

Year Winner
2019 Mystic Journey
2018 Grunt
2017 Hey Doc
2016 Palentino
2015 Wandjina
2014 Shamus Award
2013 Ferlax
2012 Mosheen
2011 Shamrocker
2010 Rock Classic
2009 Heart Of Dreams
2008 Light Fantastic
2007 Miss Finland
2006 Apache Cat
2005 Al Maher
2004 Reset
2003 Delago Brom
2002 Dash For Cash
2001 Mr. Murphy
2000 Pins
1999 Dignity Dancer
1998 Gold Guru
1997 Mouawad
1996 Flying Spur
1995 Baryshnikov
1994 Mahogany
1993 Kenny’s Best Pal
1992 Jolly Old Mac
1991 Triscay
1990 Zabeel
1989 King’s High
1988 Flotilla
1987 Military Plume
1986 True Version

Comments are closed.