Frank E Kilroe Mile Hcp

First run in 1960, the Kilroe Mile has a rich history in American thoroughbred racing and some great names have won the race.

Open to horses aged four-year-old and above, the Frank E Kilroe Mile Handicap holds a purse of USD $400,000 and is typically ran in early March.

Remarkably not one mare had won the Frank E Kilroe Mile Handicap in over 50 runnings, as of 2010.

That all changed when Proviso won the eight furlong race, held at Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, California, in 2010.

While there are many great races in US horse racing, the Frank E Kilroe Handicap has a unique place in history, being named after such a respected member of the thoroughbred community.

How to bet on the Frank E Kilroe Mile Hcp

Punters in the USA have very limited options when it comes to wagering on horse racing online. The pick of the bookies for the gallops is Bovoda, which is a brand owned by the powerful Bodog company. Australians shoudl stick to betting with legal online betting sites, with many of the top bookmakers also boasting great betting apps.

The rest of the world has plenty of options to punt on American thoroughbred racing, with global giants such as Bet365 and Ladbrokes offering betting on most meetings held in the USA. While the Frank E Kilmore Mile does not have the prestige of the Kentucky Derby or the purse of the Dubai World Cup, it is always well covered by bookmakers.

Frank E Kilroe Mile bookmakers

Australians looking to invest on the race should check our list of trusted bookmakers.

The bookmakers below are available to Australian customers only.

Who was Frank Kilroe?

Frank Kilroe was a stalwart of the Santa Anita Racing Club and a long-serving racing secretary.

The race was named in his honour when the club decided to rename the Arcadia Handicap, the Frank E Kilroe Mile Handicap.

Past winners

Year Winner
2018 Bowies Hero
2017 Bal a Bali
2016 What A View
2015 Ring Weekend
2014 Winning Prize
2013 Suggestive Boy
2012 Willyconker
2011 Fluke
2010 Proviso
2009 Gio Ponti
2008 Ever A Friend
2007 Kip Deville
2006 Milk It Mick
2005 Leroidasanimaux
2004 Sweet Return
2003 Redattore
2002 Decarchy
2001 Road To Slew
2000 Commitisize
1999 Lord Smith
1998 Hawksley Hill
1997 Atticus
1996 Tychonic
1995 College Town
1994 Megan’s Interco
1993 Leger Cat
1992 Fly Til Dawn
1991 Madjaristan
1990 Prized
1989 Bello Horizonte
1988 Mohamed Abdu
1987 Thrill Show
1986 Strawberry Road
1985 Fatih
1984 Sir Pele
1983 Manantial
1982 Perrault
1981 Premier Ministre
1980 Henschel
1979 Fluorescent Light
1978 Exceller
1977 Caucasus
1976 Ga Hai
1975 Ga Hai
1974 Court Ruling
1973 River Buoy
1977 Kobuk King
1972 Buzkashi
1971 Daryl’s Joy
1970 Royal Dynasty
1969 Rivet
1968 Nashua Pilot
1967 Fleet Host
1966 Tudor Frame
1965 Cedar Key
1964 Mr Consistency
1963 The Axe II
1962 Art Market
1961 Wolfram
1960 American Comet

Comments are closed.