The Bart Cummings

The Bart Cummings

Group Three Betting Guide
Date: October 5, 2019
Location: Flemington Racecourse
Prize Money: $300,000
Distance: 2,500m

You might not know the race but you will almost certainly know the name.

Formally registered as the Banjo Paterson, The Bart Cummings was renamed to honour the late, great horse trainer who helped shape the sport of kings in Australia.

So what makes a Group 3 race that is worth $300,000 so special? It’s the Melbourne Cup ballot exemption prize for the winner.

First offered in 2015, The Bart Cummings’ ballot exempt status has seen the race profile raise significantly over the years.

In 2016 German-bred star Almandin went on to claim the Bart Cummings before registering a famous win in the Melbourne Cup later that campaign.

2018 Bart Cummings betting

There are no odds available for the 2019 Bart Cummings.

Check back closer to the race date for detailed markets.

Betting on the Bart Cummings

Almandin’s 2016 Bart Cummings victory redefined the race’s future.

The strategy for betting on the Bart Cummings has been changed significantly after the ballot exemption status was granted in 2015.

The best stayers from overseas will now ply their trade earlier in the piece in order to skip the Melbourne Cup queue.

This means the field features a much wider array of talent than you would normally see for a Group 3 worth $300,000.

Best Bart Cummings bookmakers

The Group 3 Bart Cummings draws plenty of betting attention from those looking to get the inside running on an early Cup candidate.

All our trusted bookmakers offer markets on the race, you can find our comprehensive reviews below.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Bart Cummings result

1stAvilius ($2.35)
2ndJaameh ($3)
3rdYogi ($1.50)

Recent Bart Cummings results

  • James Cummings wanted his Godolphin gun Avilius to gain a ballot exemption entry into the Cup and the boy in blue got exactly that. Lining up as a favourite heading into the Bart Cummings and when the gelding loomed large on the outside and let down the race looked to be over. Jaameh stayed on powerfully to make it interesting but the Godolphin gelding saluted and booked his place in the Melbourne Cup.
  • Rated as one of the main hopes in a field that also contained last year’s winner Almandin, Amelie’s Star delivered a great run for backers. Trailing behind early pace setter Granddukeoftuscany, Amelie’s Star was patiently ridden and eventually unleashed at the 200m and the mare did the rest, winning by a comfortable margin on the line. Unfortunately the mare failed to replicate that performance in the Melbourne Cup, where she finished a disappointing 14th.
  • Almandin became the first horse in 2016 to do the Cummings/Cup double. Settling midfield, Almandin looked to be struggling as the race entered the straight after being hampered for room. After looking like an also-ran at the 400m Almandin switched into a higher gear once he found daylight and raced away to gain an entry into the Melbourne Cup.
  • They don’t come much easier than this. In the first-ever ballot exempt Bart Cummings, Let’s Make Adeal bided her time before presenting at the top of the straight. The mare duly kicked away at the 600m and never looked threatened, despite a fast-finishing effort from Our Ivanhoe.
  • Kiwi stayer Who Shot Thebarman was expected to win the 2014 edition of the Bart Cummings and the import didn’t let his backers down. Saddled by Glen Boss, the horse didn’t have it all his own way in the running and had to be taken to the wide outside entering the straight. Who Shot Thebarman didn’t look to be traveling all that well heading into the final 400m but as all good stayers do he plugged away and recorded a comfortable margin in a result that belied just how hard the run was.
  • British import Araldo took out the 2013 edition of the race in his third ever Australian start. In the closest finish in the race’s history, Araldo, Sea Moon and Gotta Take Care broke away from the field to fight it out, with the winner lunging late to win in a photo finish. While the Araldo would go on to finish second in The Metropolitan and a respectable fifth in the 2014 Caulfield Cup, the horse would never again taste success.

Previous Bart Cummings winners

The Bart Cummings past winners
Year Bart Cummings Past Winner
2019 Surprise Baby
2018 Avilius
2017 Amelie’s Star
2016 Almandin
2015 Let’s Make Adeal
2014 Who Shot Thebarman
2013 Araldo
2012 Tanby
2011 Mourayan
2010 Harris Tweed
2009 Light Vision
2008 Light Vision
2007 Dolphin Jo
2006 Irazu
2005 Bugatti Royale
2004 Yakama
2003 Vicksburg

Comments are closed.