Perth Cup

Perth Cup

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, January 4, 2020
Location: Ascot Racecourse, Perth
Prize Money: $500,000
Distance: 2,400m

The Perth Cup is one of Australia’s first major races of the new year and is a must-watch event for the west of the country.

A Group 2 event worth $500,000, the Perth Cup is held under handicap conditions and is conducted at Western Australia’s premier track, Ascot Racecourse.

The race is the official conclusion to Perth’s Summer Racing Carnival, which also features the trio of Group 1 events the Railway Stakes, the Winterbottom Stakes and the Kingston Town Classic.

2020 Perth Cup betting odds

There are no odds yet available for the 2020 Perth Cup.

Check back closer to race day for updated odds on the first major race of the new year.

Perfect Jewel ($8) is the only other runner in single figures.

Best Perth Cup bookmakers

When the year comes to a close racing focus shifts to the west of the country, with plenty of action geared towards the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

After the Group 1 events are done and out of the way the Perth Cup gets all the attention, with markets usually in place at least a fortnight in advance of the race.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Perth Cup betting strategy

Prominent Western Australian owner/breeder Bob Peters typically dominates the Perth Summer Carnival.

As with any major race in Western Australia, it pays to follow the Bob Peters’ owned runners.

In 2018 Material Man managed to break a run of three-straight Perth Cup victories for Peters, but his horse Royal Star still managed to round out the placings.

In fact, you have to go all the way back to 2014 for a Bob Peters runner not to place in the Perth Cup.

As a general rule, any horse donning the pink and white in a Perth group race is going to be hard to beat, but in particular the Perth Cup.

2019 Perth Cup result

1stStar Exhibit ($31)
2ndAction ($3 SP)
3rdPrize Catch ($21 SP)

Recent Perth Cup runnings

  • Star Western Australian jockey delivered a masterful performance to guide Bob Peters’ owned Star Exhibit to a second Perth Cup. The pre-race betting was all about the fellow Peters runner Action, and once William Pike took the favourite to the front in the straight the race looked sewn up. Star Exhibit surged to the line late however to secure Bob Peters a record eighth Perth Cup.
  • In one of the tightest finishes in recent Perth Cup history Material Man held out Pounamu in a photo finish. Material Man took to the front early in the piece, but conceded the lead to Trap For Fools to get a beautiful tail into the race. As the straight approached the leader began to wilt, but the run appeared and Material Man pounced. The winner looked like he had pinched a winning break but Pounamu found an opening on the inside and surged to the line like a steamtrain but narrowly missed out on toppling Material Man.
  • The Bob Peters runners fought out the finish in the 2016 NYE Perth Cup with Star Exhibit just holding on from a fast-finishing Neverland. After settling midfield, Star Exhibit came four wide at the turn and looked to have the race in hand before Neverland began to flash on the outside. It was impossible to tell on the line, with a photo having to separate the pair. For the second year running Neverland ran second in the Perth Cup.
  • Delicacy was the main fancy of the punters heading into the 2016 Perth Cup and the favourite didn’t let them down, even if there was a moment of panic heading into the straight. With a wall of horses in front of Peter Hall, the jockey launched a run down the inside and the rails gap appeared. Delicacy then quickened like a favourite should, running down stablemate Neverland on the line to win the Cup. Real Love ran third to complete a Perth Cup trifecta for Bob Peters.
  • Bob Peters’ love affair with the Perth Cup continued as front-runner Real Love completed a start-to-finish win underneath William Pike. Spearing out to an early lead Real Love ambled along untroubled in front, and when the moment came the horse responded, delivering a dominant Perth Cup performance.
  • In one of the more imporbable Perth Cup victories, Black Tycoon pierced his way to the front to claim the prize, beating a wall of horses to the line. Coming to the turn Black Tycoon was buried in the second half of the field and looked bereft of hope but gun hoop Damien Oliver found the gap and the horse obliged, surging to the line to beat out God Has Spoken, which came hard on the outside.

Past Perth Cup winners list

Past Perth Cup winners list
Year Perth Cup Past Winner
2019 Star Exhibit
2018 Material Man
2016 Star Exhibit
2016 Delicacy
2015 Real Love
2014 Black Tycoon
2013 Talent Show
2011 Western Jewel
2011 Guest Wing
2010 Lords Ransom
2009 Guyno
2008 Cats Fun
2007 Respect
2006 Black Tom
2005 Crown Prosecutor
2004 King Canute
2003 Tumeric
2002 Cardinal Colours
2001 Lottila Bay
2000 Luna Tudor
1999 King Of Saxony
1998 Heed The Toll
1997 Time Frame
1996 Crying Game
1995 Ros Reef
1994 Palatious
1993 Field Officer
1992 Mirror Magic
1991 Zamlight
1990 Word Of Honour
1989 Saratov
1988 Linc The Leopard
1987 Rocket Racer
1986 Ullyatt
1985 Phizam
1984 Moss Kingdom
1983 Bianco Lady
1982 Magistrate
1981 Magistrate
1980 Rothschild
1979 Meliador
1978 Golden Centre
1977 Muros
1976 Philomel
1975 Runyon
1974 Allegation
1973 Dayana
1972 Fait Accompli
1971 Artello Bay
1970 Fait Accompli
1969 Jenark
1968 Lintonmarc
1967 Special Reward
1966 Royal Coral
1965 Fair’s Print
1964 Resolution
1963 Bay Count
1962 Royal Khora
1961 England’s Dust
1960 Rendition
1959 Fairetha
1958 Fairetha
1957 Elmsfield
1955 Yabaroo
1955 Lenarc
1954 Beau Scot
1953 Raconteur
1952 Avarna
1950 Azennis
1949 Beau Vasse
1949 Gurkha
1948 Kingscote
1947 Sydney James
1946 Maddington
1945 Gay Parade
1944 Loyalist
1942 Ragtime
1942 Temple Chief
1941 Fernridge
1940 Tomito
1939 Maikai
1938 Gay Balkan
1937 Manolive
1936 Picaro
1935 Cueesun
1933 Cueesun
1932 Alienist
1932 Bonny Note
1931 The Dimmer
1930 Coolbarro
1929 Jemidar
1928 Au Fait
1927 Phoenix Park
1927 Mercato
1925 Great Applause
1925 Lilypond
1923 Lilypond
1922 Jolly Cosy
1921 Earl Of Seafield
1920 Seigneur
1919 Rivose/Eurythmic
1918 Macadam
1917 Downing Street
1916 Lucky Escape
1915 Irish Knight
1914 Dollar Dictator
1913 Artesian
1912 Sparkle
1911 Artesian
1910 Jolly Beggar
1909 Loch Shiel
1908 Scorcher
1907 Post Town
1906 May King
1905 Czarovitch
1904 Blue Spec
1903 Cypher
1902 Novitiate
1901 Flintlock
1901 Australian
1900 Carbineer
1899 Mural
1898 Le Var
1897 Snapshot
1896 Inverary
1895 Durable
1894 Scarpia
1893 Scarpia
1892 Wandering Willie
1891 The Duke
1890 Wandering Willie
1889 Aim
1888 Telephone
1887 First Prince

Comments are closed.