Hong Kong Classic Mile

Hong Kong Classic Mile

Group One Betting Guide
Date: January 30, 2022
Location: Sha Tin Racecourse, Hong Kong
Distance: 1600m
Prize Money: HK$12,000,000

The Hong Kong Classic Mile is a Group 1 race restricted to four-year-olds, held over 1600m in late January each year.

This is the first and shortest race in the infamous Four-Year-Old Classic Series in Hong Kong, with the Hong Kong Classic Cup and the BMW Hong Kong Derby the two proceeding legs.

Owners and trainers alike will be seeking victory in the Hong Kong Classic Mile as it will book them a coveted place in the BMW Hong Kong Derby.

2022 Hong Kong Classic Mile Odds

The 2022 Hong Kong Classic Mile odds as of January 29 look like this:

  • Packing Victory – $3.00
  • California Spangle – $4.50
  • Romantic Warrior – $7.00
  • The Irishman – $8.00
  • Master Delight – $10.00
  • Fa Fa – $11.00
  • Sight Spirit – $14.00

Complete Hong Kong Classic Mile odds available at Sportsbet.

Best bookmakers for Hong Kong Classic Mile

All of HorseBetting’s recommended online bookmakers run markets for the Hong Kong Classic Mile each year, including all-in and futures options. Check out the licensed betting sites below to find the best odds for the 2022 Hong Kong Mile.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Hong Kong Classic Mile history

Many a superstar-to-be has competed in the Hong Kong Classic Mile. Beauty Flash, Rapper Dragon, Beauty Only and Golden Sixty all won the race before going on to international Group 1 glory, the latter two winning the 2016 and 2020 Hong Kong Mile respectively.

Since 2000, Tony Cruz (2007, 20008, 2010 & 2015) and John Moore (2004, 2006, 2014, 2017) have claimed the most Hong Kong Classic Mile’s, whilst in recent years John Size has managed to pick up three wins since 2016. Both Danny Shum and Ivan Allen are the other two trainers to have won the race on multiple occasions since 2000.

It is no shock to see Joao Moreira leading the jockey ranks since the turn of the century, with the iconic hoop claiming the race on three seperate occasions, with two in partnership with John Moore. In what is somewhat of a shock, legendary Aussie hoops Hugh Bowman, Brett Prebble and Shane Dye have all found their names on the Hong Kong Classic Mile honour roll.

In 2014, the John Moore-trained Able Friend set the fastest time ever ran in a Hong Kong Classic Mile with a 1:33.43 under Joao Moreira.

2021 Hong Kong Classic Mile result

1stExcellent Proposal ($23.00)
2ndLucky Express ($2.10)
3rdTourbillon Diamond ($2.70)

Previous Hong Kong Classic Mile runnings

  • Excellent Proposal rose to the top of Hong Kong’s four-year-old pecking order with an impressive win in the Hong Kong Classic Mile. The son of Exceed And Excel managed to get the better of his more fancied stablemate Lucky Express, to hand John Size the quinella in the race and further strengthening his hand throughout the four-year-old classic series. The Australian-bred chestnut arrived in Hong Kong with a rating of 75, but following his win in the Hong Kong Classic Mile will see him spend the remainder of his career with a rating of 100+.
  • Golden Sixty took his career record to eight wins from nine starts when taking out the Hong Kong Classic Mile. Golden Sixty positioned third-last on the fence in the nine-runner contest, switched wide entering the straight and quickened decisively from 350m out to clock a closing 400m split of 22.24s. He did plenty wrong in the running having raced keenly throughout and wanted to lay in when sprinting for home, but Golden Sixty’s class prevailed defeating stablemate More Than This by just over a length.
  • Frankie Lor and Hugh Bowman made their presence known in Hong Kong when Furore smashed his rivals by 2.25 lengths in the Hong Kong Classic Mile. The four-year-old son of Pierro stormed home in a final 400m split of 22.25s with the $5.40 chance proving too strong for his rivals late and stamping his claim as the horse to beat throughout the four-year-old classic series.
  • Joao Moreira made it consecutive wins in the Hong Kong Classic when the $1.60 favourite Nothingilike more took out the 2018 edition. Having made his move approaching the home turn, the John Size-trained son of Husson showed his class when going on to defeat Singapore Sling by just over a length.
  • Punter’s elect Rapper Dragon was far too good for his rivals in the 2017 Hong Kong Classic Mile. The four-year-old son of Street Boss used the Hong Kong Classic Mile as a catapult to go on and clean sweep the Four-Year-Old Classic Series and claiming the Hong Kong Classic Cup and BMW Hong Kong Derby.

Previous Hong Kong Classic Mile winners

Hong Kong Classic MilePast Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2021 Excellent Proposal Blake Shinn John Size
2020 Golden Sixty Vincent Ho Francis Lui
2019 Furore Hugh Bowman Frankie Lor
2018 Nothingilikemore Joao Moreira John Size
2017 Rapper Dragon Joao Moreira John Moore
2016 Sun Jewellery Ryan Moore John Size
2015 Beauty Only Neil Callan Tony Cruz
2014 Able Friend Joao Moreira John Moore
2013 Gold-Fun Douglas Whyte Richard Gibson
2012 Sweet Orange Weichong Marwing David Ferraris
2011 Lucky Nine Brett Prebble Caspar Fownes
2010 Beauty Flash Christophe Soumillon Tony Cruz
2009 Thumbs Up Christophe Soumillon Danny Shum
2008 Helene Mascot Felix Coetzee Tony Cruz
2007 Floral Pegasus Gerald Mosse Tony Cruz
2006 Sunny Sing Eric Saint-Martin John Moore
2005 Scintillation Gerald Mosse Danny Shum
2004 Tiber Douglas Whyte John Moore
2003 Self Flit Eddy Lai Ivan Allan
2002 Olympic Express Weichong Marwing Ivan Allan
2001 Charming City Shane Dye David Hayes
2000 Industrialist Jimmy Ting Brian Kan

Winners of the Hong Kong Classic Mile Pre 2000

Hong Kong Classic Mile Past Winners Pre 2000
Year Horse
1999 Resfa
1998 Johan Cruyff
1997 Smart Kid
1996 Mr Vitality
1995 Bogie’s Pride
1994 Sterling Town
1993 Happy Guy
1992 Sound Print
1991 Greenmail
1990 Zaitech
1989 Gerrnas
1988 Royal Sovereign
1987 Gold Belt
1986 Distinction
1985 Gay Hundred
1983 Silver Surf
1983 Gay Eighty
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments