The Golden Eagle

Golden Eagle

Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, October 30, 2021
Location: Rosehill Gardens
Prize Money: $7,500,000
Distance: 1500 metres

Look out, Melbourne Cup Carnival – there’s a new race in Sydney that is set to take some of the shine away from Victoria. Its name is the Golden Eagle and it is worth a cool $7.5 million, which makes it the fourth-richest turf race in the world – behind only The Everest, the Cup and the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe.

Run at Rosehill Gardens on the same day as the VRC Derby, the race was implemented to give four-year-olds a feature as part of the ‘Golden’ series which also includes the Golden Slipper Stakes (2YO) and Golden Rose Stakes (3YO).

The inaugural Golden Eagle was run on November 2, 2019.

2021 Golden Eagle betting odds

Some of Australia’s most promising four-year-olds will make up the final field for the 2021 Golden Eagle, which allows for 18 starters and four emergencies.
This year’s race will be headlined by two-time Group 1 winner Mo’unga and up-and-coming star I’m Thunderstruck, with the pair sharing favouritism at $4.50. Queensland horse Rothfire is the third-favourite at $12, while ATC Australian Oaks winner Hungry Heart is a $13 chance. Maximal – a son of Galileo who is yet to debut in Australia – is rated a $15 chance and comes with big raps from abroad.

Best Golden Eagle bookmakers

The bookies get in on the act early when it came to the Golden Eagle, installing markets almost straight away. Below you can find a list of the online bookmakers you can trust, all of which have comprehensive reviews.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

Golden Eagle results & past winners

    • 1stColette ($9.90/$3.40)
    • 2ndIcebath ($3.10)
    • 3rdDawn Passage ($6)

    As many astute judges predicted, Godolphin mare Colette would relish the Heavy 9 conditions dished up on Golden Eagle Day, with the daughter of Hallowed Crown storming home down the centre of the track to win in a narrow photo with Icebath, giving Koby Jennings his first major race success. Jumping from barrier six, Colette settled with only five horses behind her before coming to the extreme outside in the straight. Icebath made it a thrilling finish, bursting through the centre of the field to force a tricky photo for the judges to split.

    • 1stKolding ($6.10/$2.20)
    • 2ndSunlight ($5.30)
    • 3rdMizzy ($7.50)

    The Chris Waller-trained Kolding went on to win the $7.5 million Golden Eagle with Glen Boss on board. It looked to have been a hard watch for Kolding backers with gelding continually finding trouble throughout the home straight. But after a patient ride from Boss, the gap appeared and he ambushed the leader, Sunlight, in the last 50m to claim the inaugural Golden Eagle.

Golden Eagle fields

  • Number Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
    1 ALLIGATOR BLOOD D Vandyke 15 R Maloney 57.5
    2 BRANDENBURG (NZ) J Sargent 14 R Bayliss 57.5
    3 SUPERSTORM G & A Williams 19 J Parr 57.5
    4 DAWN PASSAGE G Waterhouse & A Bott 16 T Clark 57.5
    5 RIODINI G Waterhouse & A Bott 7 B Avdulla 57.5
    6 WINDSTORM G & A Williams 8 G Schofield 57.5
    7 RELOADED C Waller 11 R Dolan 57.5
    8 JUST THINKIN’ G Waterhouse & A Bott 21 K O’Hara 57.5
    9 BOTTEGA G Ryan & S Alexiou 4 J Innes Jnr 57.5
    10 CRIADERAS J Cummings 10 TBC 57.5
    11 FLIT J Cummings 17 TBC 55.5
    12 FUNSTAR C Waller 22 T Berry 55.5
    13 COLETTE J Cummings 6 TBC 55.5
    14 SUBPOENAED (NZ) C Waller 2 J Ford 55.5
    15 EMERALDS J Sargent 18 J Collett 55.5
    16 SIERRA SUE (NZ) T Bussuttin & N Young 1 N Rawiller 55.5
    17 ALL SAINTS’ EVE (NZ) J O’Shea 3 S Clipperton 55.5
    18 ICEBATH B Widdup 5 TBC 55.5
    19 (EM1) STOCKMAN J Pride 9 TBC 57.5
    20 (EM2) ENCHANTED HEART K Lees 13 TBC 55.5
    21 (EM3) FENDER B Cavanough 12 TBC 57.5
    22 (EM4) AIR TO AIR J Coyle 20 TBC 55.5

  • Number Horse Trainer Barrier Jockey Weight
    1 BRUTAL (NZ) M, W, J Hawkes 17 T Berry 57.5
    2 CLASSIQUE LEGEND L Bridge 1 K McEvoy 57.5
    3 KOLDING (NZ) C Waller 4 G Boss 57.5
    4 THE INEVITABLE S Brunton 3 N Rawiller 57.5
    5 GEM SONG K Lees 9 B Avdulla 57.5
    6 ZOUSAIN C Waller 12 G Schofield 57.5
    7 BEHEMOTH D Jolly 8 T Pannell 57.5
    8 MILITARY ZONE P & P Snowden 13 A Adkins 57.5
    9 JONKER D Atkins 2 R Dolan (a) 57.5
    10 FUN FACT B Baker 10 B Lerena 57.5
    11 BEAT LE BON (FR) R Hannon 15 P Dodds 56.5
    12 NEVER NO MORE (IRE) A O’Brien 7 PC Boudot 56.5
    13 I AM SUPERMAN (IRE) M O’Callaghan 14 L Roche 56.5
    14 SUNLIGHT T & C McEvoy 16 L Currie 55.5
    15 ARCADIA QUEEN C Waller 5 J McDonald 55.5
    16 MIZZY J Cummings 6 J Collett 55.5
    17 FASIKA J Pride 11 R King 55.5

Golden Eagle winners list

Year Past winners of the Golden Eagle
2020 Colette
2019 Kolding

Comments are closed.