The Galaxy

THE Galaxy is one of Sydney’s premier autumn sprints and it’s run for $700,000 at Rosehill on Golden Slipper Day.

The 1100m feature isn’t synonymous with Australia’s best sprinters because the handicap conditions often produce large betting fields, but that means punters get great value with a wide variety of runners.

Only one favourite has won in the last 20 years which shows just how wide open The Galaxy is and it remains one of the most competitive sprint races on the Australian racing calendar.

Some of the best past winners include Nicconi, Magnus and Schillaci, which won as a three-year-old in 1992.

Punters looking for value should invest in The Galaxy which likes to produce long-shot winners at a frequent rate.

2019 Galaxy betting odds

Redzel wins the 2018 Everest at Royal Randwick. Source: Bradley Photos.

Two-time The Everest winner Redzel is the $8 favourite at online bookmaker BetEasy ahead of the 2019 Galaxy.

Graff ($9) is the only other runner in single figures.

Best The Galaxy bookmakers

Any bookmakers that take their jobs seriously offer markets on the Galaxy well in advance of the race date.

All our trusted bookies offer have markets already up on the 2019 Galaxy.

The Galaxy betting guide

If you’re a favourite punters it’s probably best to rethink your strategy for The Galaxy. Only one favourite has won in the last 20 years and no favourites have won in the last 10.

There have been some classy thoroughbreds beaten in The Galaxy which includes Snitzerland, Bel Sprinter, Deep Field, Ortensia and Euclase.

The last three winners (2014-2016) have all paid double figure odds and not since 2007 has a horse paid less than $5 when Magnus won.

It also pays to overlook the last start winners as there hasn’t been a last start winner since Jetball in 1994. That’s an incredible statistic which punters should take note of and three-year-old runners could be the way to go.

Nine three-year-olds have won in recent times so punters should look towards the younger horses paying good odds.

Recent The Galaxy winners

2019: Nature Strip finally broke through for his maiden Group 1 title in the most spectacular of fashion in the Galaxy. Spearing out to an early lead the sprinter maintained a strong tempo and kicked away in the straight, seemingly leaving the field in his wake. It was Pierata that flew home late however, making it a photo finish. The judge had to separate them and while most couldn’t punters find a margin, Nature Strip got the nod.

2018: In Her Time delivered a brilliant win to secure the 2018 Galaxy. After settling towards the middle of the field it looked like the winner was drifting back through the field, but under a confident ride from Zac Purton the first-up runner took to the front at the 400m and strolled away to win, holding off a fast-finishing English.

2017: Russian Revolution defied the recent results of the Galaxy by winning as the favourite and when fresh, but there was plenty of confidence in the three-year-old. Trained by Peter and Paul Snowden, the talented runner scored its first group one win in a narrow finish over stablemate Redzel. Russian Revolution came down the outside of runners to give punters a pleasing result. Read a full report here.

2016: Griante produced a gallant effort to win in 2016 with Craig Williams in the saddle. The five-year-old settled in behind the speed before coming across heels and sprinting clear to hold off Shiraz and Dothraki. It paid $16 with bookmakers to continue the trend of outsiders and it defeated some classy types in the process which included English, Fell Swoop, Terravista and Rebel Dane.

2015: Four-year-old mare Sweet Idea was a stellar winner in 2015 when winning by 2.3 lengths. The Gai Waterhouse-trained daughter of Snitzel settled midfield before charging home for an effortless victory. Punters were able to secure huge odds of $17 for the classy type, which was largely due to the amount of money invested in race-favourite Deep Field.

2014: Another wide open betting field was presented in 2014 when Tiger Tees came out on top. The Joe Pride-trained gelding sprinted to the lead halfway down the straight and held off the fast-finishing Anatina in a driving finish. Punters got great odds of $13 for Tiger Tees which again showed the wide open betting affair of The Galaxy. Among the beaten brigade was Rain Affair and Kencella which were both well-supported in the market.

2013: Bel Sprinter continued the run of horses that paid double figure odds. The Jason Warren-trained five-year-old adopted similar tactics to most winners of The Galaxy by sitting just off the speed before producing a big sprint in the straight. The son of Bel Esprit sprinted outstandingly down the Rosehill straight in beating favourite Snitzerland which couldn’t maintain the hot pace up front.

2012: Temple Of Boom was a popular winner in 2012 as many punters had backed the Queenslander at big odds. The Tony Gollan-trained gelding paid $15 with James McDonald in the saddle and it was able to hold off three-year-old Nobby Snip in the straight. The quality field included 2013 winner Bel Sprinter, Hot Snitzel and a host of other top chances. Temple Of Boom was one of the cheapest sales purchases to win The Galaxy after costing only $40,000.

The Galaxy past winners list

2019 – Nature Strip
2018 – In Her Time
2017 – Russian Revolution
2016 – Griante
2015 – Sweet Idea
2014 – Tiger Tees
2013 – Bel Sprinter
2012 – Temple Of Boom
2011 – Atomic Force
2010 – Shellscrape
2009 – Nicconi
2008 – Typhoon Zed
2007 – Magnus
2006 – Proprietor
2005 – Charge Forward
2004 – Spark Of Life
2003 – Snowland
2002 – Mistegic
2001 – Padstow
2000 – Black Bean
1999 – Masked Party
1998 – La Baraka
1997 – Accomplice
1996 – Gold Ace
1995 – Magic Of Money
1994 – Jetball

Comments are closed.