Epsom Handicap

Epsom Handicap
Date: Saturday, September 28, 2019
Location: Randwick Racecourse
Prize Money: $1 Million
Distance: 1,600m

THE Epsom Handicap is a handicapped group one race held at Royal Randwick in Sydney for horses aged three years and older.

Steeped in over 150 years of tradition, the Epsom Handicap is considered one of Australia’s great mile handicaps.

The history of the race is unique and unprecedented in thoroughbred racing.

The Epsom Handicap is one of only a handful of group one races in the world that has had multiple dead-heat finishes in its history, in 1873 and 1925.

Alongside this, the 2007 edition of the race drew worldwide headlines after it was cancelled following fears surrounding the equine influenza.

The Epsom Handicap has a total prize pool of $1 million and draws punters in given it pits up and coming mile horses against some of the more seasoned milers in the country.

The race has been dominated in the modern era by Gai Waterhouse, who has won the Epsom Handicap seven times in the time period between 1997 and 2012.

2019 Epsom Handicap Odds

There are no odds available ahead of the 2019 Epsom Handicap.

Horse Betting will keep this page updated as soon as markets are installed.

Best Epsom Handicap bookmakers

The Epsom Handicap is one of the key fixtures on the Australian thoroughbred racing calendar and is treated like gold by the online bookmakers.

Any bookie worth their salt will open a Epsom Handicap months in advance of the jump date, and will give the race plenty of coverage through their online channels.

Tote prices and other Fixed Odds markets tend to open when the race is four to five days away.

The bookmakers we trust the most are listed below and we recommend anyone interested in betting on the Epsom Handicap to hit up any one of these sites:

Betting on the Epsom Handicap

When it comes to the Epsom Handicap, there are three races that punters will need to follow closely if history is any judge of who will win: Ritchie Handicap, Shannon Stakes and the George Main Stakes.

Invariably the winner or place-getter in these three races produces the Epsom Handicap winner.

In the period between 2006 and 2016 – taking into consideration that 2007 was called off due to the equine influenza scare – these three races have produced six of 10 winners, while the 2016 winner Hauraki finished second in the George Main Stakes two weeks prior to its Epsom win.

Weight handicaps are also extremely important in the race.

In 10 years, only two horses – Hauraki (56kg) in 2016 and Winx (57kg) in 2015 – have carried more than 54kg to victory since 2006.

Unlike other big name races in the country, double-figure barriers have not been a problem in the Epsom Handicap.

Secret Admirer (16 in 2011), Boban (10 in 2013) and He’s Your Man (10 in 2014) all overcame wider alleys to take out the race.

2018 Epsom Handicap result

1stHartnell ($20)
2nd D’argento ($4.40 SP)
3rdUnforgotten ($4.40 SP)

Recent Epsom Handicap runnings

  • Who would have picked long-time Winx rival Hartnell’s revival would come under the mightymare’s regular horseman Hugh Bowman? Saddling up in the Epsom after a pair of encouraging runs in Melbourne, a trip to Sydney was just the tonic for the Godolphin gun, which got a beautiful run in transit and surged to the line in the latter stages of the race to topple D’Argento in a photo finish.
  • Happy Clapper justified its favouritism for the 2017 Epsom Handicap. The Patrick Webster-trained seven-year-old got quickly to the lead in the home straight while its opposition was stuck back in traffic – namely Tom Melbourne which got clear late and rattled home for second. The group one win was a long overdue victory for trainer Patrick Webster and it was one of the feel good stories of the day at Randwick. Read race report here.
  • Godolphin gun Huaraki came into the Epsom of 2016 as a $6.50 shot after a strong performance in the George Main Stakes, but in a confusingly run race, James McDonald found himself at the back of the field with plenty of work to do heading into the latter stages. The Kiwi took the gun runner to the wide outside and hammered it home to win in a photo finish ahead of a dynamic Dibayani. Read a full report.
  • One of the 17 straight, Winx came into the Epsom Handicap as an odds-on favourite and justified the short price in a dominating display. Despite getting tangled up coming around the Randwick bend Winx balanced up nicely and streaked away to the line.
  • French import He’s Your Man’s performance in the 2014 Epsom Handicap could be the greatest victories of the modern era. Under a spectacular ride from Joao Moreira, the gelding powered to the line and got the bob of the head in at the perfect time to tip out stablemate Royal Descent.
  • In its first major group 1 success in a glittering career, Waller-trained superstar Boban produced an off-the-canvas performance few had seen before in the Epsom. After rounding the corner in last, Glyn Schofield gave the gelding everything he had after taking it to the outside and the horse responded, taking the race out in the a photo to return $6 for punters.

Previous Epsom Handicap winners

Epsom Stakes past winners
Year Epsom Handicap Past Winner
2018 Hartnell
2017 Happy Clapper
2016 Hauraki
2015 Winx
2014 He’s Your Man
2013 Boban
2012 Fat Al
2011 Secret Admirer
2010 Captain Sonador
2009 Rock Kingdom
2008 Theseo
2007 Race not held
2006 Racing To Win
2005 Desert War
2004 Desert War
2003 Clangalang
2002 Excellerator
2001 Final Fantasy
2000 Shogun Lodge
1999 Allez Suez
1998 Dodge
1997 Iron Horse
1996 Filante
1995 Nick’s Joy
1994 Navy Seal
1993 Golden Sword
1992 Kinjite
1991 Super Impose
1990 Super Impose
1989 From The Planet
1988 Regal Native
1987 Sound Horizon
1986 Chanteclair
1985 Magnitude
1984 Riverdale
1983 Cool River
1982 Dalmacia
1981 Gold Circle
1980 Bold Diplomat
1979 Imposing
1978 Leonotis
1977 Raffindale
1976 La Neige
1975 Authentic Heir
1974 Citadel
1973 Lord Nelson
1972 Triton
1971 Gunsynd
1970 Ricochet
1969 Broker’s Tip
1968 Speed Of Sound
1967 Cabochon
1966 Chantal
1965 Even Better
1964 Toi Port
1963 Toi Port
1962 Rochdale
1961 Sky High
1960 Ma Cherie
1959 Noholme
1958 Turkestan
1957 Timo
1956 Knave
1955 Hans
1954 Connaught
1953 Silver Phantom
1952 High Law
1951 Davey Jones
1950 Achilles
1949 Denali
1948 De La Salle
1947 Titanic
1946 Blue Legend
1945 Shannon
1944 Modulation
1943 Kiaree
1942 Freckles
1941 Rimveil
1940 High Caste
1939 Geebung
1938 King’s Head
1937 Gold Rod
1936 Capris
1935 Synagogue
1934 Silver Ring
1933 Chatham
1932 Chatham
1931 Autopay
1930 Cathmar
1929 Nightmarch
1928 Amounis
1927 Vaals
1926 Amounis
1925 Boaster / Metellus
1924 Blackadder
1923 Claro
1922 Rostrum
1921 Beauford
1920 Greenstead
1919 Wolaroi
1918 Rebus
1917 Satin Bird
1916 Panacre
1915 Woorak
1914 Portrush
1913 Aleconner
1912 Hartfell
1911 Volsloane
1910 Silver Hampton
1909 Hyman
1908 Melodrama
1907 Melodrama
1906 Maximize
1905 Sleeper
1904 Contest
1903 Famous
1902 Air Motor
1901 Sequence
1900 Ampier
1899 Djin Djin
1898 Alemene
1897 Robin Hood
1896 Steward
1895 Hopscotch
1894 Uabba
1893 Brockleigh
1892 Daredevil
1891 Marvel
1890 Bungebah
1889 Novice
1888 Stockwell
1887 Phaon
1886 Zeno
1885 Folly
1884 Espiegle
1883 Masquerade
1882 Masquerade
1881 Waxy
1880 Master Avenel
1879 Sweetmeat
1878 Viscount
1877 Eva
1876 Malta
1875 Evangeline
1874 Westminster
1873 Atalanta / Kingfisher
1872 The Count
1871 Captain Cook
1870 Deceptive
1869 Circassian
1868 Phoebe
1867 Birmingham
1866 Rapidan
1865 Dundee

Comments are closed.