Manawatu Sires Produce Stakes

THE Group 1 Manawatu Sires Produce is run every April in New Zealand and has become one of the best form races on the calendar.

The $225,000 feature is held at Awapuni over 1400m with past winners including some of New Zealand’s finest middle-distance thoroughbreds.

Names such as Snap, Moonshine, San Luis and Keeninsky have won the Manawatu Sires Produce which is limited to two-year-old juveniles only.

The winners typically go on to make handy older horses which is why punters love betting on the race. Markets typically open a couple of weeks before the race is scheduled, where punters can find the best early value.

Best Manawatu Sires Produce bookmakers

#1 $500 winnings boost
  • BPAY deposit
  • Neteller deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
$500 winnings boost

2017 Manawatu Sires Produce betting

There are no odds available for the 2017 Manawatu Sires Produce yet, but the nominations include the following runners.

Melody Belle
Star Treasure
Felton Road
Gold Fever
Princess Rihanna
Summer Monsoon
Belle du Nord
Hard Merchandize
Divine Power
Irish Flame
Dreams Of Platinum
Mighty Power
Nothin’ On Me
Swing Note
Empress Tzu Hsi
Fashion Sense
Miss Foxy Gal
Scott Base
Heart Of Courage
Summer Passage

Recent Manawatu Sires Produce winners

2016: The 2016 edition was one of the better form races in recent history as the first three horses home have all since performed well in Australia. Luna Rossa was too good for its opposition over the concluding stages in holding out Sicario and Saracino. All three horses, primarily Luna Rossa and Saracino, have performed at a very high level and it the form has well and truly stacked up. Luna Rossa paid $8.90 with bookmakers.

Marky Mark New Zealand
Marky Mark wins the 2016 Manawatu Sires Produce Stakes.

2015: Marky Mark was solidly supported at $6.10 with bookmakers when it won the 2015 Manawatu Sires Produce. The Moira Murdoch-trained gelding by Makfi brought good form into the race and that proved good enough as it scored by a length over Rocanto and Reminisce. It was another strong field which included group one winner He’s Our Rokki, which finished into fourth position before later being sold to Australian interests.

2014: The McKee racing stables had success back in 1994 with Moonshine and they were back at it again with O’Marilyn in 2014. The two-year-old daughter of O’Reilly was heavily-backed at $2.60 with bookmakers and it just did enough to score by a long neck over stablemate Prince Mambo. The stable almost scored the trifecta with Passing Shot running in fourth. O’Marilyn would continue to perform well as a juvenile before being sold to offshore interests.

2013: Recite scored one of the shortest-priced victories in the history of the race. The well-bred Oaks Stud filly was the popular elect at $1.60 and it didn’t let punters down. The daughter of Darci Brahma cruised home for a 1.5-length victory in the field of only eight runners, which included the well-performed Kirramosa which won at group one level in Australia. Recite would continue to run well as an older thoroughbred before running into injury problems.

2012: Choice Bro is the most Kiwi-named winner of the Manawatu Sires Produce. The John Sargent-trained son of Choisir wasn’t fancied in the betting at $15.20, but it sprinted best to score the victory. The $50,000 purchase quickly gave its connections their money back by scoring a narrow win over Magic Shaft and Warhorse – with race favourite Rollout The Carpet finishing well down the track with James McDonald in the saddle.

Manawatu Sires Produce past winners list

2016 – Luna Rossa
2015 – Marky Mark
2014 – O’Marilyn
2013 – Recite
2012 – Choice Bro
2011 – Anabandana
2010 – Nacho Man
2009 – The Heckler
2008 – Il Quello Veloce
2007 – Nightlign
2006 – Jokers Wild
2005 – Kindacross
2004 – Keeninsky
2003 – Maroofity
2002 – Grout
2001 – San Luis
2000 – Little Jamie
1999 – One Under
1998 – Happyanunoit
1997 – Kilmore Quay
1996 – Love to Dance
1995 – Ballroom Babe
1994 – Moonshine
1993 – Snap
1992 – Roys Boy
1991 – Konig
1990 – Star Board

Comments are closed.