Lexus Stakes

Lexus Stakes

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, November 02, 2019
Location: Flemington Racecourse
Prize Money: $300,000
Distance: 2,500m

Looking to get into the Melbourne Cup? This is your absolute last chance.

The final of the four ballot exempt races for the Melbourne Cup, the Group 3 Lexus Handicap may not hold much in the way of prize money, but a ticket to the race that stops a nation just three days later is enough of a draw card to entice the best stayers in the country out to play.

While backing up to win the Cup may seem like an onerous task, a total of 11 horses have completed the Melbourne Cup/Lexus Stakes double.

The last horse to do it was Shocking in 2009.

Formally known as The Hotham, the race has over 150 years of history in Australian racing and will continue to be an integral part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival in the future.

Lexus Stakes betting guide

Markets for the Lexus are usually set a lot closer to the race date due to the fact that the majority of runners in the field are looking to gain entry into the Melbourne Cup.

Keep an eye out as the spring progresses and if a gun stayer is struggling to register the requite wins to make the Cup field don’t be surprised to see it enter the Lexus as a last-ditch effort.

2019 Lexus Stakes betting odds

There are no odds available for the 2019 Lexus Stakes.

Check back here closer to the race date for detailed markets on the Lexus Stakes.

Best Lexus Stakes bookmakers

Keen to place a bet on the Lexus Stakes?

Take a look at any of our comprehensive reviews below to make an informed decision before you place a wager.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Lexus Stakes result

1stA Prince Of Arran ($4.40)
2ndBrimham Rocks ($1.70)
3rdJaameh ($2)

Recent Lexus Stakes results

  • A Prince Of Arran was the favoured runner to secure the last place in the race that stops a nation, but he didn’t do it as easily as the market suggested. Travelling three and four wide for a lot of the race, A Prince Of Arran hit the front at the 300m and delivered a strong staying performance to hold off a flashing Brimham Rocks to book a place in the Cup.
  • Gai Waterhouse had a high opinion of Kiwi import Cismontane, and the horse delivered on her promise. Cismontane lead the entire race and looked to be getting swamped in the final 200m but somehow found a way to fight back and book a spot in the Melbourne Cup just three days later.
  • In what could be the best performance in the race’s history, Kerrin McEvoy guided the horse from last to first in a spectacular showing. In what would also become a regular occurrence for punters the luckless Tom Melbourne recorded a second placed finish, a sign of things to come.
  • In a driving finish that is the closest margin in recent memory, Excess Knowledge fought on gamely to hold off Zanteca in nail-biting finish. The horse would go on to finish seventh in the Melbourne Cup and sadly never won again.
  • Favourite backers were happy after Joao Moreira guided Signoff to a strong win at Racing HQ in Melbourne. Settling midfield, the Magic Man took the horse out at the optimal time and streaked away to win comfortable. The Weir runner went on to round out the first-four just three days later in the Cup.
  • Ruscello was a double figure outsider heading into the Lexus but the Irish raider was able to hold out gun runner Let’s Make Adeal in great fashion. The horse would go on to finish a disappointing second last three days later.
  • Chris Waller runner Kelinni was somewhat of an afterthought in the market, but the Lexus win proved it had grit to couple with the talent. Kelinni was eighth at the 400m mark but hit the front in the final 100m. Despite looking the goods the horse had to fight to the line to secure the win. The Waller runner went on to finish fourth three days later.

Past Lexus Stakes winners

Lexus Stakes past winners
Year Lexus Stakes Past Winner
2018 A Prince Of Arran
2017 Cismontane
2016 Oceanographer
2015 Excess Knowledge
2014 Signoff
2013 Ruscello
2012 Kelinni
2011 Niwot
2010 Maluckyday
2009 Shocking
2008 Moatize
2007 Sculptor
2006 Maybe Better
2005 Strasbourg
2004 Don Raphael
2003 Big Pat
2002 Requiem
2001 Maythehorsebewithu
2000 Brew
1999 The Warrior
1998 Star Binder
1997 Backslapper
1996 Few Are Chosen
1995 Coachwood
1994 Pindi
1993 Tennessee Jack
1992 Big Barron
1991 Rasheek
1990 Mount Olympus
1989 Coshking
1988 Copatonic
1987 Scarvila
1986 Sea Legend
1985 Silver Award
1984 Chagemar
1983 Chagemar
1982 Allez Bijou
1981 Mr. Cromwell
1980 Bohemian Grove
1979 Karu
1978 Jury
1977 Major Till
1976 Reckless
1975 Suleiman
1974 Think Big
1973 Daneson
1972 Scotch And Dry
1971 Not Again
1970 Sudani
1969 Tails
1968 Raad
1967 Midlander
1966 Aveniam
1965 Sail Away
1964 Celero
1963 River Seine
1962 Le Storm
1961 Oreka
1960 Nilarco
1959 Grand Garry
1958 Baystone
1957 Baron Boissier
1956 Fighting Force / Ark Royal / Pandie Sun
1955 Better Boy
1954 Plato
1953 My Hero
1952 Morse Code
1951 Glenvue
1950 Thracian Lad
1949 Foxzami
1948 Howe
1947 Dark Marne
1946 Chaytor
1945 Arduli
1944 Sirius
1943 Dark Felt
1942 Dark Felt
1941 Son Of Aurous
1940 Dashing Cavalier
1939 Catalogue
1938 Spear Chief
1937 Frill Prince
1936 Balkan Prince
1935 Sarcherie
1934 Panto
1933 Pretzel
1932 Roc
1931 White Nose
1930 Cimbrian
1929 Shadow King
1928 Epilogue
1927 Eridanus / Bicolor
1926 Beedos
1925 King Of Mirth
1924 Lilypond
1923 Englefield
1922 King Ingoda
1921 Wirriway
1920 Luteplayer
1919 Sea Bound
1918 Court Jester
1917 Lingle
1916 Dame Quickly
1915 Hush Money
1914 Uncle Matt
1913 Gladwyn
1969 Tails
1912 Lord Alwyne
1911 Prizefighter
1910 Flavian
1909 Footpad
1908 Moani
1907 Tulkeroo
1906 Invergordon
1905 Demas
1904 Elvo
1903 Martyr
1902 Sojourner
1901 Ohio
1900 War God
1899 Miss Carbine
1898 Plutus
1897 Metford
1896 Mischief
1895 The Trier
1894 Foxtail
1893 Straightfire
1892 Hopetoun
1891 Pigeontoe
1890 Grey Gown
1889 Meteor
1888 Mara
1887 The Levite
1886 Claptrap
1885 Lesbia
1884 Favo
1883 Wallangra
1882 Odd Trick
1881 Saunterer
1880 Wellington
1879 Trump Yoss
1878 Levant
1877 The Vagabond
1876 Troy
1875 Kinchrachrie
1874 Newbold
1873 Imperial
1872 Early Morn
1871 Saladin
1870 Nimblefoot
1869 Aurora

Comments are closed.