CF Orr Stakes

THE Group 1 CF Orr Stakes is a weight-for-age sprint over 1400 metres at Caulfield, which is run for a purse of $500,000.

It is run in mid-February and it attracts a quality field of sprinters which are often starting their autumn carnival preparations.

The CF Orr has been hosted by many tracks throughout history, including Moonee Valley, Sandown and Flemington, but it has found a new home at Caulfield since 1997 which has produced a wide variety of winners.

The race has been associated with sprinters which can get running early in their preparations, which resonates well with recent winners Black Caviar and Typhoon Tracy, but the long-distance types have a great record in the CF Orr so punters need to be weary of the staying types.

In recent history there has been a run of favourites taking out the C F Orr Stakes and punters look forward to betting into the markets every year as the summer racing comes to an end.

2019 CF Orr Stakes betting odds

Alizee wins the Christmas Stakes at Randwick on December 29, 2018. Source: Bradley Photos.

Godolphin gun Alizee is the $6 favourite at online bookmaker Sportsbet ahead of the C F Orr Stakes.

Stablemate Kementari is on the next line of betting alongside Brave Smash at the $8 quote.

No other runner is in single figures.

Best CF Orr Stakes bookmakers

The bookmakers will open all-in betting in January for the February feature and fixed odds betting will be available during the week of the race.

All of our bookmakers offer betting on the Group 1 C F Orr Stakes.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

CF Orr Stakes History

  • First run in 1925 when won The Patrol
  • Run at Group One level from 1993
  • Weight-for-age with penalties from 1925-1942. Handicap 1943-45. Weight-for-age since
  • First run at Williamstown until 1940. Also run at Moonee Valley and Flemington. Sandown from 1966-1996. Caulfield 1997 onwards

2018 CF Orr Stakes result

1stManuel ($21)
Deadheat 2ndLand Of Plenty ($1.30)
Deadheat 2ndKementari ($2.50)

Recent CF Orr Stakes winners

  • 2019:
    Manuel delivered a strong front running performance to shock punter and experts alike at massive odds. Jumping close to the pace Manuel ran in the top two for the majority of the race before taking to the front as the horses entered the straight but looked vulnerable as Brave Smash loomed on his outside. The challenge subsided however and Manuel spectacularly kept kicking to record the win over Kementari and Land Of Plenty.
  • 2018:
    Hartnell came into the CF Orr Stakes hoping to break a ten race winless run at Group 1 level, and the Godolphin gelding did it in spectacular fashion. Settling in the middle of the field coming into the final 400m the first-up star pushed to the line hard to win in a blanket finish where less than a length separated positions 1-7.
  • 2017:
    Black Heart Bart was a stylish winner in 2017 when winning with a good galloping display. The Darren Weir-trained gelding took its record at Caulfield to four wins from five starts when beating Turn Me Loose and Ecuador. The former Perth-trained runner continues to run at the highest level in Australia. Read full report.
  • 2016:
    Suavito caused an upset when winning by just under a length in 2016. The Nigel Blackiston-trained mare paid $15 for the win when beating a quality field which included Turn Me Loose, Rising Romance, Rebel Dane and Lucky Hussler. Luke Currie have the five-year-old a great ride through the pack and it was able to finish off the best over Lucky Hussler and Hucklebuck.
  • 2015:
    Dissident won the Australian Horse of the Year in 2015 and winning the C F Orr Stakes was a big part of that. The Peter Moody-trained horse was well-backed into $2.75 and it gave punters no reason to worry during the run as jockey Ben Melham settled it near the front of the pack before pulling wide and taking the lead with 100 metres to go.
  • 2014:
    Peter Moody won the first of his two back-to-back C F Orr Stakes victories with Moment Of Change in 2014. The five-year-old only narrowly scored the win by a nose over the fast-finishing Eurozone. Moment Of Change was heavily backed into $2.38 despite the top weight of 59kg. Cox Plate winner Shamus Award finished third after an unlucky run in the small field of six.
  • 2013:
    The favourites have a good record in the C F Orr Stakes and All Too Hard proved just that in 2013. The Hawkes-trained colt was an expensive sales purchase for over a million and it showed its class by holding on in the closing stages. The $2.25 favourite didn’t beat much on this occasion, but it cemented its stud value and the C F Orr Stakes has been known as a stallion-making race.
  • 2012:
    Black Caviar added another Group one to its list when winning as the shortest-priced C F Orr Stakes winner in history. The Moody-trained mare ($1.05) sat just off the pace before working onto the pace and kicking away for a 3.3-length victory. Due to Black Caviar being in the field, there were mostly staying types in the race, but take nothing away from the win.

CF Orr Stakes betting guide

The CF Orr Stakes has long been associated as a sprinters race, but the staying types have a history of producing the goods over 1400 metres.

Melbourne Cup winner Saintly was too good for them in 1997 and Redoute’s Choice followed suit in 2000. Past winners also include the likes of Lonhro, Elvstroem and Maldivian which all liked the longer distances.

The sprinters pegged back some victories with Typhoon Tracy and Black Caviar, but the C F Orr Stakes is definitely a race which is suited for the mile/staying types which are warming up for the upcoming autumn carnival in both Melbourne and Sydney.

The favourites have a great recent record in the C F Orr Stakes with seven of the last 10 favourites scoring for punters. The other three favourites over that time failed to place.

Some of the beaten favourites since 2000 included Northerly, Schillaci, Light Fantastic and Super Impose – so the good horses can be beaten.

The best barrier to follow is the inside barrier. It has seven recent wins with the next best being barriers four and five. Try to avoid backing horses that have drawn wide as barriers 8-15 have only six wins between them since 1983.

CF Orr Stakes past winners list

Year Winner
2018 Manuel
2018 Hartnell
2017 Black Heart Bart
2016 Suavito
2015 Dissident
2014 Moment Of Change
2013 All Too Hard
2012 Black Caviar
2011 Typhoon Tracy
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2009 Maldivian
2008 Shinzig
2007 El Segundo
2006 Perfect Promise
2005 Elvstroem
2004 Lonhro
2003 Yell
2002 Barkada
2001 Desert Sky
2000 Redoute’s Choice
1999 Grand Archway
1998 Special Dane
1997 Saintly
1996 Racer’s Edge
1995 Jeune
1994 Primacy
1993 Durbridge
1992 Let’s Elope
1991 Planet Ruler
1990 Vo Rogue
1989 Vo Rogue
1988 Vo Rogue
1987 At Talaq
1986 Delightful Belle
1985 Fine Offer
1984 Qubeau
1983 Torbek
1982 Lawman
1981 Manikato
1980 Manikato
1979 Manikato
1978 Hyperno
1977 Surround

Comments are closed.