Andrew Ramsden Stakes

Andrew Ramsden Stakes

Group One Betting Guide
Date: Saturday, May 16, 2020
Location: Flemington Racecourse
Prize Money: $400,000
Distance: 2,800m

The listed Andrew Ramsden Stakes is a staying race held in May which holds a ballot exemption for the Melbourne Cup.

Named former VRC chairman Andrew Ramsden, the race experienced significant changes in 2018.

The race is worth $400,000 and is run over the 2800m distance, a reduced trip from the previous two mile distance. It was also announced in 2018 that the event will be run at weight-for-age level and restricted to three, four and five-year-olds.

The Andrew Ramsden Stakes will give Australian stayers the chance to confirm their place within the Melbourne Cup of that year given the internationals usually don’t come into town until months later.

2019 Andrew Ramsden Stakes betting odds

There are no odds released for the 2019 running of the Andrew Ramsden Stakes.

Check back closer to the race date for information and odds on the ballot exempt event.

Best Andrew Ramsden Stakes bookmakers

The Andrew Ramsden Stakes is a race that is going to get a lot more attention.

Not only will markets go up earlier than previously anticipated on the race, but the winner of the race will no doubt shorten for the Melbourne Cup.

The bookmakers below offer markets on the Andrew Ramsden Stakes.

United States Sport Table

Sport Table

2018 Andrew Ramsden Stakes result

1stSin To Win ($13)
2ndSwacadelic ($2.70)
3rdChequered Flag ($1.80)

Recent Andrew Ramsden Stakes results

  • Linday Park runner Sin To Win was on course towards a Melbourne Cup berth in 2018 and he proved his credentials over the two miles in this race. Spearing out to trail Runaway for the majority of the race, Sin To Win took to the front entering the straight and in a true staying performance held off all comers to record a powerful win.
  • The punters only wanted De Little Engine coming into the 2016 Andrew Ramsden Stakes and the fan favourite duly saluted. Settling towards the back of the field early in the race the horse picked its way through the field as the event progressed before taking the lead shortly after the 400m to record a three length win.
  • French invader Glorious Sinndar was well supported in the 2016 Andrew Ramsden but it took a photo to secure the Darren Weir runner’s victory over Japanese raider The Bandit. Glorious Sinndar took the front into the straight but The Bandit headed the Weir runner coming towards the latter stages of the race. The French import dug deep however and re-took the lead and claimed a famous victory.
  • In a last to first effort in a tough-to-pick Andrew Ramsden Stakes, Hawkes runner La Amistad. Damien Oliver had the horse in 11th position heading into the 800m but once La Amistad found open air the race was as good as over. In a dominant staying performance the horse took the front at the 200m and powered away to win for the first time since May of 2014.

Past Andrew Ramsden Stakes winners list

Past Andrew Ramsden Stakes winners list
Year Andrew Ramsden Stakes Past Winner
2018 Sin To Win
2017 De Little Engine
2016 Glorious Sinndar
2015 La Amistad
2014 Unchain My Heart
2013 Unchain My Heart
2012 Dame Claire
2011 Niwot
2010 Persian Star
2009 Phaze Action
2008 Gorky Park
2007 New Kid In Town
2006 Derringer
2005 Pantani
2004 Pantani
2003 Heguy
2002 Cavallo Bruno
2001 Starpro
2000 Sky Trist

Comments are closed.