Tegan Harrison rides No. 500

Jockey Tegan Harrison quietly reached career milestone with her 500th race win at Doomben.

Harrison claimed her 215th Queensland metropolitan winner when the Tony Sears-trained two-year-old Basara won on Saturday.

She has ridden 284 country and provincial winners in Queensland and NSW and one metropolitan winner in Victoria.

Harrison holds the Brisbane metropolitan record for the most winners in a season by a female jockey at 51, a feat she achieved in 2015-16.

She finished 11th on the metropolitan premiership in the 2016-17 premiership with 24 winners.

Jeff Lloyd won the Brisbane jockeys premiership with a record 137 winners while Tiffani Brooker won the apprentices title with a record for a junior female rider of 50.

Tony Gollan won his fourth-straight metropolitan trainers’ title with 77 winners.

Gollan also won the Ipswich trainers’ premiership and Jim Byrne won his eighth jockeys’ title at the near Brisbane track.

Dan Griffin, who faces months out of the saddle after surgery on a shoulder, won the Gold Coast jockeys’ premiership for the eighth time and Helen Page was leading trainer.

Ben Currie was Toowoomba’s leading trainer and Beau Appo won the jockeys title on a count back from Nozi Tomizawa.

Jeff Lloyd (jockeys) and Stuart Kendrick (trainers) won the titles on the Sunshine Coast.

Related Posts

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments