Six new clubs join Battle Of The Bush

Racing Queensland has announced an expansion of its successful TAB Battle of the Bush Series, with six new clubs involved.

The two Battle of the Bush series have attracted a large amount of media coverage and generated widespread betting interest.

RQ announced on Wednesday new clubs Quilpie, Burrandowan, Charters Towers, Jandowae, Innisfail and Gayndah would each host a qualifying heat this year.

The Emerald Jockey Club, which hosted a qualifier during the inaugural series in 2018, also returns to the schedule after a year’s absence.

In all heats will be held at 16 clubs that will provide the runners for the $125,000 final at the Tattersall’s Tiara meeting at Eagle Farm on June 20.

The Battle of the Bush commences at the Quilpie Diggers Race Club on May 2, with the final heats to be staged at Barcaldine Race Club and Gayndah Jockey Club on June 6 respectively.

Racing Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the Series was a showpiece event for country racing and the industry as a whole.

RQ chief operating officer Adam Wallish said the organisation was delighted with the Battle Of The Bush’s progress and its growth during the past two years.

A $30,000 bonus will again be paid to the winner if it is a QTIS registered horse.


  • May 2 – Quilpie DRC Newmarket Open Plate (sw) 1100m
  • May 9 – Burrandowan PRC Open Plate (sw) 1175m
  • May 9 – Gordonvale TC Open Plate (sw) 1100m
  • May 9 – Longreach JC Open Plate (sw) 1100m
  • May 9 – Mount Isa RC Open Plate (sw) 1100m
  • May 10 – Towers JC Open Plate (sw) 1200m
  • May 16 – Emerald JC Open Plate (sw) 1200m
  • May 16 – Central Warrego RC Newmarket Open Hcp 1200m
  • May 16 – Jandowae RC Open Plate (sw) 1200m
  • May 23 – Innisfail TC Open Hcp 1200m
  • May 30 – Bowen TC Open Hcp 1200m
  • May 30 – Cloncurry & DRC Open Hcp 1200m
  • May 30 – Gladstone TC Open Hcp 1200m
  • May 30 – Goondiwindi RC Open Hcp 1200m
  • June 6 – Gayndah JC Open Hcp 1200m
  • June 6 – Barcaldine RC Open Hcp 1200m
  • June 20 – Tattersalls RC Rest 0MWL2Y Quality Hcp 1200m.