Hong Kong Sprint betting

THE Group 1 Hong Kong Sprint is one of four Hong Kong international races, offering a purse of $3.1 million.

Held in mid-December, the Hong Kong Sprint is one of the world’s highest-rated short-course races and it attracts punters from all around the globe.

It has now become the final leg of the Global Sprint Challenge, which includes races from countries such as England, Dubai and in Australia.

The Hong Kong Sprint has been won by thoroughbred champions of the turf and betting markets are open for most of the year, so sign up with our recommended bookmakers to bet on the next sprinting superstar.

Sign up at Crownbet.com.au

2016 Hong Kong Sprint result

1st – Aerovelocity – $7.50
2nd – Lucky Bubbles – $1.10
3rd – Peniaphobia – $3.30

Quinella – $8.30
Trifecta – $179.50
First Four – $813.50

Recent Hong Kong Sprint winners

2016: Age was no barrier for Aerovelocity as the eight-year-old won the 2016 Hong Kong Sprint. It was able to find a nice spot in the run with Zac Purton in the saddle and it held off the fast-finishing Lucky Bubbles which found trouble at the rear of the field. This was Aerovelocity’s second Hong Kong Sprint win after scoring in 2014. Read full report here.

2015: Peniaphobia was a stylish winner of the Hong Kong Sprint in 2015 when winning at odds of $6. The Tony Cruz-trained runner has ridden by champion jockey Joao Moreira who gave Peniaphobia a great ride from a tricky draw. It was able to cross from the wide draw and with its superior turn of foot, there was no running down the champion.

2014: Aerovelocity was another all-the-way winner in 2014 when it held off the fast-finishing Peniaphohia which would win the Hong Kong Sprint a year later. The Paul O’Sullivan-trained sprinter was well-found in the market and it continued the good run set by the favoured runners.

2013: Lord Kanaloa made it back-to-back Hong Kong Sprints in 2013 where it ran as the hot favourite. The win was one of the most impressive in recent history as it cleared away for a five-length win over the likes of Lucky Nine, Sterling City and Sole Power which finished in second.

2012: Japanese star Lord Kanaloa scored the first of its two Hong Kong Sprint wins in 2012 when winning by 2.5 lengths. It was having its last run of the season when lining up at Sha Tin and it had to once again defeat a handy field which included Lucky Nine, Curren Chan and Australian hope Sea Siren. It became the first Japanese horse to win the Hong Kong Sprint.

2011: Lucky Nine is one of the most famous sprinters in Hong Kong racing and it got its name on the board in 2011. The star sprinter won for Australian jockey Brett Prebble and trainer Caspar Fownes. Bred in Ireland, the Darley Stud runner won 13 career races and although it wasn’t able to add another Hong Kong Sprint to its tally, it won five more major races after this victory.

Best Hong Kong Sprint bookmakers

All of the bookmakers listed below offer betting on the Hong Kong Sprint and weekly Hong Kong race meetings.

Bet365.com is usually the first bookmaker to open markets on the international meeting and the odds are very competitive.

Punters can bet into all Hong Kong markets where fixed odds and futures betting is available.


Hong Kong Sprint facts and figures

Knowing all the facts and figures can make betting on horse racing much easier. Knowing which trainers and jockeys to follow is a great way to make some extra cash.

Most wins by a trainer: Ricky Yiu (1999, 2007, 2009)
Most wins by a jockey: Brett Prebble (2006, 2009, 2011)

Four horses have won the Hong Kong Sprint on two occasions. Falvelon, Silent Witness and Lord Kanaloa won consecutive Hong Kong Sprints with Sacred Kingdom winning in both 2007 and 2009.

The fastest time recorded was 1:07.80 in 2006 by Absolute Champion. The race was changed from 1000m to 1200m in 2006 and the quickest time over the shorter distance is held by All Thrills Too, which ran a slick 56.40 in 2002.

Past Hong Kong Sprint winners list

2016 – Aerovelocity
2015 – Peniaphobia
2014 – Aerovelocity
2013 – Lord Kanaloa
2012 – Lord Kanaloa
2011 – Lucky Nine
2010 – J J The Jet Plane
2009 – Sacred Kingdom
2008 – Inspiration
2007 – Sacred Kingdom
2006 – Absolute Champion
2005 – Natural Blitz
2004 – Silent Witness
2003 – Silent Witness
2002 – All Thrills Too
2001 – Falvelon
2000 – Falvelon
1990 – Fairy King Prawn

Comments are closed.