Hong Kong Cup betting

THE Hong Kong Cup is the final feature race at the International Meeting at Sha Tin and it usually features an international field of quality runners.

The 2000m Group one was first run in 1988 and since then it has attracted world-wide fame and a string of champion winners.

Names such as Jim And Tonic, Fantastic Light, Designs On Rome and 2015 winner A Shin Hikari have graced the Cup in recent history and since 1990 it has become a race open to horses all over the world.

Come 1992, horses from United States, Canada and Japan were allowed to run in the Hong Kong Cup and that has stood the test of time.

It’s a great betting race and punters can bet into the Hong Kong Cup throughout the year.

2016 Hong Kong Cup result

1st – Maurice – $1.70
2nd – Secret Weapon – $2.70
3rd – Staphanos – $3.80

Quinella – $11.80
Trifecta – $110.40
First Four – $1082

2016 Hong Kong Cup market

1. A Shin Hikari – $4.40
2. Maurice – $1.95
3. Designs On Rome – $11
4. Blazing Speed – $15
5. Staphanos – $14
6. Lovely Day – $13
7. Gun Pit – $101
8. Secret Weapon – $8
9. Elliptique – $51
10. Horse Of Fortune – $51
11. Helene Super Star – $101
12. Queens Ring – $11

Best Hong Kong Cup bookmakers

All of our recommended bookmakers offer betting on the Group 1 Hong Kong Cup for most of the year, which makes it a popular betting race.

They also offer great bonus bet promotions for all four International Meeting Group one races, which will be available in the specials and promotions section.


Recent Hong Kong Cup winners

Hong Kong Cup betting Australia
California Memory wins the Hong Kong Cup in 2016.

2016: Maurice was having its last start before heading off to stud and it made a great impact on its way out. The Japanese star didn’t jump well with Ryan Moore in the saddle and it was giving A Shin Hikari many lengths into the home straight, but the champion reeled it in quick smart before running away with the victory at the odds-on price of $1.70. Read report here.

2015: A Shin Hikari burst onto the world scene when winning the Hong Kong Cup in 2015. The Japanese-trained runner was the fourth Japanese winner of the Hong Kong Cup and the first since Agnes Digital won in 2001. A Shin Hikari paid $26 for the win in what was considered a big upset. It set a strong pace in front and it held on to score by a length in a race record time.

2014: Designs Of Rome was a popular winner in 2014 for trainer John Moore and champion jockey Joao Moreira. The son of Holy Roman Emperor was a stylish winner over the likes of Military Attack and Australian runner Criterion. In its usual style, Designs On Rome settle at the rear of the field before producing a big finishing burst down the outside.

2013: Akeed Mofeed wasn’t one of the most popular Hong Kong Cup victors in recent history, but the Richard Gibson-trained runner was too good for its rivals in 2013 and it would later represent Hong Kong at the Dubai World Cup. It paid a short price on the tote with bookmakers when holding out Japanese entrant Tokei Halo and Cirrus des Aigles.

2012/2011: California Memory made it back-to-back victories in 2011 and 2012. The Tony Cruz-trained champion ran almost two seconds quicker when winning for the second time in 2012. It defeated the likes of Giofra and Australian-performed Alcopop which firmly put it into the record books. Matthew Chadwick rode it to victory on both occasions.

Hong Kong Cup records and statistics

The race record belongs to A Shin Hikari, which ran 2:00.60 when winning in 2015. It became the fourth Japanese-trained runner to win the Hong Kong Cup.

California Memory is the only horse to win more than one Hong Kong Cup when Matthew Chadwick was in the saddle, but Frankie Dettori has won three as a jockey.

The Italian champion won aboard Fantastic Light in 2000, Falbrav in 2003 and Ramonti in 2007.

Godolphin trainer Saeed Bin Suroor has won the race twice with Fantastic Light and Ramonti. Local trainer Tony Cruz has also had two victories in consecutive years with California Memory.

Past Hong Kong Cup champions

2016 – Maurice
2015 – A Shin Hikari
2014 – Designs On Rome
2013 – Akeed Mofeed
2012 – California Memory
2011 – California Memory
2010 – Snow Fairy
2009 – Vision d’Etat
2008 – Eagle Mountain
2007 – Ramonti
2006 – Pride
2005 – Vengeance Of Rain
2004 – Alexander Goldrun
2003 – Falbrav
2002 – Precision
2001 – Agnes Digital
2000 – Fantastic Light
1999 – Jim And Tonic
1998 – Midnight Bet
1997 – Val’s Prince
1996 – First Island
1995 – Fujiyama Kenzan
1994 – State Taj
1993 – Motivation
1992 – Romanee Conti
1991 – River Verdon
1990 – Kessem
1989 – Grey Invader
1988 – Flying Dancer

Comments are closed.